Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Aden Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Mintlaw > Aden Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Aden Caravan And Camping
Station Road
Mintlaw
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB42 5FQ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 31
Open: 02/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummybeelee 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from two nights at this campsite with my three children (ages 5, 9 and 12). We had a fantastic time and will hopefully visit again soon.

Facilities are clean but the toilets don't flush very well (notices on the wall remind you to hold the flush for 30seconds but even then they don't always work effectively and with lots of children on site they got a bit grotty at times) and the showers were scalding hot. Far too hot for small children. There is a deep sink provided which many mums were using to bath small children which was a nice touch. Adjustable temp showers and baths would be fantastic additions here.

Washing up and washing facilities were also provided and again were clean and tidy.

The wardens were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Most pitches are quite close together but with a little more space on the tent camping area and well placed bushes/trees here to separate areas a little.

We were pitched right next to the small on site park. Although only small, this was very well used and my children had a fantastic time with all the other children.

The circular layout of the site meant it wasn't far to the amenities and water taps were conveniently located as well.

Children were playing (loudly as groups of children are!) until around 11pm on the park and around the site but then all was quiet for the rest of the night. Some road noise but probably only noticeable to me as we live in a very rural area with no traffic.

Aden country park itself is a delight. A huge play area, outdoor gym, the ruined mansion, tree house and lovely walks all kept myself and the children entertained for hours. The children particularly loved that we could visit the play park late on and have it to ourselves. For dog owners there are also lots of walks, an exercise area and agility set up.

Mintlaw is not too far away and has a few decent shops for basic supplies and a couple of take aways including the Chipper which is supposed to be very good. Hopefully we will try it next time we visit! We enjoyed lunch at the cafe in the country park and ice creams from the small on site shop.

This site wouldn't be my choice for a peaceful escape or to enjoy the views but for families with children and/or dogs who want to let the kids play and enjoy the country park, it is perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bsps 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visited this site in august this year the actual park was quite good and the showers and toilets were acceptable but the most thing I would like to complain about is that I didn't see any wardens patrolling the site to keep children under control.

I understand august is busy with children on site but we were in a fantastic large surrounding park with acres of grass etc and the children which were a lot just rode their bikes around the roadway of the site and going over plastic ramps which someone had brought with them and a bang was heard about every 2 mins I pitied the people who actually had a pitch next to the ramp. Also there were 3 sets of tents opposite us got together and had a good old drinkup outside (which is fine) but they were still talking very loudly and the kids were shouting at about 1. 00am in the morning. No thought for other campers who were trying to sleep.

It is a shame as the park was absolutely lovely with a museum, dog agility area and lots of grassland to fly kites, football etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 43 reviews from this member

 It's a while since I have used this site and since then, Aberdeenshire council have sold their sites to private enterprise companies.

The price structure has been updated and the pitch price now includes only 1 adult. Extra adults cost £5. 50/ night and children 5-16 are £2. 75/night.

This makes the cost a family (2+2) in a caravan/motorhome, £27. 50 / night in High season.

Discount for low season is only 10%.

However, the site is immaculate and the free country park and farm museum are a joy to visit.

On the negative side, the pitches are small and a bit too close together, making it feel crowded when it's busy.

Still, it's well located with the beautiful beach and world class golf links at Cruden Bay within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jacky4me 39 reviews from this member

 The welcome you get from the lady warden on this site puts you at ease straight away. She was very helpful indeed as we did not know the area at all. It was a very well run site and was very clean and well kept. The shower/toilet block is very large but is in need of updating. I also found the shower frustrating as once the button is pressed it only provided hot water for seconds rather than minutes so you were constantly pressing it while trying to wash! The hardstanding pitches I found a bit too close, but the grass area did look better, and was near to a lovely play park if you have children. There are a few static caravans on the site but apart from the school children coming and going they are not a problem. There was quite a lot of road noise at busy times but this quietened down at night. Also you are only a very short stroll away from the peace and quiet of the Aden country park, which is a lovely wooded area with plenty of walks, especially if you have a dog. There are shops and supermarkets about a 20 minute walk away, or you can get a bus into Peterhead which has a large shopping area. Dont think we would go back as it is really a better site if you have children or dogs, not for older couples who want peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Masha 10 reviews from this member

 This a lovely site. Our stay was very relaxing which I put down to the friendly staff and the peaceful rural location. We live relatively close and were just looking for a few days to relax and we were able to do this very well.

Our 3 and 5 year old enjoyed the play park and as we were able to pitch close to it we were able to keep an eye on them as well. There is also another playpark in the Aden country park which is a 2 minute walk away which is great and also has apparatus suitable for older children and even adults :-)

The toilets and showers were good and were very clean and hot. There was also a baby and toddler washing sink which was good as our daughter is scared of showers. The dishwashing and laundry facilities were also of a high standard.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful and there is a very basic shop on site which is good for ice creams! Mintlaw itself has plenty of shops and take always to stock up on.

We will definitely be back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 This is a larger, Aberdeenshire Council site. Very friendly and helpful wardens, who live in static number 1 – makes it feel more like a privately run site. One area for tents, totally surrounded by trees, with some bushes running through the middle, so it feels quite secluded even when busy.

The tent area is mainly sloping (very gently mind). Some flat pitches at the top left (if you’re early enough!), and some others at the bottom right, but they can be quite soggy.

There’s a small playpark next to the tent area, but as previously mentioned, Aden Country Park has plenty of facilities just round the corner. There’s a way through to the Park from the back of the tent area, or you can drive around – parking is very very cheap.

One facilities block in need of some upgrading. The washing up area is in the laundry room. The reception has a few drinks, crisps, etc, and the wardens will put your icepacks in the ice cream chest if you ask. Three (free) showers on each side. Decent enough space, with a seat and shelf. The shower heads are fixed to the wall, and there is no way of adjusting the temperature – it came out nice and hot, but if you want it cooler for a small child, you’re scuppered. You also have to press the button every 10 seconds. There was a disabled room, but accessed via the RADAR key. Baby changing table in the toilets, next to a large sink. I managed to fit my one year old in to get her clean.

The local chipper is great. Make sure you get some of the homemade ice cream. The ‘Country Park Inn’ is not so great – I recommend avoiding the Sunday carvery. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Khanny 2 reviews from this member

 We have been about 20 times. A lovely site with great staff that go out of theire way to help. The site is very clean the toilet block is spotless. A nice little play park on site and the site is set within Aden country park. It is a huge estate with miles of walks for the dogs an it also has an exercise area for the dogs, a huge play park 500 yards from the site and a heritage centre. It is set in the village of Mintlaw which has 3 pubs a spar a Costcutter a chippie an Indian, 2 Chinese take aways. All in all a lovely site for couples and families we will keep visiting 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kellyboast 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here 2 times now, both with our large family tent (in fact the same pitch both times!)

It is a fantastic site, well run with a good wee shop. The kids loved the play area and running about in the woods and playing on the football pitch behind the tent.

The warden even helped us out with our EHU as we'd purchased the wrong item prior to our trip - a true gent!

Mintlaw has 2 chinese take-aways, an indian, a chip shop, a baker and a couple of shops as well as a few pubs.

Aden Country Park is an easy way to spend a day with the kids also, taking them round the farming museum and there's a big playpark and several walks around the Country Park. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 43 reviews from this member

 Excellent site run by Aberdeenshire County Council and set in beautifully maintained landscaped grounds. Most pitches are on grass which could be a problem in the wet, but there are some hardstanding ones. Toilet block is spotless, but rather dated in style.

Shops, carry-outs etc. In Mintlaw and you can get a good lunch at the popular 'Happy Plant' garden centre cafe.

This is a great area for walking (on the flat) with a disused railway line running past the site. The Aden (apparently pronounced Adden) country park adjacent to the site has excellent walks, a garden, lake and childrens' play area. It also has a very good farming museum (with cafe)and a working farm - all free admission.

Overall, a top class site and will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brucera 4 reviews from this member

 Great site. Well managed by efficient friendly staff, who also offer a newspaper and roll collection service - they picked them up for you from the village approx 1 mile away by 8.30am.

Toilet block, although older style, is very well maintained with excellent showers. Good dish washing and laundry facilities. Please be aware that there is a rule about children over 5 being in the opposite sex toilets. This could have been a problem if my brother and I had turned up with our daughters (aged 3 - 10) as we could not have helped shower our kids over 5. I understand the reason for the rule but it is a problem.

Our tent was just opposite the great playground so also thumbs up from my kids. Site is part of a bigger country park which has a large children's play area and a farming museum with guided tours - all free which made it even better.

The town of Mintlaw is approx 1 mile with a bakers, bank, 2 shops, 2 Chinese takeaways and an excellent chip shop.

The only let down, apart from the horrendous thunder showers, was our tent pitch was on a slight incline. We couldn't really move as we were not totally roughing it and tied to the electric hookup!

But would definitely recommend and will probably be back. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Aden Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aden Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Aden Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mintlaw      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3271 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement