Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Yeovil > The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park
Ilchester Road
Halfway
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 8RE
Tel: 01935 840342
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 25 Reviews
                5/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

 We stayed here out of necessity, because our campervan broke down a few miles north, as we were on our way to Weymouth, and we needed to buy a new part in Yeovil the next morning.

For an overnight stopover it was pleasant enough, though I can understand some of the previous reviewers' frustrations.

The plus points are supposed to be that it is by a fishing pond (small) and next to a pub (which we didn't rate very highly for quality of food or service).

I did like the toilet block which was charming and smelt very nice and clean, though we bought tokens for the shower and didn't in the end have time to use them.

The site is a little unkempt. We were given a hard standing for our van, but the ground next to it was uneven and bushy with long grass and thistles. The owner talked to me at length about vehicles not being allowed to drive on the middle tent field because it causes ruts, amd yet a couple were parked up with their car and tent a bit later.

The noise from the road is loud, but having said that, the sound of birds singing was also quite loud and very pleasant too.

Overall, our experience was pleasant, but we were not impressed with the pub next door, which seems to me one of the chief reasons for choosing a site like this. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tumbleweed2 3 reviews from this member

 The site was small and the hostess was friendly enough. It was average price for the area. However, there were many restrictions. The 6amp supply is now quite antiquated - the leaflet handed to us on arrival (after we had paid) explained that we could not use a kettle etc and that if we tripped the system after 7pm at night no assistance would be given.

As we have a motorhome this meant we could not use a hook up for most things and had to use our own gas supply for a cuppa etc. We didn't fill up with water as the manhole next to the water supply had been opened and the smell was appalling. So actually it worked out quite expensive for the 10 or so hours we stayed on site.

As the site was empty there was no queue for the toilets, and they were clean. We didn't stay long enough to fathom the shower set up with the tokens.

When we were shown to our space we were positioned close to the next person (approx 30cm between our wing mirror and their awning)despite the field being mostly empty. The hostess was adamant that this was where we should be positioned, so we apologised to our neighbours and explained it was only for one night.

The pitch itself was level with hardcore, but the awning area was very uneven and bumpy (my chair kept tipping over) and the grass was very long which you would not expect in peak holiday season.

In conclusion, be aware of the restrictions and the limitations and you will be ok.  


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Owners Response 1 review from this member

 It's great to read these reviews and be able to respond and ensure everyone that their concerns are heard by us.

Last year we had some hot water issues with the boiler from hell which has since been replaced. Our soap dispensers, mirrors & door hooks are sometimes stolen but replaced by us right away, we apologize for the very rare occasions when these items may not have been present. This won't happen again.

Our goal is to provide you with an affordable & very pretty little spot from which to discover the West Country.

We may not be the Ritz but you can be sure of a very nice welcome, a very clean and well tendered park and a wonderful stay at the Halfway. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Crazy Clive 1 review from this member

 Stopped at this site for a couple of nights, whilst helping a friend move. A pleasant enough site, but I would only ever use it as a stopover site, and not a holiday site.

Bad points were no hot water at all in the toilet blocks, the noise of the busy road that runs along the front of the site (24 hours a day) and the fact the EHU is only 6 amps

There was the pub next door (not sure if it is anything to do with the site), but canít comment on that as I didnít use that facility 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosebud14 3 reviews from this member

 This is a well located small site for visiting Yeovil and local attractions. We could recommend Haynes Motor Museam & Lyme Regis is only 50mins by car. Shaftsbury & Sherbourne were really nice too.

This site is run by a very friendly lady, however some of the rules seemed a little forceful, no ball games fir the children seemed a bit strong as the field was large enough to accommodate a few children playing. No hot water for hand washing or at the sink was very poor. No hand soap, not even a mirror in one of the three loos. There is one shower, we were encouraged to use together, which seemed odd. The showers, nor the loos seem to have been cleaned throughout our three night stay.

We had breakfast in the pub on the first morning £6.95 each for full English, it was ok but the service poor, along with the quality of the sausages. We booked and still had to ring the door bell twice as the front door is kept locked

Overall the location suited us, but we won't be back, it's reasonable price £10.00 per night plus 50p shower token but the facilities were so poor. Also the grass was very long, the camping area near the facilities block is very sloping, would be better to allow guests to choose their own pitch at quiet times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Willow2 1 review from this member

 Small, well tendered site, picturesque location overlooking fishing lake. Free fishing for campers and lake well stocked. Campsite is small and located at the end of a gravel drive which runs off from the pub next door which serves good food. Site suitable for a one night stay.

The pub next door is the local meeting venue for a scooter club who have enjoyable evenings there which is easily heard from the campsite. Other reviews have mentioned road noise and I can truly reinforce this. The site is located on the A37 which is the local racetrack for boyracers early evening and during the night the HGV's take over for the night shift!

The shower block is one wet room, with nowhere to hang your clothes and a mop and bucket situated outside for you to do the cleaning yourself! The toilets resemble those of old 'outhouse' ones. Although they have hot and cold water taps on the sinks, only cold water is provided. Shower is activated by token purchased from the owner, however, token machine is located at the rear of the shower block which means a quick run round once you have put your token in before another camper joins you!

Although the site accepts 'well behaved' children, they have a 'no ball games allowed' policy on the site

Even though at the time of booking we specified that we had a large six berth tent (Royal Bordeaux 6), after three nights of being comfortably pitched we were told by the owner to move to a different area of the site, pay £5 more per night (although we were already paying the maximum advertised rate) or leave! After heavy rain, the area of the site that we had been TOLD to move to stank of sewerage and without the extra footprint layer of our tent, the floor of our temporary home would have turned into something ready for 'Kim and Aggy' to sort out. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hertsman 13 reviews from this member

 Our 2nd visit to this site as it is handy to visit Yeovil. Make no mistake this site is basic but doesn't set up to be anything more. It has good views across a fishing lake and a pub right next door.
The toilet block is clean, and a shower available on token. The electric hook up is only 6 amps but we had no problems with an electric camping kettle and hairdryer on low heat setting (separately of course). There are rules but only those that make sense.

The downsides for us were:-

No hot water in the toilet block or washing up facility. It is equipped but the boiler was turned off. We washed up in our unit but you would be put out if in a tent. You could of course wash up while showering as the token gives a good 15 minutes.

Traffic noise. This is right by the A37 and is noisy but we slept ok.

The biggy for us was trying to walk towards Yeovil from this site. The A37 or adjacent lane does not have any footpaths for nearly a mile from the pub towards Yeovil and given the speed of traffic, walking on the verge is out of the question. Buses were also expensive. 2 adults going 2 stops (a distance of no more than 2 miles) was £4.40 single.

Overall we thought the cost at £12.50 per night for 2 adults and mains hook up a little expensive, add in 50p for a shower and it is a bit steep.

We will use this site again, but as the other reviews stated it is really only for overnight or short stops. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Its higgsy 4 reviews from this member

 We went here for the bank holiday weekend, the site is small but very clean & the lovely lady who runs it is very helpful, the lawn where the tents pitch is like a bowling green with small trees round the outside, the toilet block was clean & the shower was very nice, it took tokens that cost 50p but lasted for 15mins so you could all shower with just one token, the only drawback is the site is so close to a main road which can be a bit noisy but did not bother us.

The pub next to the site served the biggest plates of food I have ever seen, I had the water buffalo steak that was excellent, also just down the road is the pub called the Pickety Witch that does the best tex mex I have ever tasted & all cooked freshly so you may have to wait a while for your meal but its well worth it.

There is a huge tesco in the next town so shopping is very easy

If you fancy a walk Ham Hill country park is just a short drive away 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cresswell02 1 review from this member

 This was a nice weekend getaway site, small but lovely and overlooked a lake. Very pleasant owner - me and my husband got on well with her. I know people say about rules and regulations but you get that on all camp sites, and should be appreciated that there has to be certain levels to abide by.
The facilities, i.E. Toilets etc were basic, but clean, and at least there were some available - not like a site we went to recently. Yes, the site is near a busy road but didn't bother us, and didn't think it was overly noisy at all. The pub on the site (which also offers B&B), we found the people were very friendly, the interior was lovely, and the food was FANTASTIC. 


Date of Visit: December 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pete+Peg 15 reviews from this member

 Arrived after dark on a wet evening and found the grass quite long. The electrics limited to 6a with a notice too small to read without a torch. Warden was quite friendly but just took took money and pointed the way. Toilet facilities were not very good - other reviews give details.

There is a good dog walking area adjacent as a plus point 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yeovil      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2712 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement