Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Camping Anse Du Brick

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Manche > Castel Camping Anse Du Brick Reviews

Castel Camping Anse Du Brick
Maupertus Mer
Manche
Normandy   (Browse area)
50330
Tel: +33 0233 543 357
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 189
Open: 30/03/2021 to 15/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbie.scott 5 reviews from this member

 Went here last July with 3 and 8 year old. We were very lucky with beautiful weather but the site was really lovely - pretty much next to a beach - beautiful views when washing up ! Great pools, nice small shop, takeaway food useful, kids club a few hours a day, just enough to occupy us for the week - but we wanted a quietish break for young family. Overall, well presented and maintained site - no complaints. Quite a few Dutch there. Good playgrounds and a Bouncy castle for our kids age group. I think teenagers may find it a little limited though. In summary, we had a fab time as it was quite a laid back site. Cherbourg (at the time we visited) though was really dirty - unsure if they'd just had some sort of festival but we didn't like it when we took the children there. Local supermarkets fine but fairly pricey - some smaller places with a bit more character in the other direction from the site but decided to venture to another Castel site further down past Cherbourg this time for a change of scene and as the children are a little older. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 45 reviews from this member

 Excellent site very convenient for the Cherbourg ferry. We only used it for one night and it was a last minute decision as the site we intended to use (Colligon) was closed. Using our ACSI card it was only 16 euros a night.

We arrived quite late at about 7. 00pm but were given an excellent welcome and allocated were pitch at the top of the site. The pitches are separated by small trees and bushes and felt spacious.

The wc/shower/laundry blocks were excellent (we were near the new one) - spacious and with a pleasant veranda with a picnic bench at the end which had splendid views over the bay. All facilities were spotless.

We didn't use the pools but both the indoor and outdoor pool looked well maintained and safe, as did the children's play area.

We used the snack bar on site in the evening and had a decent meal. The young waiting staff went out of their way to be helpful.

We would certainly use it again and have recommended it to friends with young children as an ideal site. The only downside we could see was that it was not near any villages or owns that we could walk to for a drink etc, which as a mature couple we enjoy. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ShawnT 1 review from this member

 Very good site, visited July 2012 for 3 nights, arrived late so we were put on a temporary pitch (No 32), we had the swimming pool one side, bouncy castle and games area the other side and the bar/restaurant in front of us, rather noisy to say the least. We moved to our permanent pitch (No 20) at around 1pm the next day, even though departure time is 12 midday the couple still on pitch 20 were in no hurry to leave so we had to wait!

Other than this minor grip it was nice to set up properly, the site itself is lovely and only a 15 minute drive from Cherbourg ferry terminal, well laid out and very friendly / helpful staff, toilet/shower blocks were spotless, small but useful shop, bar and restaurant looked ok although we didnít use. They also had two cars you could hire for the day which we thought was a great idea if youíre like us travelling in a motorhome.

Five minutes walk away you have direct access to the beach/cove (make sure you visit at low tide) tide table is available from reception, the area is great for walks and exploring, all maps again available from reception.

If when we visit the area again will probably try another site further down the coast as we did feel a little isolated, again as we are in a motorhome.

All in all a good site maybe as an overnighter or two at a push. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nicksy 12 reviews from this member

 We visited for 10 nights from end of May 2012. The weather was mixed, but this did not take away from what was a fantastic holidy at a site that deserves every one of it's 5 stars.

The staff: I have yet to find staff so friendly and helpful, from reception to the bar, all were fantastic and welcoming.

The pitches: Vary in size according to your requirements, most were huge. We had a sea view which was nice, but the Atlantic winds find every nook in a trailer tent without a sewn in groundsheet, be careful where you pitch.

The showerblocks: Absolutely first class. Always hot water, never a queue, but it was quiet when we visited, and always spotlessly clean. Piped music was relaxing too.

The bar/pizzeria: First class staff. Mainly Pizza's, but salads, kids basic menu and deserts all nice. Pizza's were excellent, and the restaurant gives a fantastic view over the beach.

Reception/shop: Basic shop, covers requirements with supermarkets not too far by car. Fresh bread and croissants have to be ordered the night before.

The Pools: ACE, the indoor pool was like a warm bath, superb when the weather turns all British on you. The outdoor pool was posibly heated by a 60 watt bulb, but my 11 year old daughter and I loved taking a daily bracing dip and when you got used to it, it was very nice, probably better when the weather warms up. Too cold for my 6yr old though.

The slidepool was lovely and warm, we all loved it, excellent fun.

The beach - Clean beach, crystal clear water, a few fisherman, some surfers when conditions wee right, absolutely lovely. Nice walk from the site too.

Nearby - The Cite de la mer in Cherbourg was good, but expensive (18 euro's per adult, owch!)Check when you book direct with the site- they sometimes have free passes available. We particularly loved the tour of the Nuclear submarine at this aquarium.

THe area: We were lucky to catch half term over D-Day. Loads of Towns put on parades, hundreds dressed up in WW2 dress and hundreds of WW2 jeeps, motorbikes, trucks etc driving around, with military planes flying overhead and Edith Piaff playing on loud speakers from shops, some towns put on an effort to make you feel you were in occupied France - a little eerie, but helped with the history, even the kids loved it. Utah Beach and a few museums within about 35mins, allow an hour to Omaha.

Cherbourg is only about 15-20 minutes drive away for a city & the ferry.

Would we go back - definitely 100% yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JenniferB 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second year of visiting Anse Du Brick and I am delighted to report that it was every bit as good as last year! Plans are afoot to build an indoor swimming pool in addition to the excellent outdoor pool. The toilets, as always, were immaculate and there was never a shortage of shower cubicles or hot water. It is VERY easy to get to from Cherbourg and is an excellent place to go for anyone venturing abroad for the first time. We took the ferry from Portsmouth to Cherbourg which takes around 5 hours.

Shop has been smartened up and offers a good range of basics plus fresh bread, croissants and milk every day. Weather is quite similar to the south of England, although we were very lucky and had 3 or 4 very hot days. There is also excellent access to a beautiful sandy beach with shallow water - great for the kids to body-board. We will be returning next year as this site has become our family favourite! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Matski_98 3 reviews from this member

 The site itself is an easy 10 mins drive from Cherbourg and seems to be a popular stop over point for people heading south. We stayed for a week and had a fantastic time. The pitches were nice and big, the pool, tennis court, games room, restaurant and bar were all great. The showers and toilets were perfect and were kept spotlessly clean. I'd recommend it to not only people using it as a stop over but also for families looking for a good place to take the kids during half term. (As other reviewers have pointed out you *will* need rock pegs for your awning/tent but they do sell them in the shop (and in supermarkets). ) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmaneilosian 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 4 night break in August.

It's beautiful, far superior to anything in the UK (unfortunately). Pitches were fabulous, spacious and very private. Shower and toilet facilities were superb and absolutely spotless despite the wet weather (and boots). There always seemed to be someone in there cleaning.

There are lots of facilities on site - pool, shop, restaurant, bar, bouncy castle, lovely playground, games room, WIFI etc and direct access to the most gorgeous beach. We've lived in Australia for quite some time and Normandy's beaches easily rival the Aussie coast!

Unfortunately the weather was extremely awful. I don't just mean a bit wet, I mean torrential storms and very high damaging winds. Good test for our Corado 6 then which I am pleased to stay stood up without any trouble at all.

The site is in a quarry so make sure you take rock pegs - we did after reading some reviews on here and they were a life saver. All in all a lovely site that I will happily return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chirpy chinny 2 reviews from this member

 This is really a perfect site. The pictures are very large and although everyone is happily enjoying themselves, there is no sense of over-crowding or rowdiness. The bar is lovely, serving good meals, occasional entertainment and internet access. The whole site is on a steep hillside which could be a challenge to some especially when walking from the beach to the top of the site - it certainly boosts your fitness levels. The site overlooks a beautiful cove with a small virtually private beach to which there is direct access form the site. There are plenty of activities organised for all and a good table-tennis room and well-maintained tennis court. Nice pool which backs on to the bar and is good for sun-bathing - if you get the weather. The weather was very variable when we were there and as this part of Normandy is definitely an outdoor place - landing beaches, fishing villages, lighthouses.You need to take your waterproofs with you. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SCT33 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from this campsite after a 4 night break and I can't rate it highly enough. The site is a really easy drive from Cherbourg, literally about 10 mins away. The pitches are nice and big with private hedges around each one. We had a comfort pitch which was slightly bigger than some others and it also had its own tap. Toilets and showers were always spotlessly clean, the only downside was they are unisex - men go in the cubicles with red doors and women go in the yellow ones! Swimming pool area was nice and clean and my son loved the slide into the smaller pool. Pizza restaurant was great, we ate in and had takeaways and they were both great. They also sold delicious coffee and hot chocolate, only slight negative was they didn't open until 3pm, we thought it would have been nice if they opened a bit earlier to get snacks and drinks when you were around the pool. The staff on the site were friendly.

There is a small shop on site which sold fresh bread and croissants every day but you had to be up fairly early to get it, or you could reserve it the day before. The stock is limited but they do sell a small amount of wine and beer, ham, cheese etc. There is a bouncy castle for smaller kids, playgrounds, tennis court and football pitch.

The beach was nice and is about a 5 min walk from the site. Overall we had a great time and will definitely be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northernman 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 7 day holiday at Anse Du Brick and have had a wonderful time.

Although we have been to France many times, this was our first time camping and with three small boys (10, 7 and 2) we didn't want to travel too far from the ferry, so we chose this site. The drive from the ferry is 20mins along a lovely quiet coast road, signed all the way.

The site itself is contained in what looks to be an old quarry with a huge stone back wall offering a backdrop whilst the pitches face the sea.

We had chosen a large pitch as we have a large tent and were given pitch 82 near the new toilet/showers/washing block at the top of the hill. We couldn't have wished for more. A huge pitch with head high hedges on three sides and trees offering shade as well. We are well into the season now, but there was still plenty grass on the pitch and it was immaculately prepared for us.

The new facility block is stunning.Constantly cleaned and offers everything you could wish for - fantastic !

What impressed us the most was the calm and safety of the site for our children. It was full when we visited but never felt busy and was just full of families enjoying the sun, the pools or the beach.The children could roam around without worry and we were relaxed as a result of that.

The site has three pools - a small one for the babies, a larger one for everyone and then one for the water slide which our kids were never away from. A small bouncy castle at the rear of the shop kept the toddlers happy.

Across a small metal bridge is the path down to the beach - a lovely shallow sandy beach with pleny of rock pools for the kids to play in.

The only slight warning is that the whole site is on a hill, so if you don't like them, then you wont like the pitches to the top of the site.It didn't bother us, we are a fit and active family, but if you don't fit that bill then you may struggle.

The small bar/restaurant was perfect for the site and offered take-aways too which was good on some days when we didn't fancy cooking.

Overall we had a simply fantastic time and will be booking again next year for sure. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel Camping Anse Du Brick child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Camping Anse Du Brick have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Camping Anse Du Brick?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Camping Anse Du Brick dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Manche      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5433 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement