Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Traffords Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Traffords Caravan Site Reviews

Traffords Caravan Site
Low Wood
Bassenthwaite
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4QH
Tel: 01768 776298
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BRYANMITCH 3 reviews from this member

 A great little site to use as a base for exploring the Lakes. Very basic and quite cheap. All pitches for tents, tourers and motorhomes are on grass and limited hookups are available. Basically there is an outer ring of statics on the outside of the tarmac 'ring road'--seasonal and visiting tourers or motorhomes form an inner ring--then the tents go on the middle of the park. The site is reasonably flat and the grass usually cut. Tenters can use the hookups if available but will probably need a 25mt cable. The toilet block and dishwashing area is basic but clean with hot water always available. The bins/recycling skips are based outside.

The shop is well stocked with basics/ papers/ drink/ ciggies etc and reasonably priced too. Gas and barbie stuff is also available.

There is a bus -stop to go either way right at the site entrance and a fare to Keswick is a little over 2 single--be careful buying returns as different bus companies use this route and don't accept each others tickets.

The site is dog-friendly--a little too much in my opinion--and you need to watch where you are walking due to unattended dogs leaving little traps around the site!We have complained to the site-owners on a few occasions and to be fair they have dealt with the dog- owners immediately.

It is a very quiet site where not much happens and quite safe for kids provided they are kept away from the entrance--traffic does go fast past the gate! The site -owners rely on your honesty and will not hound you for rent--you are expected to go to the shop and pay them. A sign in the shop tells you to pitch up if they are closed and sort payment later. Papers and eggs etc are available even when they are closed--from the attached conservatory--again they are counting on your honesty. A lovely thing to see and hopefully nobody abuses it! However--be warned!--They do know who is on their field!

There is a lovely country pub about a mile up the narrow lane opposite the site--namely The Sun Inn--in Bassenthwaite village. It has a lovely outside seating area should the weather be ok and has a great reputation for food. Booking is almost essential as this place is always packed out. Dogs are welcome' on a lead and on the floor'

The site is on the A591 between Keswick and Carlisle--approach the site slowly as this is a fast road and if you miss the entrance it is a fair while before you can turn around.

Prices--bank holiday weekend was 20 per night for 2 people-1 car-1 tent with elec hookup. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

 This site is absolutely stunning.

Stayed here for one night in June 2016 in a tent.

8 per person per night. Kids are 3 each per night.

Toilets, showers and wash basins are clean and free and there's plenty of hot water

The on site shop has just about everything and the prices are very reasonable.

Plenty of room to pitch the tent and all pitches are flat.

A short, easy walk takes you to the shore of Basenthwaite Lake. The castle inn pub is a short walk away and serves great food and has large screen TVs.

Probably the only thing that would make this a perfect 10 would be a kids play area

Also, this is a great site for anybody looking to bag the Wainwrights in the Northern fells.

I would definitely recommend this site and will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkspoor 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in aug

Lovely flat field with loads of space for each pitch

Toilets are housed in old barn and are dated but always kept clean with plenty of soft toilet paper and unlimited hot water in free showers

Small shop on site which sells most things

Bus stop outside site direct to Keswick 3. 50 return

Sun inn pub is about tin min walk up lane opposite site which served delicious food

We would def use again and recommend to others 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M31ani3 1 review from this member

 This campsite is set with a beautiful view of skidaw close. It has some lovely walks down to Bassenthwaite lake. Close to Keswick and Cckermouth.

Short walk to local village pub. The site has a small shop that stock the essentials and takes orders for papers etc.

The toilet block is well maintained but old has constant supply of hot water and fully clean and tidy. Small pot washing area.

The site is run by a friendly lady and all the regulars (static Owens) are friendly. No kids paying area.

Stayed for a week very peaceful and although busy no loud music and come 10 o'clock all goes quiet.

Would recommend this to anyone who likes to chill.

We pulled up late and just found a space then paid next day also at the end of the week we weren't rushed off the site and able to leave about 2 with no additional charge. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KNITTER 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit this year. We stayed the first time with my daughter and we had a fabulous time. So the second time we stayed for 4 nights course the weather was amazing. Lovely clean site. Excellent shop. Provide everything you needed and no added extra prices on like some places. Owner is a lovely lady and very hard worker. Nice flat pitches. Pub only 10 min walk if that. Great base for walking. We did several walks that ended up in Keswick and we got the bus back. Which was yet another brilliant service which stops right outside the site. For 1. 60 each its great. Can't wait to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrispawlyn 1 review from this member

 lovely little site, made the mistake of booking last minute trip at nearby north lakes which was awful and don't make same mistake, so wasted 50 deposit and stumbled on this site.

The elderly lady in shop on arrival was so pleasant and accommodating.

