Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Links Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Montrose > South Links Caravan Park Reviews

South Links Caravan Park
Traill Drive
Montrose
Angus   (Browse area)
DD10 8EJ
Tel: 03452 777778  or  01674 674335
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Capri3 5 reviews from this member

 Booked two touring caravan pitches a week in advance as we wanted to try this site with our friends.

Arrived on site to find they didn't have two pitches together, in fact they didn't appear to have a record of our booking at all. After 20 minutes of hanging around they found us two pitches but a bit disorganised to say the least.

Park was very busy with some parts of the site looking very crammed in.

We were next to the new toilet block. Toilets and washbasins clean enough but block only had three male and three female showers which is nowhere near enough for a park of this size. Showers looked very old and well used despite being in the new block, broken hooks on back of door, missing fold down seat in one etc.

Park rules are openly flaunted unfortunately.

Some dogs were constantly barking, not on leads, and in one case fouling on the grass. Owners of said dog didn't bother cleaning it up either despite being well aware of it !

Several commercial vehicles also on site even though the rules clearly state otherwise.

The site itself is in a great location though with a short walk to the beach, penny arcades and the splash park. Nice wee playpark on site for the kids and Montrose only a short distance away.

Obviously a fair bit of money being spent with the new holiday homes and pods in evidence.

Roo's Leap restaurant is nearby and well worth a visit, especially if you have kids.

All in all a bit of a mixed bag with this site.

We paid for 3 nights but left after only staying for two which sums it up I think. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foyfamily 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with our two kids, aged 8 and 6. Great location and Montrose itself was a great place to visit. There is a brand new leisure centre a two minute walk from site. There is also a very good playpark, Splash, a short walk from the site. Two golf courses are nearby again in walking distance as is the town centre, this has a lot of shops and takeaways and plenty of places to eat, Roos leap, an Australian themed restuarant is nearby, again within easy walking distance, and is recommended. The site is also a short walk from a magnificent beach.

However we left with mixed feelings regarding the site itself. We were unable to use the showers as they were too hot! Kids nearly got burnt. I could not use them and my wife said the showers in the ladies toilet blocks were the same. But the womens showers in the old toilet block were freezing!Complained to staff but they were the same all week. Pitch allocation was very unorganised and there didn't seem to be a warden monitoring the site or enforcing any rules. As with previous reviews there were dogs running around doing their business and it wasn't getting picked up! The pitch we had was great a nice wee suntrap near to the kids play area. The site is good for kids, nice play area good roads for bikes and no rules, apparently, for ball games. We were thinking of staying for 7 nights instead of six but were put off with the lack of a good shower and a noisy mob who arrived on the Fri night and pitched their tents next to the kids play area. They drank and made a noise well into the night peaking at Half two in the morning when they parked their car next to our pitch and talked loudly with their windows down whilst having a cigarette! When I complained the next day the site manager informed me it was his niece!Although he was apologetic I felt that it wasn't that sincere.

This would be an excellent site if the showers were better and rules were enforced. Having said all that we would go back simply because of the location! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Mstar12 3 reviews from this member

 Two of us stayed in one of the pods in April for a night during a bike tour back to Tyneside. We were impressed with the people and Montrose so we came back for three nights to really check it out. The site is very relaxed and well looked after. The pods are heated with two benches that are padded and more than long enough for a good nights kip, I'm 5'10 and had no problems, a small tv is also provided (with 3pin power point), the pods are just close enough to the spotless shower block to be handy but not too close.

One of the many good things is the music playing in the toilet/shower block that drowns out other peoples trombone playing on the throne which makes things a bit more relaxing when its your turn. The showers are smallish but a small folding wall seat comes in handy to put your dry clothes on. GlaxoSmithKline is next door but its hardly noticeable after a bit.

The sandy beach which stretches 4 miles or so is pristine and is a pleasure to walk, there are great cycling roads and tracks around Montrose which suit every level of fitness from an easy 12 miler round the Basin to 30-40 milers over the large hills to the west. The town has everything you would need and plenty of takeaways that deliver to the site.

For those people with children there is an on site park, a larger park 5 minutes walk near the beach and a very modern new leisure centre 5 minutes walk into town. The train station is 15 minutes walk from the site. We are very impressed with Montrose and will be back on a regular basis. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rs Ferries 2 reviews from this member

 Great little site right on the coast and just a fews mins walk from the sea-front splash which is a great little place on a fine day.

Montrose town centre is also close by and a nice town for shopping and drinking.

The site itself is clean and well laid out but not very well ran. Toilet blocks could be done with some renovation though.

Getting booked in was extremely difficult ( never returning calls or e mails ) so we just chanced our luck by arriving on the day.

Dogs were left to run around off their leads and caravans were pretty much cramped in ( local music festival weekend I guess is the reason ).

All in all a good site and we will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Escapists 1 review from this member

 Pleasant site but layout haphazard. Pricy for what you get. Eg no fully serviced pitches. First water tap we tried didn't work. Showers very basic and awkward, no shelves for toiletries, one hook ( one shower didn't even have a hook). Have to try to shower, hold soap and press shower button Not easy or conducive to pleasant shower. No site map, so never found drain for waste water for motorhome s. ?is there one? Driving direction on site not easily worked out only one small arrow sign near entrance of site, which I missed as new gate was being installed so I was redirected to alternative entrance. Helpful staff, nice walk into town refurbishment not yet complete so these points may be rectified 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rick123 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks, very clean site,

Toilets and showers were cleaned twice a day

Kids loved sea front splash play area which is right beside site

Also beautiful beach which is lovely for long walks with dog.

Will be back again hopefully in October holidays as kids are desperate to try new swimming pool which is being built across from site,

Only downside was the good old Scottish weather. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blizob 2 reviews from this member

 Good value family site within easy walking distance of town centre amenities. Pitch layouts a bit haphazard and can be quite close when busy but site is well lit and toilets are clean and plentiful.

Showers could do with an upgrade- a little cramped and not enough hooks or shelves to keep clothes dry. Clothes washing great value.

No sea views but only a short walk over the dunes and good paths for walking or cycling. Staff pleasant and helpful. No tourist info on site though tourist office isn't far away.

Would recommend Splash for the kids and Picture house or Roo's leap for eating out. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiltie 2 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site on numerous occasions and loved it. However visited last weekend with friends in tents.

The campsite looked packed, caravans too close together no room for cars beside the caravan so cars parked in front parallel with the road very unsafe for all the small children running about.

Friday night 2130 no toilet roll in ladies toilet, still none 0745 next morning ! phoned the number on the office door, was told that this was because the site as busy & kids played with the toilet roll.

Gents toilet had no toilet roll at 1130 on sat morning, warden was not very nice on the phone !

We paid 25 per night for a tent pitch toilet roll is not much to ask for !

Hope they get their act together expensive site considering no shop/club and toilets not been upgraded for 25yrs the length of time my family have been visiting this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StuBelAberdeen 14 reviews from this member

 Excellent quiet site, good location to town, value for money, plenty room on pitches, mixture of hard and grass sites, nice and mainly flat, friendly staff, 2 mins from the very clean beach which stretches for a good few miles with great sand.

Montrose is a nice wee town with plenty pubs, hotels and restaurants. George Hotel is very good for decent priced grub.

Toilets and showers are ok, functional nothing fancy.

Definitely worth a visit for the town and seaside quiet location.

Will be back - quality site. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheeprider79 14 reviews from this member

 We were here for 2 nights in march.

The site was very quiet but in general it's very clean and tidy and we had little problems.

There is a decent small park for the kids to play, the shower blocks were fine and plenty of places to top up with water.

The splash zone is a 5 min walk, this has a great play area for the kids and lets not forget Roo's Leap restaurant another few mins walk is amazing! You won't need to eat for a few days afterwards.

Only thing I'd say in summer I'd imagine the pitches would be far too close together. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Links Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Links Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Links Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montrose      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement