Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Penrhos Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Benllech > Penrhos Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Penrhos Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brynteg
Benllech
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL78 7JH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: OLLIEB 6 reviews from this member

We loved it here, easter weekend had excellent weather,its safe for the kids to play,not much of a park but take the pedal cars bikes etc. Footy pitch at the back.Showers etc fie usual c/club standard.

Lovely local beaches all around.Good location for snowdonia, conway.

Good sized grass and hard standing pitches

Good shop and nice friendly wardens

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terifa 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at Penrhros for one night in July having booked in at very short notice. The wardens couldn’t have been more helpful and gave us pick of the vacant pitches to set up on.

The site is in a beautiful position about 2 miles from Benllech and 4 miles or so from Llangefni so you will need a car to get around in. That said it’s only about a 20 minute walk to the nearest pub (The California), which is well worth the walk as the welcome is warm and the food good and reasonably priced.

We would have loved to stay for longer but had to move on but we will definitely stay there again next time we are in Anglesey

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LJB1969 7 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite, the pitch we got we (choose your own) was fantastic, huge hardstanding with a large grass area too. Far enough away from the play area so not to hear the kids, but near enough to keep an eye on our 6 and 9 year olds. We arrived on the Friday before the May school holidays and glad we did as by Saturday morning it was full, so get there early to get the best pitch!

The kids loved the play field and each night had either a cricket or a football match, loads of kids joined in, even the dads did too.

The site has a really good atmosphere to it, not too quiet, but just right. No noisy campers here after dark.

Toilet block was always clean and didn't have to wait for a shower even thought the site was full. Although only 1 hairdryer!

There are some great beaches just a short drive away and there are a few shops nearby too.

We'll be going back here again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikemoss 18 reviews from this member

One of the most pleasant CC sites we have stayed on. Great welcome from the very friendly wardens, and the whole site had a well cared for feel about it.

The site is in two areas, mostly with hard standings (very useful following the usual Easter washout weather!) but also with some on grass.

There's a motorhome service point in the smaller of the two areas, and the shower block was well up to the CC's usual high standard.

We were only there for one night, but would be more than happy to return for longer.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cruiserfan 2 reviews from this member

Found out by accident that we could stay on Caravan Club sites with a folding camper so this was our first time on a CC site.

The club website was showing the site fully booked but when we phoned 2 days before we wanted to go the wardens were very helpful and said they had pitches available. When we arrived we were shown a plan of the site and which pitches were available and then told to go and choose one and let them know the pitch number.

The site and toilet block were immaculate and the wardens were visible most of the day around the site seeing to the general upkeep. The thing I notice most from other campsites was the lack of people having showers in the evenings (most people seemed to be in their caravans watching TV!)and we never queued for showers once. The showers had adjustable temperature and one cubicle had a detachable shower head which was great for my 7 year old who hates hot showers pouring down on top of his head.

The washing up area was indoors and consisted of a laundry sink and a washing-up / vegetable preparation sink. There were sometimes queues for washing up and people were having to use the laundry sink, but a sign said it was being updated soon.

When we decided to stay longer than we had booked the wardens put our name in a book and then left a message on the board. They did this for other people too.

If this is usual Caravan Club site quality then I shall try to use their sites in future.

Lligwy beach a few miles up the coast is a great beach and crab fishing off the pier in Beaumaris is hours of cheap fun for kids and adults.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nightcreatur 8 reviews from this member

On arrival found wardens to be the usual friendly helpful CC staff with warm welcome.

Pleasant site but some facilities looking a little tired, but the usual high CC standard of cleanliness. Two playground facilities, the first consisting of a small soggy bark chipping area with just a very small slide, the main playground had an assault course type play area and a a couple of goal posts, not much to entertain the children.

A mobile Fish and chip van arrives on site saturday evening these I can recommend,fish are £3.50 but are very large and tasty, you can also get a whole freshly roasted chicken for £5 but its best to pre-order via the office.

The wardens here does not allow any part of your outfit to encroach on to the grass if you are pitched on hard standing this includes any part of your awning inc annexe, windbreak or car,but you only find out about this rule after breaking it. (This does not apply if you are on a grass pitch).I along with others found we had to remove bedroom annexe.

The site is quite remote along with several others nearby, but well placed touring base. There is a local pub serving meals and several others within a short car ride.

Shops available within a couple of miles.

Had a visit to LLanberis to travel on the train up to the Snowden summit £23 adult £16 children tad expensive for a family of 6 so gave it a miss.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EribaTaffy 21 reviews from this member

This site is located near Benllech and is owned by the Caravan Club. It is open from March to October for members and non-members.

We had a very frosty welcome from the warden for arriving about 11:15am even though the handbook doesn’t warn of ‘no arrivals before noon’. A handwritten board at the site entrance isn’t very helpful when you are in a strange place plus there were plenty of vacant pitches.

There are 90 touring pitches with around 50 hardstandings. Some of the pitches are sloping so you may need levelling blocks.

There is a single heated toilet block with showers, WCs and privacy cubicles. Also a parent/toddler room and disabled bathroom, washing up/vegetable preparation area and laundry facilities. The facilities were in need of updating and the disabled unit could have been cleaner.

Service points around the site for water and rubbish disposal. Also chemical disposal facilities.

There is a small play area for the children and dog walk nearby.

ASDA supermarket in Llangefni about 5 miles away or small local shops in Benllech about 2 miles. Large stores in Holyhead on an out-of-town facility.

We paid £14.30 per night for standard hardstanding pitch with 16amp electrical hook-up, caravan, awning and two people.

Local attractions include:

• Plas Newydd, National Trust with a stunning mural by Rex Whistler covering a whole wall

• South Stack Cliffs near Holyhead with astonishing numbers of nesting sea birds and an opportunity to visit the lighthouse if you have a head for heights.

• Amlwch Heritage Centre

• Moelfre Seawatch Centre

• James Pringle clothing outlet at the old railway station at Llanfair PG.

• Choice of lovely local beaches

Lots to see and do on Anglesey and you get a choice of two Caravan Club sites, one without a toilet block, or several private sites.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eustace 10 reviews from this member

Really excellent site. Very friendly wardens. Unfortunately overstayed our welcome by a day due to a mix up of the date on our part. Wardens could not have been more helpful and let us stay on the pitch for the additional night even though it had been booked by someone else. Very clean toilets and showers.
Very good water pressure and very warm water. Cannot fault this site and its staff in any way. Well perhaps one way. The 'very friendly' lady assistant warden encouraged me to buy this huge locally made sponge cake and I put 7lbs on in weight! Not too bad a problem when you are holiday though.

Will definitely return. It is so good to receive such a friendly welcome.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sprinter22 3 reviews from this member

What welcoming Staff, everyone we spoke to was so helpful and pleasant. When we arrived we managed to pitch on a good hardstanding pitch just to the right alongside and 100 yards down from the toilet block on the campsites circular road.
We had the world's worse weather but being able to freshen up in the excellent shower block made up for it. Always clean and didn't have to queue once! Showers good and hot, curtained wash cubicles and hair drier available. The gales were terrible while we were there but we bought a tie down strap from the reception which was a reasonable price.
There was no shop as such but they did have a few things there Tent pegs etc. There is no barrier to this park which may put off some people but we found the park very quiet. Should imagine if you were there with children that the little playground would not interest them for long.
The nearest pub is the Californian in MarianGlas/Benllech cannot report on it as we didn't try it. Bangor good for shopping on mainland but there is an Asda and a couple of other supermarkets in Llangefni which is close enough to get provisions. Lovely little site my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days here. If you can brave the Welsh wet and windy weather (which we are more than used to living in North Wales) This is a super little site really handy for exploring the island and its many beaches. Get yourselves an Anglesey map!
I can really recommend this site and its friendliness also being CC prices. A bargain break! Will return soon.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oca999 9 reviews from this member

A clean site as per caravan club standards, quite large hardstanding pitches, the quieter ones to the rear of the reception block. Biggest disappointment was the 'hot' water was only warm. No signal for lovers of sky tv. Small supermarkets in Benellech, chip shop always full, excellent cafe just down the steep hill in Benellech, with excellent views.
Holyhead town centre not really recommended. Showed signs of needing a lot of money spending. Coastal park at Penros (just outside Holyhead) was good for an afternoon out. Stunning views in Moelfre from the free car park at the lifeboat station.

No petrol/diesel sold at Asda llanberis, for some reason diesel expensive compared to other petrol stations at Tesco in Holyhead

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Benllech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4622 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019