Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Six Arches Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Garstang > Six Arches Caravan Park Reviews

Six Arches Caravan Park
Scorton
Garstang
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 1AL
Tel: 01524 791683
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 23 Reviews
                6/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Pumpy 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately as this was during covid restrictions we found our caravan unclean.

It looked cleaned initially as brand new caravan but ended up having to clean all tops and kitchen floor made my socks dirty. All the pots had to be washed before use.

On telling the office we were met with hostility. I would hate to think what the brand new vans will be like next year without covid!

Clearly the owner needs to keep his head closer to the ground and put customers first! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendy Langley 1 review from this member

 We visited Six Arches for the Bank Holiday weekend. We absolutely love all aspects of the site and have spent many enjoyable weekends here. The two ladies in reception are very friendly and helpful. We are allways given a very warm welcome. It is s very peaceful site and you can spend the day sat by the river bank and feed the ducks. In the evening you can stroll up to the clubhouse and enjoy the artists who appear on Friday and Saturday nights. There is also bingo, open the box and raffles if you wish to participate. Resident DJ - Jeff keeps you well entertained with his music and games with the children. During our stay one of the artists had to 'opt out' due to throat problems - full credit to the Management - they had a replacement artist there within the hour (and it was a fantastic night). A very enjoyable weekend once again. Thanks to all management and staff for providing a lovely place for us to come and stay. Hope to be back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill Pete 1 review from this member

 We have been visiting six arches for some years now & would like to leave a review, We think some of the reviews left are slightly unfair,

your pitch price includes = electric - club passes - live entertainment every Friday & Saturday - Sunday Karaoke & quiz or bingo & use of pool & other amenities

Yes the hard standings are at the front near the office & could resemble a car park as some people have said.

BUT it is just what it says hard standing no mud no grass.

The club house has recently been refurbished to a high standard & is excellent,

The front Toilets have also recently been refurbished to a high standard, (shower block soon)

The Office staff Francis & Susan are very friendly & help in anyway they can,

There is a swimming Pool, small arcade & park for children, Jeff is doing children's bingo Friday evenings during the summer from 7. 30 & then games & dances until 8. 30,

Its not a loud Large Haven site its nice & friendly Park.

You can sit on the river bank next to your caravan feed the ducks, have a chat to the static owners walking their dogs or just sit & watch the river passing by very peaceful & friendly you can also fish on the river with a permit,

There is also a well stocked shop on site.

They also have children's fun days - swimming gala's - Fancy Dress for Halloween - bonfire with fireworks & also many other events during the season.

Ourselves & our Grandchildren ageing from 3-16 all enjoy Six Arches,

A Big Thank you to all the friendly helpful staff for doing a fantastic job. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RACHIE23X 6 reviews from this member

 Well. What can I say???????????????????????

This was an experience and half!

This is a static caravan site, that is NOT suited to tourers in any way shape or form!

Just be aware. Never book a hard standing pitch or you will be placed on a car park which has 10 car parking spaces and all of this are all in a row at the main entrance with cars coming in and out!

The grass pitches are not much better. Some spare land that is tiny, that looked and felt like you were on a static caravans lawns (the 5 grass pitches are surrounded by static caravans).

You cannot even pull your caravan onto the spaces they are that small. You after either do it by hand or if your well equipped a motor mover!.

The space consists of your caravan and a car and that is it! no more room at all! if you had an awning you had to park your car on the car park as there way no other room!

It took us 15 minutes with the kids to find the park! it was secluded within some static carvavans at the other side of the park. The shower block again well hidden.

Outside pool was ok, nice size and plenty of seating for non swimmers.

Arcade - well this was not an arcade it was a room full of adults bandits, an air hockey table, a car games and a broken closed down mini climbing frame area!

The club house I cannot comment on at all. This doesn't start until 7pm! by which my children are knackered and gone to bed!

Overall this was an awful experience that cost me £52. 00! I would never book this site again.

If you are keep on paying £52. 00 for a car park or to be sited on someone's static lawn then this is the site for you!

Although I must say the site ranger and the reception lady was nice.

I will not be returning. ! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vininlancs 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. I did have reservations because of some of the reviews left but as it was only 40 minutes from home decided to at least give it a lookover.

On booking you have a choice of awning or not. This it turns out is paramount as to where you could be sited. There are 5 awning pitches at the rear of the clubhouse and when the awning was up we had about 7 feet to the next pitch. The awning pitches are not the easiest to get to and I had to use the motor mover. Also the pitches has raised concrete plinths for the wheels which my mover struggled with and I had to use a ramp to get onto them. 16 Amp supply and there was is drinking water available on the pitch and also a grey waste drain near the hook-up points. For Chemical waste disposal there is one point only but this is not near were we were pitched.

My stay there for 3 nights was £73. 50 with awning and electric hook-up which are extras on the basic price. The brochure states :-Caravans FROM £18, Hookup and awning costing another£4. 50 per night by my reckoning that came to £67. 50 but I was charged £73. 50. I queried this and was told it FROM 18 depending on the season, The swimming pool had closed the week before so hence I had thought wrongly that it was Low season, there are NO clear definitions on dates what causes the variations in pricing????

On my stay there was only 1 other vehicle a motor-home but they stayed two nights, after that we were alone.

The other hard standing pitches next to clubhouse are NOT good at all, very cramped indeed, on top of each other, and right next to the main Northern railway line from Preston not my idea of a break. 5 caravans arrived on them on Saturday and by Sunday they had all gone.

The site itself is generally good, but it is a Static caravan site and not really geared up for Tourers

The toilet blocks for the tourers are basic and functional, the ones near reception are not the best, only one cubicle and one stall to use and the toilet seat half missing They are cleaned daily and the showers are hot and free. There is a £5 deposit for the Toilet and Shower blocks, which is refundable. The clubhouse which has just been refurbished and is excellent, good entertainment, reasonable bar prices and friendly staff, all the staff I met whilst there were friendly. There is no charge for residents and Tourers but if you are expecting any visitors its £3 a head to get them in. Also on site is a small outdoor swimming pool, again in a very nice area, this had shut the week previously but got to be a bonus in the summer. Children are welcome in the clubhouse and there is a play-field on site also as mentioned some nice walks and bicycle rides.

Adjacent to the site is a small river and rod permits are available from the site booking office, there are nice riverside walks with plenty of seating, quite picturesque.

Also on site there is a chippy Fri/Sat only, again good value for money. There is also a small shop selling all the basic essentials plus papers and cigarettes, the lady there again very pleasant

Six Arches is easily accessible, its just a few hundred yards down station lane off the main A6 road, but you have to pass under a low bridge, The Height Plate on this says 9 FT, but my truckers manual gives it as 10' 3'' Care is necessary on approach At the nearest Petrol Station there is a Spar shop attached which also sells a good range of products. Nearby there are a good selection of eateries and dining establishments and site is well placed for visiting local attractions.

Summary, A lovely Static caravan site, not really geared up for tourers, small cramped pitches and indistinct pricing. It is in a nice location. Site is well kept and the people and staff are nice and friendly. For a one night stay-over its fine but I will not be returning.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jaeson 11 reviews from this member

 Had a two night weekend break at this site, the new club house is great ! Live entertainment and bingo every weekend bar staff miserable. All other staff great !

Toilet / showers need an update but are free and hot so cant complain. Good chip shop on site and brilliant access to garstang / scorton etc. Will visit again due to friendly, warm people we met.

Excellent dog walking, fishing, bird watching on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazloo 15 reviews from this member

 Site is a handy stop over for m6 although that is about it. Touring pitches are a converted car park near the club which is where all activity on this sites is held. When we arrived mid afternoon if people were not drinking in the club they were drinking outside and this continued until the club closed. That said it didn't disturbed us to much. Great meal in the nearby New Holly pub with lovely beer garden. The toilet block on the site needs condemned and rebuilt. If this is not possible then they could at least employ a cleaner as they are at best manky. Wont be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fishnchips 1 review from this member

 Just had 6 nights in school holidays with 2 grandkids. Nice camp. The shower block needs modernizing but showers very good. Not kid friendly club even though it was a kids entertainment night. Defo wont go back with kids and would rent a van next time rather then take a tourer. Reception very nice. Staff in club miserable. Maintenance very helpful 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kellster 1 review from this member

 Overall our stay was not enjoyable, lovely site and views to the surrounding area but not really for family's with children it is more for couples. Onsite shop with choice, excellent chippy on site with friendly staff, good entertainment for couples but nothing for the children to do, in my opinion the site does not really cater for children, Lovely restaurants in the area I would recommend the Italian situated on the main road opposite the site entrance and also the Chinese restaurant in garstang town. The pubs in garstang town are very welcoming with a friendly atmosphere. Would visit garstang again but would not return to the six arches. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Susananc 1 review from this member

 We arrived at six arches late on Saturday night and although the office was closed the site warden and his wife were there to welcome us with the key to our caravan and our free club memberships. The caravan was a new 6 berth caravan and was double glazed and central heated with a large flat screen television and was probably best caravan we have stayed in.

We overlooked the river wyre and although is was wet we felt warm and very at home. There is a railway line that runs by the side of the caravan park but we hardly noticed the trains during our stay. We Walked our dog every day in the beautiful Trough of Bowland and spent our evenings evenings in the Club at the park or the pub in the nice little village of Scorton. We had a wonderful stay and have booked already for June 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Six Arches Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Six Arches Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Six Arches Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Six Arches Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Garstang      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement