Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Yeovil > The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

The Halfway Caravan & Camping Park
Ilchester Road
Halfway
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 8RE
Tel: 01935 840342
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12 Hardstands
Open: March To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 24 Reviews
                5/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fluteytoots 9 reviews from this member

The first thing to mention would be the constant 24 hours a day road noise. Despite 2 hedges, it is loud and very disturbing. If you are in a tent, there is no getting away from it any time of day or night.

When we arrived the owner showed us to a slightly sloping pitch with burns on the grass and trees. Apparently 2 weeks ago there had been a tent fire. Much to our advantage the owner doesn't appear to have any responsibility for picking up debris, so we found lots of tent pegs. We also found lots of cigarette butts, charred tent remains, and some broken glass. Not to mention the collection of tissues in the bushes obviously being used as someone's urinal.

The toilet block is a traditional affair, with 2 women's toilets, a single man's and a unisex shower. The shower only takes £1 tokens (which did last about 15mins and was adjustable and hot). The single washing up sink had no hot water.

The latch had broken on the gate to access the chemical disposal (a hole in the ground with a fixed tap above said hole with no hose), so not safe for children to be playing around.

Our electric tripped the second night (using just a low wattage kettle and cool box) and the owner was no where to be seen to reset the trip switch.

This is a really basic site, and I would not recommend anyone using it more than for a stopover, although good value for money if all you want are the basics.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Snailhouse 3 reviews from this member

This site was the worst in my opinion and the most awful introduction to touring. The grass was so long that it rendered our motor mover useless. Pitch dark, no light and you have to pay a £1 to use the shower - dreadful. And the lady had the cheek when our caravan was stuck in the long grass to ask us to hurry up as her landscaper wanted to cut the grass and I replied 'if I could move our caravan, I would want to get out of here asap. ' The owner then had the nerve to suggest that we should get a motorhome. Dirty toilets, and the toilets didn't have any lights on so not good if you want to spend a penny - just do it during the daytime.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John Fuller 11 reviews from this member

The campsite itself was average to poor, but what beat the lack of electricity, the uncut grass, the constant road noise or the hardstanding pitches that weren't big enough for anything over a 15 feet long van was the reception from the owner.

When the lady eventually graced us with her presence to unlock the electricity supply, she told us we were pitched incorrectly. When I pointed out that her pitches weren't big enough to put our Bailey caravan on, she told us it was our fault for having a big caravan!

Bizarre doesn't begin to cover it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louisar 2 reviews from this member

This camping is good and a good deal compare to some others I went to, but the location is the worse I ever encountered if you don't have a car. From yeovil junction station I had to mostly walk my bike with a backback for 2 hrs because of the hills before and after the city. 1 mile from the camping the road becomes so dangerous that non only could not I ride my bike but even walk it! I let it locked and walked the mile each day in and out the camping and then biked the hill to the city (up and down, each time). The stretch on 1 mile is the most dangerous road I ever saw due to its narrowness; it was even difficult to walk it, because cars were coming at 50 mph on this main road and thick and uninterrupted bushes 8 feet high were coming right at the side white line: no place for 2 cars and a walker, I had to stop and squeeze to the wall- bushes. To make sure it is still more dangerous, especially if you try to bike, the bushes were thorny and some branches were over the white line.

Fortunately it was nevertheless possible to find some parallel lanes to bike to the yeovilton air museum. But there was no solution between the camping and yeovil.

Not for cyclists.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here to visit the RNAS Yeovilton Airday. It's ideally located with the airbase only a couple of miles away.

The owners were very friendly & helpful, even when we blew the breaker on the electric supply. We weren't made aware it was just 6amp on arrival, didn't see the small sticker and used a household kettle - lesson learnt!

The site is adjacent to the A37 so it's not a quiet, but it does mean there are no access issues. It's next to a pub on a bend (with a speed camera) where the speed limit changes from 60mph - 40pmh. So on a Sunday morning you hear quite a few motorbikes changing down gears as they approach. To be honest, the noise level isn't excessive and never bothered us. But if you're looking for a tranquil site, this isn't one for you.

The facilities are basic but clean. There is only one shower. But you have to buy a token so it doesn't get hogged by one person.

The adjacent pub is OK, food is reasonable and not expensive. The only problem for us is the AirDay seemed to take them by surprise (I heard a member of staff say they thought it was in September!). Consequently they were unprepared for the number of customers so there was a very long wait (over an hour) for food.

Would we stay again? Maybe. It's clean, well located with friendly owners but nothing to make it stand out so we would probably try other sites first just to experience something different.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 41 reviews from this member

We received a warm welcome on arrival, but were told that they would not be taking any more units over the weekend unless they were pre-booked. It was made very plain that the electricity was only 6amps and we would not be popular if we tripped the system.

The grass was long as well as being wet, not a good combination. It was then cut after we arrived, but left lying around to be tracked in to our motorhome. The pitches were not very level and we had to put blocks under our step as well as the wheels to get relatively even.

Luckily we had previously emailed to find out about the water tap, so were aware that we could not drive up to it to fill the van up.

Toilets were clean and adequate, but as mentioned before the water was not very hot and the basins were small. We did not bother with the shower/token system as we felt that £1. 00 on top of the £12. 50 paid for the pitch - without an awning was a bit excessive. (The following week we only paid £12. 40 at a fully facilitated club site!)

We chose this site because of the proximity to many National Trust properties as well as visiting the Shepton Mallet Show, and in that respect it was ideal. However, the constant noise from the road put us off staying as long as we had intended.

The pub did do a very nice evening meal, fairly reasonably and if you had non-camping friends with you the rooms in the pub would be suitable.

We would stay there again if needing a stop-over in the area, but not use it as a holiday site.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rc2004 6 reviews from this member

Great site !

Love this site as it felt homely and the owner was really nice !

Stayed here with our fiends who had a winabago ! No problem or the halfway house they didn't complain or make things difficult ! Pitches large with electric.

Owner was fantastic really helpful with direction and finding out details of attractions !

Toilets lovely and the site it well maintained.

We loved this campsite because it was clean and friendly and not strict. More campsites should follow their example. We will definitely return to this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian english 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here September for 9 nights, paid in full on arrival or would not have stayed more than one night. The road noise is 24 hrs, the hot water in the half size sinks was never hot maybe warm a couple of times but nothing more. The hardstanding pitches are uneven and the grass needed cutting. But worst of all was the electric or should we say the lack of it, says 6 amp but not a chance, it was off more than it was on, as the owner says she can't keep switching it back on in the locked boxes. Overall it worked out a very expensive stay

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GRJB 2 reviews from this member

Good for an overnight stop - but any longer and you will find the site a little frustrating.

Only one shower for the site - you need to get a token (50p) which goes in a box the other side of the block (don't forget to bang the box to get it to work!).

Facilities were cleaned daily - however position of soap dispensers makes it hard to bend over the sink - which was only a half size sink - for shaving or cleaning teeth.

Also - road noise - cannot be under-stated - this is a very noisy road at all hours.

On the plus side - the pub next door we found to be very good. Food excellent, large portions, good value for money. Decent pint.

Good location for visiting several National Trust properties (i. E. Glastonbury Tor / Montacute House and Lytes Cary house).

Price was reasonable.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

We stayed here out of necessity, because our campervan broke down a few miles north, as we were on our way to Weymouth, and we needed to buy a new part in Yeovil the next morning.

For an overnight stopover it was pleasant enough, though I can understand some of the previous reviewers' frustrations.

The plus points are supposed to be that it is by a fishing pond (small) and next to a pub (which we didn't rate very highly for quality of food or service).

I did like the toilet block which was charming and smelt very nice and clean, though we bought tokens for the shower and didn't in the end have time to use them.

The site is a little unkempt. We were given a hard standing for our van, but the ground next to it was uneven and bushy with long grass and thistles. The owner talked to me at length about vehicles not being allowed to drive on the middle tent field because it causes ruts, amd yet a couple were parked up with their car and tent a bit later.

The noise from the road is loud, but having said that, the sound of birds singing was also quite loud and very pleasant too.

Overall, our experience was pleasant, but we were not impressed with the pub next door, which seems to me one of the chief reasons for choosing a site like this.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3725 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019