Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Six Arches Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Garstang > Six Arches Caravan Park Reviews

Six Arches Caravan Park
Scorton
Garstang
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 1AL
Tel: 01524 791683
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 23 Reviews
                6/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

 For starters if you own a high top motor home don't go near this site, driving under the arch is nerve wrecking with a caravan, I watched a brand new motorhome today lose its right hand side to the ceiling of the arch, owners were devastated on day 1 of there holiday,

On a positive, this site is decent value, I paid 16.50 a night for pitch in front of reception, ok so it is just a car park, but nothing wrong with that in my book, I preferred that location than in between the statics on 2 slabs of concrete.

I was next to a shallow river that is supposed to hold salmon & trout, id see the odd fish jump but did not bother to fish it as you could see the bottom of the river bed,

There is an outdoor pool that is open from 9-5, not massive but well maintained arcade on site behind reception, club open in the evenings but not very busy think I counted 40 people on the Saturday. Chippy on site but they don't advertise themselves very well, have to ask for a menu, all food is cooked on request so don't expect fast food, order food 1/2 hour before you want it then go and pick it up.

Showers adequate but not 5 star,was a nice stay & will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clairechris 13 reviews from this member

 We had a super time at this site. The access like any good hideaway is narrow but hey ho. Don't be put off by the 1970s buildings.

The tourer area is very small but therefore select you are in the middle of statics but this gave it a fab holiday atmosphere we made loads of friends and were only there 4 days.

The pool had just opened and was really clean was warming up and weather was boiling so in we went. Chippy was nice touch and we had 2 good nights in the club family nights the best good act and reasonable drinks price.Walks round the river are lovely and walk to scotforth for a nice meal at the barn pizza and pasta night very good.

Didn't use toilets much bit old but clean. Shop had everything basic needs.Staff great. Will go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 19graeme 1 review from this member

 When we arrived we had the choice of the main field or the hard standings at the front of the site. I went for the hard standing as it was, easier for reversing, next to the river and you could sit out and enjoy the wild life.

The railway is close by but not a problem.

The staff were helpful and accommodating. The outdoor pool pleasant on a sunny afternoon.

The Old Holly Farm petting zoo across the road is free unless the kids want to use the play room. Nice for a stroll.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darby1963 6 reviews from this member

 Hi just come back from here today, and must say I am glad I was only an hour away from home, this site is like something from hi - de -hi

There a mostly statics on this site apart from approx 6 places on a car park at the beginning of the site, and I really mean in the parking bays,

The other 'grass' pitches I use loosely, is a small corner where they haven't managed to put a static, placed on two odd size slabs of concrete, right in front of the chippie, (the only thing good about the site- they made nice chips)- however, didn't use the club facilities, didn't need to we could hear it from our caravan,

You have to obtain a key for toilets and showers with a 5.00 deposit, however, as prev reviews have stated do not use these toilets / showers after dark as there are no lights in them, while the showers are spacious and clean, you have to use a token of 50 pence to run them, which in all fairness is long enough, but not really any point when you cant see what you are doing,.

I have been camping for many years now, and can honestly say, this site needs to be put to rest for touring caravans - there is no water facilities near your touring pitch you have to go up towards the shop / toilets near middle of site,

Didn't use pool as it was raining, from what I could see though it did look fairly clean, but I was quite a distance away.

There is a 9ft bridge you have to go under to enter the site, however, we didn't have any probs getting through it.

I can honestly say this is probably the worst site I have been on in my camping days and would never visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Headlam 29 reviews from this member

 The site is situated between the M6 motorway and next to the main rail route to Carlisle, it was not as noisy as I thought it would be, far enough away from the Motorway not to hear anything and the trains did not seem to disturb anybody.
The facilities could be better, we were on touring pitches at the side of the club and chip shop, not a problem but there was no fresh water facility near by but the waste water and chemical waste disposal was a little nearer.
We were told that our pitches had been updated this year they have put concrete strips in so your caravan wheels sit on them but they caused every one problems when getting on and off them, it looks a good idea but with a bit more thought it could have been a better one, either by sinking them to ground level or having then sloping at each end.

One of the showers in the male wash room was not working you put your token in and nothing happened I told the warden and he gave me free tokens and said he would get electricians to it after the Easter Break.

The club was pretty decent but you can not take children in on a Saturday night which seemed odd as most people had children with them, they must have lost quite a lot of money over that rule.

The site is near to Garstang and Lancaster and also Morecambe is not to far away, you can also get to Blackpool, over all we enjoyed our stay, the site did not have a lot for children we took our youngest Grandaughter with us, I would go back to this site but not with my Grandchildren. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jubes 2 reviews from this member

 The one thing that no-one tends to mention and is also not stated in the brochure is that there is a height restriction of 9 foot under the railway arch at the front of the entrance to the site. We got under quite easily but one of the other motorhome units got under with only inches to spare.

This site is mainly geared up for statics and the tourers seem to come a poor second. There are only a few tourer pitches; about 6 or 7 hard standing (tarmac in front of the reception) and 5 grass pitches near the chippy/club. We stayed on the grass which had paving stones to park on and were a little difficult to manover on and off as they are squashed between a load of statics.

The toilet block (which is a hike away) is not heated at all and the lights are programmed to come on at a certain time so its tough if its gone dark early.

None of the showers were working while I was there even though the sign said that one shower was free due to the others being out of order; I only found this out when I was stood freezing in the dark.

The chemical waste disposal was broken and there was no specific point to put your rubbish.

There are no recycling facilities which is quite a disappointment given the large number of statics on the site.

The main road is not too far away though with a Little Chef on one side and an Italian on the other. We walked to the main road to catch the bus into Blackpool one day and went to Lancaster on another day so its quite handy if you want to leave the car/motorhome behind.

The club was heaving over the Easter Weekend with entertainment on Friday, Saturday and Sunday but come Monday there was only 6 people in.

Over all for the 82.50 I paid for 5 nights I expected a little more than I got. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scorpiouk 6 reviews from this member

 Weekend visit to this site. Choice of hardstanding pitch, which is on tarmac in the front car park, or an awning grass pitch which is crammed between static caravans. We pre booked one of the 5 grass pitches. If you have a 4 berth, its difficult to manoevre into pitches 3,4 or 5 as the entry road is very narrow. If there are any spare pitches, or you dont put up an awning, the static residents use them as their car park, even though they have car spots of their own ! You are very much hemmed in.Shower block is good, but I do begrudge paying 50p for a 5 min shower ( get your tokens from the office first ) Oh, and dont forget your sat nav for locating the showers as well ! Nice riverbank walk for dog walking and very nice swimming pool. However, this is very much a claustrophobic static caravan park and not in our opinion good for tourers, unless the owners provide a separate field ! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Delboy5465 20 reviews from this member

 The cost for the weekend was sixteen pounds per night for our unit. The pitches are quite spacious. Basically on the car park at the entrance, right next to the train track which was extremely noisy as trains thundered past 2 or 3 times an hour. The earliest one we witnessed was at 5.20am. The swimming pool was open and was warm although was full of children messing around. The clubhouse we visited one night, was supposed to be membership only though no one was available or seemed to care who came in and we found the bar prices very expensive especially for childrens drinks. Most of the customers were the residents of the static caravans.
We had to pay a five pound refundable deposit for the toilet key, the shower block was in a different block.
The toilets for both men and women were dirty and looked and smelt like they had never been cleaned all week. In the ladies around sink area was covered in water and dead flies so obviously you could not put down your toothbrush. I wish we had made a complaint before we had left, and we decided not to even venture towards the shower block so can`t comment on them.
The facilities were very dated, the statics on site apart from a few new ones were old and the whole site looked run down.
The pitch we had was under 2 trees which constantly rained down seeds which when they reached the ground split and out came what looked like cotton wool, on top of this was what I can only describe as sap which ended up covering our canvas and car in a sticky mess. The next day we moved pitches but could not escape it, the whole floor was sticky and you could not avoid bringing in the fluff etc into your unit. On reaching home we had to scrub the roof of our camper and take the car through car wash.
We asked where we had to empty our grey water only to be directed to a road drain which the previous night had been directly under our camper which was not a very hygienic to say the least and you had to put your rubbish in black bin liners and place these at side of the fresh water tap .
The surrounding area is lovely 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Benjiboy 4 reviews from this member

 Myself and my family live just 10 minute drive from this site and decided to pre-book at a cost of 20 deposit. The night before we were due to arrive we went to have a look round and were very disappointed to find the pool in such a mess. It was filthy. The whole point of us choosing this site was for my 3 children to use the pool in the glorious weather we've been having. I have spoken to the owner a couple of times over the phone prior to our visit and she did not mention the pool would be closed. It does not state on the website the pool is closed at certain times, so I'm sure there will be many unhappy customers this weekend. I spoke with the owner on the phone but she refused to refund my deposit.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trailorparks 1 review from this member

 Few touring pitches but very handy for M6 and beautiful location if not a little close to a railway line, we requested a grass pitch which was on a nice quite part of the park. The staff where very helpful and the club house had great entertainment on nearly every night shower block clean and functional with good hot showers, The swimming pool was very very busy with children was only nice for a quiet swim in the morning as by lunch it was full of families!
Shop well stocked and reasonable price but closed over lunch though which I thought strange. All in all a good park I will definitely stop again. Next time I shall book so to be sure to get a quite pitch for the whole week. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Six Arches Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Six Arches Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Six Arches Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Six Arches Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Garstang      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5118 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement