Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Havenhouse Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Havenhouse Farm Reviews

Havenhouse Farm
Croft Marsh Lane
Croft
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE24 4AR
Tel: 01754 881555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aswain 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip. We chose this camp site at random and was pleasantly surprised.

We arrived at the camp site and received a pleasant welcome from the owners of the site.

We will definitely be returning to the site again for another stay.

There was all the facilities that you would expect from a camp site. The showers and toilet blocks were very clean. The welcome you get is second to none. I would definitely recommend this camp site to anybody that's looking for a camp site to stay 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frodakippa 3 reviews from this member

 Quite a nice little site. There are a couple of bad points but I do have to say that it is not the fault of the owners:

The site is right next to a rail line and it was being repaired.At 2am which was very, very noisy.

The site is right next to a river and a fishing lake which is something you have to be mindful of with young children.

There are a couple of minor improvements that could be made:

1. A light in the washing-up area would be useful.

2. The main tent area was flat but lumpy, a bit of attention here would be great for tent users.

3. A small shop that sells essentials (milk/bread etc) would be good.

4. The electric hookups at 3 per day seemed pricey, though we didn't use one.

The good points:

1. The two well maintained toilets/showers were in there own bathrooms which was great for families with small kids.And the showers/hot water was free!

2. The washing up area had abundant hot water.And it was free!

3. The kids loved the Milk Shakes that were sold in the farmhouse. The breakfasts that were for sale in the farmhouse were (according to other campers were quite nice

The prices have recently increased to a level that makes the site not such great value for money but if you don't have kids and want a quiet site close to Skegness then this site is OK. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cliffo78 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely weekend at Havenhouse Farm as first time campers. We are a family of 3 and wanted something close to the sea front, without being too busy with it being a bank holiday weekend and this was the perfect site.

The site is family owned and run, and we received a warm and friendly welcome.

The site is clean and tidy and the tent pitches were on even, well maintained grass.

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and adequate for the size of the site.

The bar and restaurant serve home cooked food at really good prices.

If you are looking for a site that's close to Skegness sea front (5 minutes drive) that's welcoming and relaxed you will not go wrong. We look forward to visiting them again very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MaryShelley 8 reviews from this member

 The facilities were basic but clean. The showers were free, there was hot water for washing up and the owners were very friendly. The tent pitches were not too close together and we had some trees and bushes giving us added privacy. We ate in the restaurant one night, which was lovely.

Unfortunately there was some awful noise in the middle of the night. Whether it was something to do with the railway, which was close by, or the local farm, harvesting peas or something, I don't know, but we were exhausted after a few nights of it. Such a shame because otherwise it was a lovely little campsite in an otherwise quiet location, near to some very picturesque villages and close enough to Skegness for some fun there too.

The only downside of the campsite itself was that it was close to open bodies of water, which makes it difficult when you have younger children. This is why I have given a lesser rating for child friendliness. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Voxol51 1 review from this member

 Just had a lovely relaxing weekend at Havenhouse. We are a couple in our 50's, so not after the nightlife, or places specialising in chi;drens activities (all available in Skegness, just 5 mins drive away)

As it's name suggests, Havenhouse is a tranquil haven. The site is family owned and run, with a friendly welcome and nothing is to much trouble.

The site is tidy, but not regimented, so has a nice rustic feel to it, very relaxing.

The pitches are level on well maintained grass, and despite some rain during the night, there was no mud or slipping wheels during entry and exit.

Toilet and shower blocks were clean and adequate, and the owner has plans to extend them.

The restaurant serves good home cooked food, and plenty of it, with very reasonable prices.

Not being drinkers, we never used the bar, but judging by the chatter and laughter, other campers were enjoying the hospitality.

Although it may now be next year, I look forward to staying at Havenhouse again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mrsbaggins 4 reviews from this member

 We visited the site in August 2010 and we thoroughly enjoyed it, we will definitely be visiting the site again, staff were friendly and helpful along with other campers alike.

The only downside were 2 showers were not enough for the site and you often had a wait on your hands, although there were another toilet located in the reception area of the main house.

The site were great value for money and nice and quiet and our youngest son learnt to fish while we were there, there were also free use of the canoes for the children and life vest were supplied.

The site is not really young child friendly but on the same score we don't have young children and were specifically looking for a quiet site, which this site met to the requirements.

The site is situated 6 miles away from Skegness which was ideal as it was a good base camp to travel to various locations.

We will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trayrope 2 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay on this site for a long weekend after the bank holiday. Upon arrival we were most disappointed the place did not look at all like the web site pictures. The orchard was tiny and cramped. We were shown to a pitch on the drive way so absolutely no privacy.
The interior of the farm house really needed some modernisation there was evidence of free roaming animals on the carpets in reception.
The toilet and shower facilities were outdated. It looked like the place was once really nice. There was nothing for kids to do and you would not be able to take your eyes of the kids as the pond and river are not fenced off. There were no nearby facilities and it was quite a long drive into skegness. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KevRayner 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from here, booked for 3 nights, but ended up staying 6 nights, would have stopped longer if circumstances hadn't meant that we had to return home.

This is a lovely quiet little site. Ken, Janet & Emma are friendly, helpful proprietors & couldn't do more to make the stay more enjoyable.

For such a small site it is a surprise to find it have a restaurant & a bar. The food in the restaurant is excellent & very reasonably priced along with bar prices.

If you are looking for a quiet site near to Skegness, this could be it, but if you have young children, it may not be the place, as there is a lake on site & a river on edge of site. & no play area. We had no children with us, so no problem.

We have been looking for a site not too far from home to be our REGULAR site, THIS IS IT. We will definitely be returning here & as often as possible. In fact I would be back there tomorrow if possible. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bill43 1 review from this member

 First time in our trailer tent and to this site.Didn't mind the trains going by during the day, owners were brilliant, the only problem was the toilets and showers cobwebs everywhere showers were clean but the walls were dirty, the bar and restaurant were excellent.
Very quiet site . all in all great little site friendly staff. I didn't go this year due to work but 2010 I be back, 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 51 reviews from this member

 I felt I must do a review for this site as it hasn't had one for a couple of years. For me, it was a super site. I could pitch my tiny tent in the orchard, which was shelter from the wind. Caravans and the fishing pond are in a different field to the tents. The river winds round one side of the site and there are lovely views from the river bank over the huge wide open spaces of Lincolnshire.

It was nice and quiet, only a few cars going past on the dead-end road, and though the train line is close, trains are not very frequent. You could get to the site by train, as the station is next door - three trains a day stop in either direction.

The facilities are good, I liked the bathroom arrangement which has a toilet, washbasin and shower all together. There were two, and the site wasn't busy so there was never a queue. There are two washing-up sinks, which didn't have a light, but I had a torch. All were very clean, and there was plenty of loo roll, liquid soap and paper towels in the bathrooms.

The owners were pleasant and unobtrusive, and there are three delightful cats. The fees were reasonable - I was charged 6 a night.

The surrounding area has lots of potential for cycling, and there are lots of interesting old churches. Wainfleet is an intriguing large village, and has a 'caff' as well as interesting historic buildings and Batemans Brewery. Burgh le Marsh has a big windmill and a few shops and pubs. Nearby is Gibraltar Point, which I visited and which is highly recommended. Skegness had its uses - a handy cycle shop!

If you intend getting around by cycle it is worth looking at the Sustrans website for cycle routes into Skeggy as the A52 is narrow and fast.

I'm hoping to go back to this site next Summer. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Havenhouse Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Havenhouse Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Havenhouse Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement