Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pensagillas Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Pensagillas Park Reviews

Pensagillas Park
Mevagissey
Gorran
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
TR2 4SR
Tel: 01872 530808
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: April Till October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kit-kat 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Pensagillas Ėpark for 2 week with our 3 children, itís our second year. We had a fantastic time, the bar was always open for tea/coffee and soft drinks, and food was served in the morning 8:30 until 10:30 and in the evening from 6 till 9:30. There was a big TV screen and pool table area. There was bingo night every Sunday, my kids loved it.

Plenty of space around the tent, beautiful views down the lake. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The weather was beautiful and we were going on the beach almost every day, the nearest beach is 13 min to drive.

I was reading a previous review and have to admit Iím quite surprised of some peopleís high expectation, especially when paying less than normal price for the area. There were plenty of campsites around, but you will be restricted to almost everything: the arrival time, camp fire, shower etc.

The bar area, toilets and showers are basics but very clean. Shop was open from 9am until 11 am and from 4pm until 6:30. They sell basics food; bread, milk, eggs, butter, bacon, sweets and other useful items, what more do you need?!

We are coming here because itís affordable for us (having 3 children over age of 7). We have not been charged extra for children and dog, as other campsites do, we love the location (itís quite central to the most tourist attraction), the fact we have plenty of space around the tent, the fishing lake, and peace and quiet, but I guess you canít please everyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anonemouse 1 review from this member

 Spent about 5 days at Pensagillas & had a wonderful time. The owners were very friendly & Helpful.

The site itself is out of the way, very quiet on the whole & very spacious. Not cramped together like on some sites.

Showers were good, nice hot water and even though there are only three. They were well kept & clean

The laundry has two washing machines and two tumble driers, plus a couple of irons, at very reasonable rates.

The site has a small shop which I didn't use.

There are washing up facility's & an elsan point, which were very clean.

The pub/take away was very reasonably priced & the free wifi kept the kids entertained when it was raining.

Out & about there is plenty to do & see. Mevagissey (about 10 minutes away) is a very pretty little place & The Eden Project & The lost gardens of Heligan are very close by.

All in all a great holiday. I would certainly like to stay again & will definitely recommend the site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HuntH1 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back home from spending a week at Pensagillas. The owners/staff were friendly enough although I had no idea who they were.

Arrivals were from 12 onwards, but the campsite shop/reception is only open from 9:30 til 11 and 4 til 6:30. Had to wander to find someone at the bar who had no idea who was booked in or where they should go.

I felt that the shop didn't open early enough to get last-minute breakfast items. When I did manage to get in there to look round, it was virtually empty even though this was high season, school holidays. Though, I must say, that it wasn't over priced as many campsite shops are. Just £1. 20 for a Warburtons loaf and £1. 20 for 6 fresh free-range eggs. Certainly not over the top!

The toilets and showers could have been a lot better. I noted in a previous review that the doors had been painted in April 2012. Well, it looked like the doors (of the showers especially) had not been touched in 5 years at least!

The bar area seemed rather run down with thin carpet, mismatched chairs and shabby paintwork. Although it was nice to be able to access free Wifi and allow the kids to play on the iPad whilst I was in the shower!

Dogs are allowed on site, although not every owner is responsible as there was dog muck just outside the bar area (when we notified staff, they were very apologetic and removed it immediately), and the campers next to us left their dog in their tent all day whilst they went out!

Despite other reviews to the contrary I would say that this site, although in a quiet country location (which is why I picked it), is certainly not a quiet site. The noise from the bar area and the flat camping ground in front of it travels all the way up the site and can seem quite oppressive (and annoying) at 10pm when trying to get small children to sleep.

This site was priced very competitively, but I'm afraid that I wouldn't return or recommend it to friends. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Russshaz 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite very quiet peaceful, had the field to ourselves dogs free to roam about. Owners very laid back and friendly, did not use the toilets or showers as we used ours from the caravan. Very close to beaches and little fishing village and lots of little coves to visit if you take the time to find them, St Austell town not to far best place to go if you need a big supermarket and fuel, will be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kit-kat 3 reviews from this member

 I was staying at Pensagillas camp site last summer with my family. Great location, local beaches are nice and very close to the camp site, 10 min away from the beautiful fishing village Mevagissey and the L ost Garden and about 20 min away from Truro.

Very nice and friendly personnel, homely atmosphere, clean toilets, good food!

We had a fantastic time and weíve made a booking for this year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris dine 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Pensagillas after using rentatent scheme they have, tent situated in sloped field, huge tent 3 double bedrooms with sown in groundsheets big living area with a footprint groundsheet decent stove and a coolbox with plates cups and frying pan, we bought a cheap saucepan and spatulas etc (which we left behind)

Plenty of space with a wooden picnic table outside

Showers were cleaned daily and toilets were decent, little bar with pool table and hot food available full english £4. 95 chips £1. 50

Handy site for mevagissey lost gardens and down to St Austell,

Fishing lake well stocked we saw/caught carp perch roach and even saw a grass snake going for a dip,

Lots of space on the site and lots of seasonal caravans on site a little cliquey for our liking no real problems,

The downside is the upkeep of the site, grass really long never saw a mower while we were there and could really do with drainage lots of pitches very boggy including ours (admittedly weather awful) but could benefit from TLC we left early due to weather and under living area groundsheets resembled the Somme but if owners have taken heed and moved the tent then anyone using rentatent will enjoy the site.

If you do rent you will need a couple of pans and a decent knife cooking tools etc.

Would go back but would prefer a pitch on higher ground 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Susiewong21 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely location and good value given that fishing is included.

The owner was helpful and welcoming.

However the toilets are very dated and the showers very poor. Grubby is the word that springs to mind. The shower water stops when other people press the button for water. There were only 3 showers for the whole site and no loo on the fishing field.

The chemical disposal point is an old toilet and appeared unhygienic.

There is a disco entertainment on Wednesdays which although it finished on time was loud. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pee Wee 3 reviews from this member

 The site itself is in a very secluded, quite location, very pleasant with electric hook ups. Thats the good bit.

We never saw the owners at all. The bar was not open and the facilities were poor. Please bear in mind this is July. I openly admit the owners could not control the weather which was awful. I was annoyed however a big motor mower did the grassed area where we were sited so wet grass cuttings got everywhere.

I notice most users of this site are tents, trust me when I say the access to the site is scary if your towing a caravan, the last mile of road from St. Austel is single lane with very high vertical hedges either side, then turn into dirt track for at least 500/600 yds to field entrance, meet another unit coming the other way and your in trouble.

One review, makes out village life, beaches, civilisation is nearby. If you class nearby as 5/10 miles away then I agree. This site is remote. Very remote. The nearest pub is a bit of a hike in the car, no chance walking and you wouldn't want to walk on some the lanes nearby.

There are better value sites nearby, overall we were very disappointed, we paid up front for seven nights (big mistake) we only stayed for five and one of them was with friends in Perranporth. After reading other reviews I begin to wonder if they stayed on another site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kit-kat 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the Pensagillas Park on the 30th of March with 2 children and stayed there in the tent for 10 days. The weather was nice. It was our second time in this camp site; we have been there last year. The toilets and shower rooms have been always clean and the doors were freshly painted. The bar was fully functioned, so we could have a basic food, hot drinks or beverages. One night there was quiz night which was great fun for us and the kids.

We were very impressed with the organisations, everything was set up promptly despair the fact it was early holidays and most of the other camp sites were not fully operational.

Very quiet and not commercialised location, ideal for the break from the busy city. We had a great time, kids were happy. Will be back again in the summer. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sohei 4 reviews from this member

 The staff were helpful and friendly when we booked in and when I needed to find a camping shop that would repair a broken pole.

The site seemed to be well maintained and clean and there was a mix of families and couples. Nice and quiet by 11 and a laid-back atmosphere which we enjoyed.

Lots of toilets and showers which were kept clean and tidy.

We would visit this site again when we are in the area. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pensagillas Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pensagillas Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pensagillas Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement