Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Links Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Montrose > South Links Caravan Park Reviews

South Links Caravan Park
Traill Drive
Montrose
Angus   (Browse area)
DD10 8EJ
Tel: 03452 777778  or  01674 674335
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SCOTTY1969 5 reviews from this member

 Have visited South Links on quite a few occasions and this is the busiest we have ever seen it. On arrival we were informed that we had been double booked although it was booked two months previously. We were put onto grass surrounded by tourers which is not designed for pitches. Fortunately we got a proper pitch the following day, but was astounded to witness vans continually being put in the middle for the next two weeks, obviously very poor management on arrivals and departures of vans and tents.

The toilet block could do with an upgrade especially the showers as some tiles were missing around the push button shower. However the beach is fantastic and only a two minute walk, plus a fifteen minute walk into a nice little town. Overall a great two weeks away which was only slightly overshadowed by the earlier criticism's, but would certainly not stop us returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharronm1 2 reviews from this member

 Just been to this site for first time kids loved beach so did my 2 dogs with easy access over the dunes.

The first night was quiet which was a Friday night although we we right next to road, and we were given a key to the old toilet block which we weren't too impressed with so we used our own vans loo.

The owners were very nice no complaints.

Sat night different story, we came back to our caravan after being at the beach to find our van was in between two others which were so close we heard them talking in there van. No room to park two cars in between. The caravans were parked next to each other in a row so there was no privacy and our neighbour was sitting staring right into our van. Not so keen to go back but when we walked around site it was more spacious where the new toilet blocks were built, but glad we only stayed two nights 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seadog 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one night. We found the site to be very well maintained, clean and tidy. The toilet blocks were very clean, probably some of the cleanest I have ever seen. This is probably due to the toilets being locked at all times and each caravan being issued with a key. This was OK with us for one night but it restricted access to the toilets for my children, which I suppose is the point but it would have irritated me if I had been at the park for any length of time. Having said that the children did enjoy the playpark, which is central to the site.

We visited the 'splash zone' which is an excellent children's park a short walk along the sand dunes away from the site. We also had a look around Montrose, which is a nice town. We did not appreciate the boy racers speeding along the roads outside the site.

In summary we enjoyed our visit but at 20 / night off peak (for a caravan, awning and hook-up) I think it was a little over priced. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LocheeLad 1 review from this member

 What can I say about this site.

We bought our first caravan in early July last year and towed it straight to this site after purchase intending to stay a week, maybe two.

We found the site to be spacious, very clean, the toilet blocks to be well maintained and a lovely little playpark area in the middle of the site for our two kids to play in (aged 4 and 8). The beach is only a two minute walk (no exaggeration!) away and was fantastic for the kids. There is also the nearby 'Splash' park which again provided hours of fun for the kids and ensured they were well tired out before bedtime! The only downside were the 'boyracers' who liked to use a nearby road to show off their cars, however I also saw that the police were in regular attendance and saw at least 2 of the cars being loaded onto recovery trucks and taken away by police. I understand that the local authority are considering installing speed ramps, etc, on this stretch of road so that should put them off.

The town is only a short 10-15 minute walk away and provides lots of shopping areas for holiday clothes, places to eat out, a couple of supermarkets and even an Argos for anything else. The town and surrounding areas also have many historical sites to look at as well as a good gym again only a few minutes walk from the site. There is also a very good golf course nearby and pitch and putt for the less able.

Did I say we had originally intended to stay just a week or two arriving in early July? Weel, after meeting the friendly owner (Bill) and all the very helpful staff, we ended up leaving the site in mid October after having had a fantastic holiday and can't wait to return again this year! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SHR60 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a weekend visit with our 2 children. The beach was a huge hit with the kids who would have spent all day between there and the splashzone.

The site itself was ok however had we known that campfires were allowed we would probably have gone elsewhere.

Site was close enough to town centre which had plenty places to eat as well as a good few supermarkets. Shower and toilet block could do with being upgraded. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: BOB-D 17 reviews from this member

 It has not long been taken over, no longer a council site. The toilet & shower block near where we were parked, they were old, run down and the showers didn't work, no toilet paper over the weekend, You could hear the racers at night on the coast road up till about 1am.

The good points

Great nearby beach, The town centre is only 10 minutes walk the pitches are level.

The new owners have building permission for a shop and a club house. They are installing statics and tourers for rent. Maybe next year it will improve will have to wait and see.  


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Panda43 1 review from this member

 The site facilities are pretty basic. The shower blocks and toilets are very clean and quite modern but the water pressure is very low resulting in very poor showers. If I ran around in the cubicle I did get wet! The blocks were cosy but the music (which played 24 hours daily) was a bit loud!

The site ownership has recently changed and the new owners are putting large static caravans on site and building a log cabin. There is a lot of building work going on but it is pretty unobtrusive. There was no work being done the long weekend we spent there which was appreciated.

We were part of a large group made up of caravans and tents. We were able to park / camp alongside each other and we all had access to power. The pitches are grass but all the paths and road is paved.

There are plenty of bins but no dog bins.

The closeness of the beach was brilliant. We visited often and had a great (but very cold) time. There is only a playpark on site for the children but plenty of space to run around and bike. The 'Splashzone' is close by and reasonably priced.

The town is pretty close with all the usual amenities 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Supertractorman 5 reviews from this member

 Found this Council site while travelling down the coast, and was surprised how few people were on this large site. Very friendly Site Manager who was very helpful. Good selection of firm grass pitches which were level.
Shower block clean and tidy with hot water. Easy walk on to sand dunes and along next to the man made sea defences and on to nice sands. Only really aware of factory next door when their loudspeakers issued an on site warning to their staff of a problem on a section of their site.
Good selection of shops in town centre not far away 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fidomac 1 review from this member

 We absolutely love it! We have been going every week for the last few months. The site warden Ali is great, tell you all about the site and is ready to lend a hand with everyone even putting up awnings.
The site is pretty basic but the water is never far from where you park and the toilets are spotless no matter what time of day or night you go in. The beach is a two minute walk and is lovely. The kids love either getting the football out or the tennis racquets.
Everyone seems so friendly especially the people who are there for the season. We even had someone help us work out how to get hot water running in our caravan. Love it and hope it doesn't get changed to statics next year or there will be a lot of disappointed people old and young. Keep up the good work Ali and Baby .
We always went to the Lake District until we found this park . 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmicky 2 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site 3 times now and our 4 boys aged 4 to 10 love it. Good playpark on site, fantastic splash and play area 5 minutes walk and a whole load of beautiful beach and stones / pebbles to collect. What more do they need. Me and dad on the other hand thought the shower / toilet blocks were fine and clean although the showers were a little slow. Well lit in the evening, a lot of light comes off the factory next to the site.

The town centre is only 10 minutes walk with a baker/butcher etc also a large tesco and somerfield in town. Warden very helpful and friendly.

Good sized and maintained pitch with ehu if required

Will definitely be a regular here 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Links Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Links Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Links Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montrose      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement