Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aden Caravan And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Aden Caravan And Camping
Station Road
Mintlaw
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB42 5FQ
Tel: 01771 623460
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
                7/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ScotMan 2 reviews from this member

This is the ultimate Buchan rip-off site !

27 per night for a unit and 2 people. No reduction for one person travelling alone; no age concession; facilities poor quality and inadequate; 60 pitches but only 3 male showers; my shower had extensive black growth; the so-called thermostatic mixer didn't change the water temperature at all; the water pressure was low; children were allowed to scream and career about the site until after 11pm; the gravel pitches had not been weeded. Leaving at 7am was a merciful release. The saving grace was the adjacent Aden Country Park which was fab.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julietyran 11 reviews from this member

What a lovely site this was. We stopped over here on our way to Fraserburgh. Very clean, tidy and peaceful site. Toilets/showers were immaculate. We arrived on site around 9.30am in the morning and the warden kindly let us book in at that time which was great. The Aden country park is next door and we were able to walk to it from the caravan park. Lots to do there. Near to local shops with good dog walking next to park.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acerrober 2 reviews from this member

Aden Caravan Park is a lovely situated and well kept park. It's right next door to the Aden Country Park, great for dog walking. Toilets are very clean, showers are not very hot. We have stayed her a good few times, as we have friends in Fraserburgh and it is ideal. In the past we have enjoyed our stays, this time however there is a different story. We got off to a bad start as we chose a pitch as we had done in past visits, however, not allowed now and we're told in no uncertain terms to move to a designated pitch, fair enough, but attitude not good! That same evening we went to visit our friends in Fraserburgh, we arrived back to caravan park at 10. 10 PM, only to discover the barrier in to the caravan park was locked! We walked to our caravan and checked 'rules and regulations' written in black and white BARRIER WILL BE LOCKED AT 11 PM so, we phoned the warden on his mobile phone, but he refused point black to open the barrier. (He stays only yards from it) so we had to leave our car outside the park, ( no secure parking) we were not amused at all. If there are changes made to times, it would be wise to inform people. I have contacted Buchan Developements who own the site, I now await a reply.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvasheather 3 reviews from this member

We camped here for 2 nights in a large family tent. Whilst the facilities were satisfactory if not somewhat dated, we were very disappointed on the Sunday afternoon when 8 cars used the campsite play area/football pitch as a car park whilst attending a children's party in the park. Not what one expects in an area where children should be freely playing. The site manager was totally uninterested when I voiced my disappointment. I shall certainly avoid this site in future.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Somer69mfp 1 review from this member

New to the MH scene and on our first and second visits Archie came to our rescue,

Archie and Meg are very welcoming, helpful and considerate. Just spent our third visit and again a warm welcome. The site is well kept as are the toilets, nice and warm on entry, the showers are smashing not power showers but they don't stop start like in other sites and lovely hot water, the hairdryer is free and works very well. Lovely walks and Aden country park next to site, a restaurant only 5mins walk, if you want to walk to the local shops, bank, pub and Happy Plant garden centre its a 15min walk.

This site will be a regular destination on our tours.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Masha 10 reviews from this member

I think this is the second review I have written for this campsite.

I, my husband and 3 children, visit this site every year. Sometimes more than once and we love it. It is clean, safe and there is plenty to do - a play park, a play field, safe woodland to play in, respectful campers and Aden country park a stones throw away. Facilities are dated but clean and the water is hot.

The staff are helpful and clearly love their site, as do the people who own the statics on site.

The weekend we stayed happened to be a 'Fun weekend'. The site provided a good few bouncy castles, face paints and lunch for all the children. They then provided entertainment for all the adults - bingo and a local singer. It was ALL FREE! So generous and appreciated. Thanks also to the static owners who helped out.

I would recommend this site to all. Mintlaw has all the convienence shops you could needs, take aways, petrol station and a garden centre. Aden is an easy day out for all the family.

We will be back soon!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chiefeng 3 reviews from this member

Found the wardens on this site very friendly and helpful. We stayed for three nights and found the site well kept and clean. It was very quiet since it was out of season. The toilet block was clean, the only draw back was the shower water was very hot, probably too hot form small children. The laundry and washing up facilities were also very clean. The Aden House grounds was nice for a leisurely walk with the Historic Old Deer Abbey very close. Great location for touring round the historic sites of N. E. Of Scotland, also close by there are a few really nice beaches ie Cruden Bay and the beach north of Peterhead where you can walk round to Fraserburgh.

I think this would be a busy site during the school holidays. Note there is only one toilet block and if you are in a tent it could be quite a walk during their busy periods.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daizee554 14 reviews from this member

We visited Aden caravan Park on the recommendation of friends.

I was totally disappointed with the campsite.

The Kids play area was full of dog poop that wasn't cleaned up so my children couldn't play.

Showers were clean but my children cried at the heat of the water when showering as it had no temp control, this also was the same for other families with small children.

Aden Country park itself is a lovely place to visit for the day and that's what gets the ratings on my review.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummybeelee 5 reviews from this member

Just back from two nights at this campsite with my three children (ages 5, 9 and 12). We had a fantastic time and will hopefully visit again soon.

Facilities are clean but the toilets don't flush very well (notices on the wall remind you to hold the flush for 30seconds but even then they don't always work effectively and with lots of children on site they got a bit grotty at times) and the showers were scalding hot. Far too hot for small children. There is a deep sink provided which many mums were using to bath small children which was a nice touch. Adjustable temp showers and baths would be fantastic additions here.

Washing up and washing facilities were also provided and again were clean and tidy.

The wardens were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Most pitches are quite close together but with a little more space on the tent camping area and well placed bushes/trees here to separate areas a little.

We were pitched right next to the small on site park. Although only small, this was very well used and my children had a fantastic time with all the other children.

The circular layout of the site meant it wasn't far to the amenities and water taps were conveniently located as well.

Children were playing (loudly as groups of children are!) until around 11pm on the park and around the site but then all was quiet for the rest of the night. Some road noise but probably only noticeable to me as we live in a very rural area with no traffic.

Aden country park itself is a delight. A huge play area, outdoor gym, the ruined mansion, tree house and lovely walks all kept myself and the children entertained for hours. The children particularly loved that we could visit the play park late on and have it to ourselves. For dog owners there are also lots of walks, an exercise area and agility set up.

Mintlaw is not too far away and has a few decent shops for basic supplies and a couple of take aways including the Chipper which is supposed to be very good. Hopefully we will try it next time we visit! We enjoyed lunch at the cafe in the country park and ice creams from the small on site shop.

This site wouldn't be my choice for a peaceful escape or to enjoy the views but for families with children and/or dogs who want to let the kids play and enjoy the country park, it is perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bsps 4 reviews from this member

My husband and I visited this site in august this year the actual park was quite good and the showers and toilets were acceptable but the most thing I would like to complain about is that I didn't see any wardens patrolling the site to keep children under control.

I understand august is busy with children on site but we were in a fantastic large surrounding park with acres of grass etc and the children which were a lot just rode their bikes around the roadway of the site and going over plastic ramps which someone had brought with them and a bang was heard about every 2 mins I pitied the people who actually had a pitch next to the ramp. Also there were 3 sets of tents opposite us got together and had a good old drinkup outside (which is fine) but they were still talking very loudly and the kids were shouting at about 1. 00am in the morning. No thought for other campers who were trying to sleep.

It is a shame as the park was absolutely lovely with a museum, dog agility area and lots of grassland to fly kites, football etc.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019