Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spring Lea Fishery And Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Spring Lea Fishery And Holiday Park Reviews

Spring Lea Fishery And Holiday Park
Plealey Road
Lea Cross
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 8HU
Tel: 01743 860972
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 18                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jipet69 7 reviews from this member

 We've been to this site a few times. We've stayed in the caravans on site, brought a tent and the last 2 times brought our tourer.

The site is excellent for the fishermen in the family, having many fishing pools. For those that enjoy shopping or history Shrewsbury Town is about 8 miles away.

There are only about 8 electrical hook ups so book well in advance.

There is a sandwich van on the site, but we've never used it, though seems to go down a storm with the fishermen!

The toilet / shower is adequate but always clean. There is only 1 for the ladies and 1 for the men, but never had to wait when we've been.

The owners are great. They are very welcoming, very relaxed, leave you alone but are always willing to help where needed.

We'll no doubt be back again soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheZoots 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned and have had an absolutely brilliant time. We have been every Easter with the extended family for the last 4 years for the usual weekender but decided to have 8 nights here for the Whit Holidays (we have just newly purchased our first ever tent and needed a dress rehearsal for our summer jaunt to Cornwall).

There is only the basics there, only 1 row of around 8 EHU's, 1 block with a shower and toilet for both Ladies & Men and a W/C access shower/toilet, washing up facilities & emptying point. All facilities are relatively clean but hot water is on a first come first served basis til after lunch. There is a Butty Van on site that does all from Breakfasts & Burgers to Lolly ices mainly used by the fisherman but is handy for occasional breakfasts/lunches on lazy days.

There are no facilities such as a playground to amuse the children but the children tend to make their own fun as there is a vast amount of space to use. We had kids from 3 to 11 and they were never bored once!

There is no reception you just pull up, pitch up and relax! The nearest shop is a Costcutter around 5 mins drive up the road, which sells all from the essentials to laundry items and an off-license. Lea Cross Tavern pub which is also 5 mins walk is very welcoming does pub grub and sports tv. There is also a Indian Restaurant/Takeaway just 2 more minutes further which do lovely food.

We love this site as its so peaceful & relaxing and will continue to visit. Even our family now has a saying each time we arrive - 'Happy Spring-Lea' Need I say more?? 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracytmaple 1 review from this member

 Just returned from the Bank Holiday Weekend, site was nice quiet and relaxing. Great if you enjoy fishing or just chilling. There is one ladies toilet and shower and one mens, never saw anyone waiting. Waste facilities ok but don't leave waste water too full you need to lift which can be difficult. Electric hook-ups available but would think you need to book them. There is a bus stop on the main road about 5mins walk takes you into Shrewsbury buses about every 40mins. Pub Lea Cross good food and ale spot on but to far to walk (parts have no foot path), owners friendly kept an eye on the site and the fishing pools. There is no play area but did not bother us our children are older and we went for the fishing. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theroon75 3 reviews from this member

 Went to look at this site before a camping here. A little basic only 1 shower in each toilet all of which were clean and tidy. Caravan pitches were half gravel, all with electric hook ups running down the middle of the field. Tents can be pitched the other side of the hedge if you require ehu. The fishing pools all looked really good and well kept so being a keen angler I had no qualms with booking a pitch for the following weekend. On arrival we had problems locating the owner to pay our pitch fee and to borrow a splitter for tent ehu. The tent field was pretty much taken over by a 18 strong group, tents were just pitched all over the place, luckily our friends had parked their car to save us a space.

After little sleep on the first night due to the shouting from our neighbours I decided to try a bit of fishing on the kingfisher pool the following day. We had a great day some really big carp cruising about but none of which ended up in my landing net however some of the smaller ones did. The fishing is excellent 5 pools with a good variety of species in them I`d recommend using pellets and paste, pellets can be purchased from the shop on site and are the only ones allowed to be used which is standard practice at most fisheries nowadays. On returning to our tent the numbers had swollen by another 4 and another tent had appeared with the group next door and we were glad to see the back of them when they left the following morning.

The site was transformed peace and quiet sun was shining and we were reluctant to leave.

Dogs are allowed on site there is no specific walking area but there is a big field opposite offering plenty of space for walks.

All in all the site itself and location are great I think some rules should be put in place with regards to groups as it ruined our stay but probably will return to give it a second chance and hopefully the grass will be cut next time to. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silverwood 11 reviews from this member

 I'm on this site at the moment, October half term holidays & there's only 3 of us on site,very quiet country location with zero light pollution,the only lighting is around the shower block,good sized pitches 6 electric hookups & 8 non hookups, all pitches are grass with small gravel area, very firm ground as my outfit weighs 4 tons & I'm not sinking at all.

The site itself is mainly aimed at the well stocked fishing ponds ( 5 off ),if you fish the main species is carp, I'm told they run into 20lbs mirrors & commons,tench, roach bream with other silvers about in numbers,only a few rules, max hook size is 10 & only pellets bought from owner allowed, there is a basic tackle shop / cabin on site so not a problem.

Very well kept site grass cut short & bins at every pitch,toilets & showers (new build ) clean with ample hot water paper towels & soap,ample sized disabled toilet / shower with ramp access, as stated there is a snack bar / cabin but this again is aimed at the fishermen, so mainly open at weekends so don't rely on this to feed you.

Location wise it's perfect for Shrewsbury being only a short distance from Oxen Hall Park & Ride, also North Wales is only 20 miles away, local shops are within 3 miles of site entrance co-op costcutter etc, pub only a short walk from site with curry house attached.

So to sum up would we travel 130 miles to come here again? well that's a definite yes 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PauLorena 1 review from this member

 Been here a couple of times. It is pretty basic, but it's a great getaway. It's also great for fishing. Well, my husband does the fishing and I do the relaxing in the tent. This place is good for that too! nice and quiet!
It's also great to have Shrewsbury not far from there for a bit of shopping! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant grass site with part gravel pitches six of which are electric. Next to the site are the fishing lakes which have been planted with colourful flowers and shrubs. The facilities are basic with one loo and shower each for male and females they are not heated. There is also a pot washing area. There isn't a dog walking area set aside but this didn't matter because there is a field right by the site where you can walk them.

The people on the site run a snack bar which was open early mornings for bacon butties e.T.C. And some lunchtimes.

There is a bus stop on the main road about 5 mins walk which goes every 40 mins to Shrewsbury.

The Lea cross Tavern is about 10 mins walk and serves meals.

This is a basic, quiet site that is well tended, it makes a nice retreat and is within easy reach of Shrewsbury. 


Reviewer: Bigdave 3 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just spent three nights here, unfortunatley the new toilet and shower block was not completed, so we were down to one toilet and one sink with only a cold tap. But having said that it is a fishery and not a camp site. The fishing was excellent, and I will be going back one day (when they have showers) 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 18     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Spring Lea Fishery And Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spring Lea Fishery And Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Spring Lea Fishery And Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement