Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Red Lion Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath > Red Lion Holiday Park Reviews

Red Lion Holiday Park
Dundee Road
Arbroath
Angus   (Browse area)
DD11 2PT
Tel: 01241 872038
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300 Statics 31 Tourers/Motorhomes
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 15/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our facilities may be open

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamp2237435olf 1 review from this member

 The caravan site was lovely caravan clean overall it was lovely.

The only thing I would have a negative remark on is there is no exit on far away side of park where we were located it would have been nice to have one to get to asda and other shops there myself and my partner don't drive so this was a bit unfortunate.

I feel if they put a gate even with a key for security purposes would make peoples stay that do not drive a bit less hassle. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 The touring pitches were in a well kept flat grass area with a large stone wall between the vans and a busy road, at the far side of the road was a railway line. The noise from both at times was quite loud.

Access to a very good prom and beach is across the road and under the railway line. There is a pedestrian crossing just outside the main gate to cross the road which was needed because of the volume of traffic.

The toilet and shower block I thought was ready for a refit and very small shower cubicles, but was kept reasonably clean.

We only stayed 2 nights but at 28. 50 per night I consider this quite expensive + if you wanted a shower or use of a hair drier you had to purchase tokens at 50p a time(+ plus a 10. 00 refundable cash deposit for the facilities key).

In their touring instructions they say quite rightly that there should be no ball games and dogs should be kept on a lead at all times but there was nearly always children playing football in the touring area and certain dog owners totally disregarding the rules. (ours were kept on a lead at all times)

The instructions also stated there would be wardens checking rules were followed but we saw no-one.

Arbroath we quite enjoyed especially around the harbour area.

We would like to visit the area again but would try to find a better touring site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Rockbabesusan 1 review from this member

 Caravan site was fantastic. Really enjoyed my stay.

Will be back this year. The site facilities were excellent.

It's a well looked after site. Well maintained.

Being across the road from the sea was perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravankath 2 reviews from this member

 This touring site nestles amid the permanent static caravans on the site but is quite apart from them. Its grass is neatly cut and each pitch has it's own tap and drainage point. In addition to the electric socket, there is a television socket on the bollard giving excellent reception and loads of channels. The toilet block is clean and warm and the reception staff welcoming. There is a lovely beach across the road from the site and attractions nearby (and on the site itself) and it is possible to walk into the town if you are feeling fit. The railway line running alongside didn't bother us at all. The only downside of the site was children playing football (forbidden in the rules), climbing the walls, and riding bikes round the toilet block. More supervision is needed by staff and parents. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed at red lion for 1 night at end of june. Main reason for stay was to attend a preseason football game at the home of Arbroath fc gayfield park. On arrival the young chap at reception (who looked about 12 years old) made a mistake and tried to book me in and charge me for two nights. He did not know how to rectify this so had to call on someone else to fix it.

Was told the pitch number and asked for a 10 deposit for toilet block key but no directions to where any thing was?

First thing I did was try to locate the toilet block and have a shower only to find that you need a token for the shower which has to be purchased from the shop? severe lack of information given!

Pitches are all grass which had been recently cut but not lifted and left the site in a mess.

Went for a drink before the game in the bar on site (we were only customers) but the barmaid was more interested in her mobile phone than serving drinks so left after one drink.

Never really seen much of Arbroath that day so cant comment on the town, my team beat Arbroath 7-0 so it was a great day in that respect but PERTHSHIRE CARAVANS the owners of this site really need to take a long hard look of themselves if they want repeat business! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daizee554 15 reviews from this member

 Booked this campsite on the great photos it shows of the caravan park facilities.

The area where we pinched up our caravan had a 10 foot high wall around it so no views of the beach.

Also the touring pitches are right by the rubbish bins for the static caravans so the is a constant smell of rotting food in the air.

Kids play area is ok but nowhere near the touring area so my children couldn't just go out and play.

Swimming pool is nice but certain times of the day they have swimming classes going on so you cant just go for a swim when you feel like it.

The bar & family area is also ok but the soft play area was locked the whole time we were there.

The nice thing about this site is it is close to a lovely beach with very nice local attractions.

I would not recommend this site for touring at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StuBelAberdeen 14 reviews from this member

 The Red Lion is a great site located on the outskirts of Arbroath. A twenty minute walk takes you into this historic town which is steeped in history and is the home of the famous Smokie. The harbour, Abbey and sea cliffs further north are all well worth a visit.

The site contains mainly static vans but there is a smallish area for tourers, facilities are good with very decent showers, waste drains available at most pitches, plug ins for your TV aerial that gets you all free view channels and plenty hook ups.

All good value for the money charged 21 / night. If you are thinking about spending some touring time in Arbroath, go ahead and book the Red Lion its a great site and the town has plenty to do as well as plenty pubs and restaurants.

The walk into town can be along the beach front which has loads of play park stuff to please small kids. Every August there is Fish Fest weekend and the Bell Rock Blues Fest which are always a great weekends - check out the web for details.

Be sure not to leave without having a smokie - a world famous treat from one of the nicest towns on the Angus coast. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andy17 1 review from this member

 Just back from red lion holiday park & found it on arrival as follows: Was told our pitch number & given our 10 toilet key! Our pitch was a number lower as someone on had taken our spot or given the wrong number. Had someone either side but would have preferred our original number. Anyway, was really nice as it was our 1st site to go on, had lots to do eg swimming, sauna steamroom, games room for kids,pub for us adults, launderette, shop etc.

The site had a small walk to the beach which was nice at night but you couldn`t walk it during the day, but had a nice walk to the harbour during the day. Really enjoyed it apart for being paranoid that I we would loose the 10 toilet key ! When we arrived I went to the toilet and met a lovely person who like me had just arrived. In the toilets there was only 1 hand dryer & she could not find it, a bit inconvenient as you had to know which booth to go to

It was 40p for the shower tokens & hair dryer which was not too bad considering I took my own & could`nt work it n the hook up. The only draw back was we put our heater and it blew our trip switch & our lights & water switch would not work. Don`t know if that was because we were camp site v`s or what. Anyway our experience was good overall 8/10 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Xxprecious84xx 1 review from this member

 Its a quiet site, nice park for the kids and the pools good to, the food isn't that good so made our own food after eating out the first time in the site but the chippY isnt to far away from the site. Close to pleasureland which is great for kids.

Nice staff very helpful.

Disappointed at the kids play area on site as I paid 7 for my kids to play and everyone elses kids just came in for free when the parents were in the bar and my kids couldn't play as they were all fighting and pushing each other so would recommend a member of staff watches this area when we were there, there was no member of staff watching it, my only complaint about the site.

We really enjoyed this holiday and I would bring my kids again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gandl 4 reviews from this member

 We were looking for an early break and found Red Lion park and thought we would try it out. The park itself was ok, if a little quiet, and the pool was lovely but for the fact you can only visit the pool once a day, which when it was tipping down with rain, wasnt great especially when you have young children.
The food was average, the shop was ok, the staff could have smiled a bit more but were ok too.
Arbroath itself was a pleasant surprise with the minature railway and go karts a favorite with my children. The bar was very quiet but would have been a bit chaotic at busy times, and the entertainment venues seemed a bit small for a park of this size. All in all not a bad site but I wouldnt be back in a hurry. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Red Lion Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Red Lion Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Red Lion Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Red Lion Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arbroath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020