The site has a lovely friendly feel about it and the prices very reasonable, has that been here before as a child feel about it.

Nice little on site shop and ammonites spotless

I was certainly not disappointed with this site and will visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arual 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site. We found it good for dogs - there are lots of nice walks and a pub with brilliant food not far up the road. Kids had a fabulous time riding round bikes. The site was clean and well laid out. We would go back.

Plenty of space for children to play ball games, ride their bikes and climb the climbing tree.

We went with 2 other families, 1 in a caravan and 1 in a tent and it was no problem all camping together.

Showers were clean, but water was not always hot. Toilets often ran out of toilet roll and its the only place in the world still using tracing paper toilet roll.

Keswick is a lovely town with a nice market on a Saturday where you can buy honey of any flavour, fresh bread, curry, olives etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuchsia 3 reviews from this member

 I was not disappointed and it was like time has stood still there. Just as scenic with amazing views of Skiddaw. Walk down the lane as the side of the site and you will reach the lake after 30 mins of walking alongside the Beck.

Site is wonderfully flat and has a small shop which stocks all the basics you will need, (and more)at very reasonable prices with fresh bread eggs milk bacon and a small freezer If you need milk before the shop opens Margaret says just take it from outside the shop and pay me later. How trusting. Supermarkets also in Keswick and a couple of great chippies.

Toilet block very old fashioned but spotlessly clean with 2 showers and red hot water. Also attached is a washing up area, also spotless whatever time of day you go there.

The Swan down the road does great food but you will need to book early. We didn't so went to the Castle Inn about a mile and a half down the road and the food there was just as good and no more expensive and they catered very well for the 3 children we took. There are however many many good eateries around the area.

Just a 15 minute drive into Keswick and Derwentwater where there are great shops, a Saturday market and Park where the kids can pitch and put for 2. 50 and adults can enjoy a coffee in the cafe.

Current costs are 6. 00 per adult, 3. 00 per child and 3. 00 for EHU but these do have to be booked in advance.

We camped over the recent bank holiday and obviously the site had become more popular but never seemed busy. There was a night however with a large group of revellers causing noise. These were 'told off' by other campers at 1. 00 a.m. and after advising Margaret, she had a little word in their ear and no more noisy nights.

Cannot fault this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moldec118 4 reviews from this member

 Really hesitant about picking this site back in May 2010 for our Whit Bank holiday break as the latest review we read for this site was back in 2008.

Although the reviews entered appeared to show that this site was the type we like, we thought it strange about the lack of reviews.

NO WORRIES, nobody wants to talk about this site, because they don't want anybody else knowing about it, simple see.

It's a great old fashioned site with no frills. Huge central grassed area for the kids to play on, all of the tents, tourers & motor homes surround the field like an old cowboy movie expecting an indian (native American) attack.

The on site shop has all you need to survive, there is NO clubhouse (which is a plus point for us), the kids are safe and there is a short (ish) walk across the field down to Bassenthwaite lake.

The toilets & shower block are clean, well maintained, but basic. Do not expect marble walls and floors as it looks like a simple (rustic) barn converted for use.

The nearest pub (for great food) is a straight 10 minute walk up the small lane directly opposite the entrance and into the village.

The views are stunning all around the site and the area is perfect for people wanting to get away from it all.

Negatives? Watch out if arriving using the assistance of 'Tom Tom'. If like us you don't pay attention, TOM TOM will have you turning directly into the side road to the local village. Not for the faint hearted!

Talk to the owner when booking and heed their advice on navigation. DONT make our mistake. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vellvell 1 review from this member

 I can't keep this site a secret any longer, I've been coming to this site since the early seventies as a child, with my parents, what a fantastic place.

Yes its living in the past a bit, but that's fine by me. I now bring my own children, for some peace, quiet and good old fashioned fun,(kids playing football in the middle of the site, fishing, walking, and climbing).

I must have got used to the lack of hot water at peak times cos I don't even notice it now. The walk down to the lake is so beautiful, and in over 40 years I've only met a handful of people on the way down there.

The shop has most things you need, milk, eggs bread and papers, sweets(very important). Mrs Trafford who used to run the site and shop with the help of two ladies (Mrs Mac and I think Mrs Traffords daughter in law) was lovely. I think its Mrs Traffords daughter in law who runs the site and shop to this very day, and she can't do enough for us every time we visit.

The Sun Inn just down the lane opposite the site entrance hasn't changed much since I was a child and still is a lovely country pub.

We've done Trotters, Dodds Wood and Mire House with our kids time and time again but they still love it all. Canoeing down by the bridge at the end of the lake has been great fun too, can't fault the area at all.

Going again this coming half term, and many more visits after that. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Traffords Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Traffords Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Traffords Caravan Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement