Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ilam Park National Trust Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ilam Park National Trust Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: Ilam Park National Trust Caravan Site
Ilam
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Katecairn 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights during August. Lovely positioned site and small. Wardens excellent, helpful and friendly.

On site toilets are shared with Ilam Hall so a bit hit and miss as regards cleaning. Their are 2 showers which are entered via a coded lock. These were fine apart from one of them had a blocked plug (shower water waste) and my husband pulled out literally a handful of hair! It was gross - so although the site is lovely and we would recommend, the cleaning needs to raise its standards and we did tell members of staff about this and they agreed that the cleaning was not up to standard.

We would return. There are plenty of walks. The site wardens will pick up milk, bread and a newspaper if ordered by 4pm the previous day for you. Lots of wildlife around so all in all very nice. Our dog was welcome to. Also within Ilam Hall you could purchase a full breakfast and evening meal prices reasonable. There was also a bar within the hall and we had a drink one evening. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elamas 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site, peaceful and well kept, so well kept that the grass gets cut EVERY day with a sit on mower, a little noisy but shows how spotless the site is. Big Downside/drawback is the toilets are off site and only one shower, this is solely for the site though, but it is a trek and not ideal late at night. However if you can put up with that (more than a minutes walk!) the area is outstandingly stunning. The fact that there is a youth hostel on site and is quite popular isn't a problem there is no noise coming over to campsite. Friendly staff everywhere, there are lots of sheep and baby lambs roaming about so dogs HAVE to be on lead. Site a little bumpy in places, but overall a good fairly flat site. If there was a Toilet and shower block on site this would be perfect. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Riowanda 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, with gardens to walk around, river with 'boil holes', and the historic house with cafe. Tiny lambs with their mums dancing and chasing some pheasants in the nearby field. Beautiful birdsong, and walks with wonderful views. The 2 lady wardens greeted us like old friends. Definately returning. 5 stars. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maisiedoodle 4 reviews from this member

 What a stunning site. Quite small and in a beautiful setting. It's within the grounds of Ilam Hall and the view from the site is mainly fields & countryside, and although the National Trust Car Park was next to the site we never heard any noise from it because of a high hedge. The volunteer wardens couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and the site was immaculate. The old hall itself is a hostel, there is a nice bar in the hall which is open to all, as is the hostel restaurant usually which does evening meals and breakfasts, but on the night we stayed unfortunately the hostel was exclusively booked by a large party so we were unable to eat there. There is also a teashop at the hall. Ilam itself is a beautiful little village, very tiny with no shops or pubs. We travelled down the A515 and on the road through Thorpe with our big caravan and it was fine. The scenery round there is stunning, a 1. 5 mile walk up the river Dove are the famous Dovedale stepping stones but there are walks in every direction. We got no TV or internet signal on the site but did get mobile phone signal. Perhaps the only downside was that the site didn't have it's own toilets so (unless you use your caravan toilet) you have to go out of the gate and skirt across the top corner of the car park to the hall courtyard about 100 yards away. The toilets were very clean, the showers were there too with code numbers for caravan site guests only. 12 weekdays and 18 Friday & Saturday. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

 If it's peace and serenity you are looking for, then this is the place for you. Hidden away in a woodland setting in the grounds of Ilam Hall, this is a gem for walkers with both the Dove and the Manifold valley within easy walking reach and a plethora of other walks stretching out form the Hall.

The hall itself has been used as a Youth Hostel since before WW2 and since the toilets serving the campsite are also the public toilets the high usage does show in a somewhat tired and basic decor but, then again, you don't go to this type of small site expecting five-star facilities.

The volunteer wardens are more than helpful and made every effort to accommodate our over-sized fifth wheel - and here's the downside of the site. The approach road is not for the faint-hearted and the steep slopes had our unit down to crawler gear with the added fun of having to stop on a one-in-7 while a calf enjoyed it's mother's milk.

Although tour coaches use part of the approach to deliver visitors to the beginning of the Dove valley, if you meet one of these you can practise your reversing skills (we had to drive into a field entrance to get out of the way)

That said it was all well worth for the early morning bliss of an outdoor coffee with nothing but the bleating of sheep to interrupt the stillness - a great way tom start the day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jillfares 9 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site with very helpful friendly wardens. There is no mobile or TV reception on this site but in many ways that probably made it so peaceful and serene even though there is a busy youth hostel, national trust shop, car park and cafe next door.

Our pitch overlooked a field and the site is small enough that bins and chemical disposal is near

Can't wait to visit again

Oh and the other thing is that it is so cheap to stay there 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Klcd12 12 reviews from this member

 A site surrounded by lovely countryside. Very reasonable at only 12 per night. Wardens very helpful. Downside, though, is that the toilets and showers are not on the site but across Ilam Park car park and out of site. This meant that we always had to accompany our 10 year old which was a bind as usually we pitch near the toilets and she can go on her own. The toilets are actually the public toilets for visitors to the park. They are closed for at least 30 minutes every morning for cleaning at around 9am which is highly inconvenient as they only offer 1 disabled loo during that time. The showers work well but the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Not so much from the other campers but cobwebs etc around the floor, in the slats for the seat etc - generally mucky and dirty which is such a shame. We also had a slight issue with our neighbour parking their car on the wrong side of their caravan which left little room for our car. The wardens did not seem to be bothered. This is not a major thing, though, but just a niggle. Another consideration is the movement of cars at night. The campsite is next to the car park for Ilam Park which is a country park but also a Youth Hostel. Unfortunately, the guests staying there seemed to have no regard for the campsite and we regularly heard cars right behind our caravan at 2am or 3am. Not a bad site, although as it is run by a national company I am sure that they could improve in some areas. For instance, there is no reason why toilets and showers could not be installed actually on the site. All things considered, we would possibly return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Akernow 11 reviews from this member

 This has got to be the best site we have ever stayed. It's not fancy, flash or even in the 20th century. No tv or mobile signals get to the site and for a week I couldn't Google a thing and so had to rely on the plentiful information leaflets and good old maps, that's how it used to be done!

20 pitches, only 10-12 were occupied.

The setting. Stunning, the countryside. Stunning. I can't help thinking of the peaceful settings in the Tolkien books, surrounded by steep, atmospheric peaks. The whole peak district is jaw dropping and constantly surprising.

The Manifold, Tissington and High Peak cycle trails are within easy reach and all excellent, and the spectacular Monsal trail runs between Bakewell and ends close to Buxton. We hired a dog trailer from the nice family business at the top of the trail and cycled down to Hassop station for lunch, very good and popular. The return journey is not too hard at all!

The site 'rangers' were so friendly, full of good advice and information and genuinely wanted you to have a good holiday.

I can't think of a better place to have an outdoor holiday, whatever the weather.

Site is best accessed by turning off opposite the main Tissington estate road, as we came in via the Ashbourne Leek road and one left turn through a gateway was very tight with the caravan. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesnorman 23 reviews from this member

 A little out of the way but the the most beautiful small caravan and camper site that you could ever hope for. The scenery everywhere you look is spectacular. You have a NT tea-room on site and a YHA Hostel with a bar next to it and Dovedale itself a short walk down the road. The campsite is immaculate and the volunteer wardens were a credit to the NT and to all campers and caravanners. The two showers are in the ancient NT buildings around the corner and they are modern and quite sufficient. Highly recommended by us. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbent 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site, lovely setting, surrounded by great countryside with endless walking opportunities direct from the site or very close by. Due to the amount of rain the area had before we arrived the grass areas were very soggy but the wardens moved us to a hard standing when one became free after a couple of days. Volunteer wardens couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, lovely couple! Short walk to the toilets and showers which were very clean and tidy, basic groceries and papers available to order from reception. We will be back! 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement