Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Castel Camping Anse Du Brick

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Manche > Castel Camping Anse Du Brick Reviews

Castel Camping Anse Du Brick
Maupertus Mer
Manche
Normandy   (Browse area)
50330
Tel: +33 0233 543 357
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 189
Open: 30/03 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daleswalker 9 reviews from this member

There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said. A lovely, friendly site great amenities, nice (quiet) pool and a lovely area. The 'Cite De La Mer' is well worth a visit and only 15 minutes away. Barfleur is a delight and Cherbourg is a nice town to look around (although the town market is a bit disappointing) The site itself is quite hilly and you'll need your mountain goat legs to get around! If I had to pick one fault it would be that although the ablutions were always clean there always seemed to be half of them closed for use (supposedly for cleaning but more often than not, no sign of a cleaner!) But I'm nit-picking, lovely site, big pitches definitely recommended!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CapnB 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful week over Easter at L'Anse du Brick. This is a tremendous site that really lives up to its five star rating. It is situated in the grounds of an old quarry which means there is natural terracing though out and some stunning views over the bay and the local countryside of low hills, heath and woodland. We had a comfort pitch with a sea view and for us it was worth the expense (although its not an enormous price difference) for the view. We were on 74 and had plenty of room for our van and awning etc. The washrooms are communal but very well arranged, clean and maintained. They are very spacious indeed and generally a pleasure to use. The Washing up area is a joy, that is something I never imagined I would say but I think it has the single best view in the site. My wife and I would take a glass of wine with us to wash up and watched the sunset from there, who knew washing up could be such fun!

L'Anse du Brick is in a great location for visiting the Normandy Battlefields, we went to Utah and Omaha beaches.

Bayeux is a must see, the tapestries are great, the Cathedral is stunning and the town is fascinating, it was one of the few Norman towns left untouched during the war and has many medieval buildings. Barfleur is very attractive too.

One of the biggest pleasures here was walking on the beach which is beautiful and almost always empty. The coastal path walk to Cap Levi is really nice and pretty flat going. The pizzeria and bar are great, the ruinous exchange rate meant we didn't eat there often but when we did it was good. The staff are very friendly and would always bring a bowl of water out for our dogs when we visited. You also get a free half hour of WiFi each day in the bar area. The swimming pool is excellent as are the tennis courts and volleyball pitches. There is also a lovely dog walk through the woods that will eventually get you to the beach.

All in all we could not fault this site, I think it might be the best we have ever stayed at and we are going back for our main summer hols for two weeks later this year. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 35 reviews from this member

A very well presented Castels site. Pitches roomy & demarked with bushes and large rocks from the quarry. Imposing backdrop of granite cliffs be prepared to walk up some steepish roads to get to the upper levels. We had two adjoining pitches with views of the sea next to a sanitation block and because we went out of school holidays the whole site was reasonably quiet apart from a noisy group of Tour de france followers who were chatting noisily until the early hours for one night. The pools are excellent and we used the Pizzeria a few times, twice for takeaways and once for an evening meal prior to departure. We now travel without the kids but there's a fair bit for them to do there if the weather turns bad. We had 'Confort' serviced pitched but the grey drain was too far away to reach with hoses so we watered the bushes for two weeks as I had specifically asked whether we would need waste water containers and was told 'no'. We only used the waste for a bit of washing up so we weren't drowning them! All in all we loved the site and seriously considered spending a third week there. Its a site we would return to as there is a lot of pretty drives and villages especially the west coast of the peninsular with stunning beaches around Port Bail and Carteret with views to the Channel Islands. Cherbourg has excellent shopping with Auchan and Carrefour, about 20 mins away. On site fresh bread is available to order daily.

The beach in the bay is pleasant enough at low tide and we witnessed a few stunning sunsets there.

As regards choice of pitches if we go again, I personally wouldn't hang out for a sea view. Yes we could see the sea from our pitch, just. I would go for one of the pitches under the cliff 163-165 which are huge and flat. We could have pitched our Conqueror 645 across the back of the pitch with the 3 metre awning in front and the sun canopy on that and we would still have had bucketloads of space in front.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 35 reviews from this member

We've stayed here on a couple of occasions using it as a stop off before and after the ferry at Cherbourg - it's only about a 10 minute drive. This time we spent a little longer and can only say what a fabulous site it is. Again it's off season so you can use the ACSI card and get a cheaper overnight rate. We had a sea view - pitch numbers 1 - 7 are the best but be prepared for the hill climb. Wonderful views. Pitches are extremely generous, toilets which are mixed are immaculate with lots of showers, there is a laundry on site, and the washing up area has the best view overlooking the sea. Staff are very helpful and the shop was well stocked. There is a bar and restaurant on site which serve up some good local French cuisine and also pizzas and burgers etc.

There is an indoor and an outdoor pool. Access to the little beach is good and dogs are allowed on the beach providing you obviously clean up afterwards. The site can seem rather remote but it's only 10 minutes from Pierre St Eglise where there are shops, cafes and a supermarket on the edge of town. If you need the Vet for the Doggie, the vet is next to the supermarket - they don't speak English but we managed to book our own appointment but I'm sure reception at the site would organise this for you.

Can't fault this place. Wonderful to chill at the end of your trip knowing you are only 10 minutes from the port.

I'd recommend this place and I know if we do Cherbourg again we will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmijemz 2 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd stay here. This time in a 10 man With porch.

Pitch- amazing! Plenty big enough, water and EHU on pitch, seaview and near toilets!

Facilities- well maintained and clean enough. There are 3 toilet/shower/laundrette/washing up area blocks on site so not far to walk to them. They weren't as clean as in the summer- but- on the summer the site had many more campers so a cleaner seemed to always be cleaning the blocks, this time there were hardly any campers so this was not needed. Music is played in which is nice. Hot adjustable temp showers, do have to keep pressing the button though as the Atwater goes off quickly. Shower block area is heated on & off which is much needed!

Pool- 1 heated (yet still cold ish) indoor with kids shallow area, and bubble/jet area for relaxing. - cold outside pool & a toddler pool & separate waterside which is good fun. There are sunloungers indoor and out, though they could do with more.

Restaurants- we didn't eat at the seafood one as I'm vegetarian. The pizzeria was lovely flavours! But pricey (57 for 2 adult & 2 kids meals, 2 adults deserts & 5 drinks), if you can afford it it's worth not having to cook nor drive anywhere to eat. Service was ok but not great. Views over the bay are lovely.

Wi-fi- free 30 minutes a day is worse than dial up! It's awful! And only works if you're stood around the pizzeria. There is a paid version but it wasn't cheap so we didn't try it.

Kids areas- 2 playgrounds, indoor bouncy castle and a small games room where you pay to play arcade type games, table football & table tennis. We used the tennis court too which was good fun! You get the key from reception. There's an area for football and one for volleyball but we didn't use these. No kids clubs in low season.

Beach- there's a footbridge over the main road to the beach opposite with is nice. It's enclosed and pretty.

Location - 17 mins from ferry port, 10-15 minutes drive from tourlaville where there are supermarkets and places to eat, it's on the edge of Cherbourg with more places like McDonald's.

Where to visit- I can't name them all- city de la mere, landing beaches, ww2 museums, bayeux cathedral, mont st michel. All down the motorway which starts at tourlaville.

Warning- the campsite is built on a cliff so steep hills to walk up all around the site!

Views- beautiful!

Staff- so friendly and helpful, they help make the holiday. They also speak brilliant English!

Shop- on site out of season the shop stocks very little but you order fresh bread and pastries for the next day which are ready from 8am and lovely- we had goats cheese fresh baguettes most days for lunch!

Hopefully that covers most things.

There is disabled access to the whole site

You can stay on site after checking off the pitch

Will definitely stay here again!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vectra19 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a very pleasant week here. We found this camp to be tip top. Toilets/showers were spotless whenever we used them, very good sized pitches (we had a comfort pitch with sea view)shop on site was ok but you had to order your bread the day before but this was due to the time of season. Maybe the one draw back about this site is you have to drive to the nearest supermarket. Some lovely villages in and around the area and the d day landing beaches are also in reach. We will be going back to this site again. Please also remember that all the shops are closed on sundays.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmijemz 2 reviews from this member

So this was our first camping holiday. Family of 5 with 3 young children in a Vango Midas 800.

LOCATION: around 10 minute drive from Cherbourg ferry port, easy drive with our sat nav but would also be easy with basic instructions or a map as there aren't many turns to get to it.

Tourlaville is just past Cherbourg, so around a 15 minute drive from the campsite. There you will find places to eat (a lovely Chinese restaurant, steakhouse and I'm sure more), garages, some shops such as intersport, and supermarkets (Leclerc, aldi. ) and the motorway to get you to places such as Mont St Michel and the landing beaches.

The campsite is opposite the beach which can be accessed over a foot bridge so no need to cross the fast road. The beach is lovely, wet sand as the tide comes right in but that's ok, clear waters too.

The whole area is cliffs and very pretty. The campsite appears to have been built into a cliff-so probably only good for those good at walking up steep hills.

CHECK IN quick, simple, 5 euro deposit per swimming band, map given for camping pitch.

PITCHES ours was the ideal size for us, there were also bigger and smaller pitches about. We had electric hook up.

TOILETS/SHOWERS all unisex, music played into them. Always clean and most of the day someone there cleaning them.

WASHING UP view over the pools and beach-beautiful!

POOLS- although heated, still cold. 1 indoor with small marked off toddler slide in shallow area. 1 outdoor swimming pool. 1 outdoor toddler pool with toddler slide. 1 bigger slide going into a landing pool. Also a playhouse and sunbeds there

RESTAURANTS- 2 but we tried neither

CAMPSHOP- very very basic. Fresh bread and pastries each morning, we brought this and made sandwiches for lunch. Their goats cheese is gorgeous! stronger than what you get here in Tesco.

WIFI- 30minutes a day, not too bad connection. Can pay extra for longer.

There are kids clubs but we didn't try these, although fellow campers did and weren't required to sign their children in which is a bit worrying.

PLAY AREAS- one near our tent was ideal, swings and sandpit. Another near reception a bit bigger, . An indoor bouncy castle and an outdoor one-brilliant. Plus indoor games room.

I think that's it. We would stay here again if we knew the weather would be nice.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bentley673 1 review from this member

Although we only spent 2 nights here, it is a camp site I look forward to revisiting.

The staff were super friendly and the facilities were all clean and in good condition, we were on pitch 66 which is tucked away and quite private which we were asked of our preferences thispitch suited us perfectly

My main criticism which is unavoidable was zero mobile signal, also there is 30 minutes free internet but only found out is per day as we were leaving. But all in all a very good experience with carrefour being 15mins away in saint-pierre eglise. Did not visit the beach which is across the road but the water looked crystal clear. 100% recommend and will be revisiting

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melly2124 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at L'anse du brick. Booking was simple and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. A good mix of Dutch, German, French and English campers with tents, caravans and motor homes.

Plots were a good size, hedged for privacy. Take rock or sturdy pegs as ground very hard.

Toilet/Shower blocks immaculate (with piped music!)

Our 14 and 12 year old loved the games room with table tennis and pinball. There are bouncy castles and an outside play area for younger kids.

Swimming pools are clean with lots of sun loungers - weather was rather wet when we went so indoor pool invaluable.

Bar/Restaurant - we only used bar as pizzeria seemed a little expensive but staff friendly.

Beach just a short stroll away and would have been great if we had better weather but we did go rock pooling and swam on one day.

A fantastic site - well worth 5 stars - will go to another Castels site next time - maybe further south hoping for some sunshine!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ewen c 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 12 days at the beginning of July 2014.

The site is literally 15 minutes from Cherbourg port overlooking a small bay with a beach when the tide is out.

English is spoken by all the staff and they are very friendly and helpful. We weren't expecting it tobe so hot and the coolbox couldn't cope. We managed to rent a fridge at short notice even though it is supposed to be booked in advance.

The showers are push button but seem to be cleaned constantly. The toilets are also high standard. The shop is small but has fresh baguette and croissants every morning. Dish washing at the top block has an amazing view over the bay. Laundry was by token 4. 50 and irons are available at reception. The swimming pool complex kept my daughters happy but there isn't a lot for teenagers. The kids club seemed very active and there was live music in the pizzerie.

We ate out in the restaurant and the pizzeria and both were good. In fact, the maison rouge was excellent.

We took a sea view pitch and it was just the right size for our tent and car. The atmosphere of the site was very friendly, with mainly Dutch and German visitors. The only noise we encountered was a few instances of coastguard helicopters flying low at night but we couldn't hear any other airport noise. Quiet after 11 is the rule and this was kept to except after one world cup game which I could understand.

The nearest supermarket is in St Pierre Eglise, about 10 minutes away. There is also a decathlon and a massive Auchan hypermarket in La Glacerie, just off the motorway south.

I would highly recommend this site and will be going back.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Manche      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5839 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019