Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Red Lion Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath > Red Lion Holiday Park > Reviews

Red Lion Holiday Park
Dundee Road
Arbroath
Angus   (Browse area)
DD11 2PT
Tel: 01241 872038
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 300 Statics 31 Tourers/Motorhomes
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 11 to 17                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed at red lion for 1 night at end of june. Main reason for stay was to attend a preseason football game at the home of Arbroath fc gayfield park. On arrival the young chap at reception (who looked about 12 years old) made a mistake and tried to book me in and charge me for two nights. He did not know how to rectify this so had to call on someone else to fix it.

Was told the pitch number and asked for a 10 deposit for toilet block key but no directions to where any thing was?

First thing I did was try to locate the toilet block and have a shower only to find that you need a token for the shower which has to be purchased from the shop? severe lack of information given!

Pitches are all grass which had been recently cut but not lifted and left the site in a mess.

Went for a drink before the game in the bar on site (we were only customers) but the barmaid was more interested in her mobile phone than serving drinks so left after one drink.

Never really seen much of Arbroath that day so cant comment on the town, my team beat Arbroath 7-0 so it was a great day in that respect but PERTHSHIRE CARAVANS the owners of this site really need to take a long hard look of themselves if they want repeat business! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daizee554 15 reviews from this member

 Booked this campsite on the great photos it shows of the caravan park facilities.

The area where we pinched up our caravan had a 10 foot high wall around it so no views of the beach.

Also the touring pitches are right by the rubbish bins for the static caravans so the is a constant smell of rotting food in the air.

Kids play area is ok but nowhere near the touring area so my children couldn't just go out and play.

Swimming pool is nice but certain times of the day they have swimming classes going on so you cant just go for a swim when you feel like it.

The bar & family area is also ok but the soft play area was locked the whole time we were there.

The nice thing about this site is it is close to a lovely beach with very nice local attractions.

I would not recommend this site for touring at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StuBelAberdeen 14 reviews from this member

 The Red Lion is a great site located on the outskirts of Arbroath. A twenty minute walk takes you into this historic town which is steeped in history and is the home of the famous Smokie. The harbour, Abbey and sea cliffs further north are all well worth a visit.

The site contains mainly static vans but there is a smallish area for tourers, facilities are good with very decent showers, waste drains available at most pitches, plug ins for your TV aerial that gets you all free view channels and plenty hook ups.

All good value for the money charged 21 / night. If you are thinking about spending some touring time in Arbroath, go ahead and book the Red Lion its a great site and the town has plenty to do as well as plenty pubs and restaurants.

The walk into town can be along the beach front which has loads of play park stuff to please small kids. Every August there is Fish Fest weekend and the Bell Rock Blues Fest which are always a great weekends - check out the web for details.

Be sure not to leave without having a smokie - a world famous treat from one of the nicest towns on the Angus coast. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andy17 1 review from this member

 Just back from red lion holiday park & found it on arrival as follows: Was told our pitch number & given our 10 toilet key! Our pitch was a number lower as someone on had taken our spot or given the wrong number. Had someone either side but would have preferred our original number. Anyway, was really nice as it was our 1st site to go on, had lots to do eg swimming, sauna steamroom, games room for kids,pub for us adults, launderette, shop etc.

The site had a small walk to the beach which was nice at night but you couldn`t walk it during the day, but had a nice walk to the harbour during the day. Really enjoyed it apart for being paranoid that I we would loose the 10 toilet key ! When we arrived I went to the toilet and met a lovely person who like me had just arrived. In the toilets there was only 1 hand dryer & she could not find it, a bit inconvenient as you had to know which booth to go to

It was 40p for the shower tokens & hair dryer which was not too bad considering I took my own & could`nt work it n the hook up. The only draw back was we put our heater and it blew our trip switch & our lights & water switch would not work. Don`t know if that was because we were camp site v`s or what. Anyway our experience was good overall 8/10 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Xxprecious84xx 1 review from this member

 Its a quiet site, nice park for the kids and the pools good to, the food isn't that good so made our own food after eating out the first time in the site but the chippY isnt to far away from the site. Close to pleasureland which is great for kids.

Nice staff very helpful.

Disappointed at the kids play area on site as I paid 7 for my kids to play and everyone elses kids just came in for free when the parents were in the bar and my kids couldn't play as they were all fighting and pushing each other so would recommend a member of staff watches this area when we were there, there was no member of staff watching it, my only complaint about the site.

We really enjoyed this holiday and I would bring my kids again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gandl 4 reviews from this member

 We were looking for an early break and found Red Lion park and thought we would try it out. The park itself was ok, if a little quiet, and the pool was lovely but for the fact you can only visit the pool once a day, which when it was tipping down with rain, wasnt great especially when you have young children.
The food was average, the shop was ok, the staff could have smiled a bit more but were ok too.
Arbroath itself was a pleasant surprise with the minature railway and go karts a favorite with my children. The bar was very quiet but would have been a bit chaotic at busy times, and the entertainment venues seemed a bit small for a park of this size. All in all not a bad site but I wouldnt be back in a hurry. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site. Toilets modern and clean. Mainly static caravans but small field for tourers. No tents allowed. Key needed for loos, 10 deposit. Dogs allowed (1 per night )and our dog loved the walks along the prom. Didn't use restaurant as we had dog with us. Campsite is about a mile and a half or so from town centre. The swimming pool costs 4.00 for an hours swim, I think it would have been better to have a half hour price for people like me who only go in to do 20 lengths .
Showers need a token costing 40p from the shop, gives you about 5 minutes hot water. Shop only open till 5 o'clock so get it before you leave campsite in case you're not back till late. Next to main road and railway, so some noise when traffic starts up early morning. Just have a few drinks the night before like we did and you won't hear a thing !
Paying for shower and hairdriers was the only thing I didn't like about site as I hate paying for the night and then having to pay again for a shower or hairdryer, but I would certainly come again.Friendly staff. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 17     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Red Lion Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Red Lion Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Red Lion Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Red Lion Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arbroath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement