Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Birch Hill Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Ellesmere > Birch Hill Farm Certificated Location Reviews

Birch Hill Farm Certificated Location
The Cross
Ellesmere
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY12 0LP
Tel: 01691 622951
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sringpond 1 review from this member

 What a lovely friendly site. We were given a very comprehensive pack on our arrival with walks, maps and places to visit.

This CL is much larger than most, the grass is cut and pitches are on plastic mesh embedded in the grass. The views are amazing from every pitch. Dogs are not restricted and have a lovely time with the owner's 2 retrievers. (Honey & her daughter Amber)

We spent 4 days exploring the countryside around Ellesmere, there are many footpaths as well as the towpaths along the canal and around the Mere. The town has interesting shops, with everything you need, there is a very good cafe called Talgarth cafe.

Our last day was spent at the Pontcysylite aqueduct. A lovely place for a good walk, if you like heights. Excellent parking there for motorhomes even big ones.

Would definitely recommend Birch Hill & hope to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snosrap 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this site after our first visit there and we will definitely go back. The site is neat and very well kept with all the facilities you expect from a CL and more. It is rare to find such a spacious site with stunning views and the welcome you receive from the owners is brilliant. You are given a full welcome pack and leaflets covering many of the area's attractions, a talk through the safety requirements and the local eating places, and then left to it.

This may sound as though the owners are intrusive but that could hardly be further from the truth, just the application of good commonsense and a welcoming approach. They are there if you need them and very helpful if you do. You do see them frequently on 'poo patrol' after their own friendly dogs but not otherwise.

We cannot see why others have down-rated the site. It is £12. 00 per night, everything you could wish for from a CL and in a lovely location in beautiful area.

It gets 10 out of 10 from my wife and me. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slotbob 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent May(2015)bank holiday weekend here

On arrival we were welcomed by the owner and mother in law and shown around the site to where we could pitch our caravan as it is a 2 and half acre cl there was plenty of room between the pitches in fact the nearest caravan was 100ft away from us.

Yes its a basic site with no toilets or shower but what do expect for £12 the Ritz hotel?

There are 3 areas to pitch on area 1 and 2 are close to the house and out buildings area 3 at the bottom of the drive way where you enter Birch Hill

If you are close to the out buildings you can receive free WiFi but I don't know if you can on area 3.

On arrival we where given a welcome pack tell us about Birch Hill itself and what can be found in and round Ellesmere area.

They have 4 hens and you can buy their free range eggs (very nice indeed)

The site is very easy to find with good access just off the A528. The road is not too busy so road noise was not an issue.

All the pitches have views of the welsh mountains

Ellesmere is a lovely village, there lots of meres(lakes)in this area of Shropshire, Llangollen and the Welsh border is only 1/2 hour driver way.

Would we return to this lovely site most definitely 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happysoul 3 reviews from this member

 Not our first visit and chosen for peace and quiet and lovely views.

Plenty of space and choice of pitches.

Very well kept.

Only criticism would be that the toilet waste area would benefit from the odd bucket of Jeyes fluid as it was quite smelly.

Otherwise a good stay and will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevieag 13 reviews from this member

 The welcome to this site was very thorough and made us feel right at home.

The site is beautiful and we felt that we were given every opportunity to share this place.

We met the gentleman owner who was very approachable from the initial phone call putting us at ease, 'take it easy and don't worry, if you forget anything! We caravan so can lend it to you'. That takes a little off your mind that youre going where they wish for you to enjoy the break without stress.

I was given a walk around the site to help choose a good plot and ensure any idiosyncrasies of each were discussed to ensure whichever chosen I wouldn't be left wondering.

Two welcome packs were made available. One with probable every flier from every business around the area, this helped plan any trips or meal. Second one was smaller with site background, emergency stickers with info in case of emergency services need. Very handy plus as was said great advert when you leave.

When you read the supplied documents you will understand why the welcome is so thorough (it was much appreciated)

With all this said you may think that this may of been a controlling site but it couldn't be further from the truth. The impression I received was this part is the caravan site, make your self at home, over there is the owners house please be respectful and a good neighbour.

What's there. Electric hookup.

Water is available from a few areas so you need a water container. (Honestly, there was only ourselves on the main site and if I'd of asked if I could connect to the tap for a constant feed, I doubt they would of refused)

Elsan point - yes its well away from the plots and I feel best place for poo dump area. There are two points at the elsan point.

Plenty of walking areas for dogs and humans.

Welcoming hosts, came over to welcome the whole family and our dog (I think also to make sure both the site dog and our own got on well)

Honey the site family dog was very nice. Rules - don't feed her (can you imagine how fat she would be if every visitor fed her plus it would be annoying for none doggy visitors to be pestered for food if she was used to this) plus don't let her in the caravan for the same reasons as above.

No showers or toilets - this not as a slight but a fact so people are aware. This was the first time my wife had used the shower or toilet in our caravan, result ☺

The owners son was working hard on the saturday cleaning away leaves from the site. The whole site was immaculate including the not so pleasant task of clean the elsan point.

At £12 per night was great value.

Would I recommend it, yes

Will I go again, yes 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jiggin 6 reviews from this member

 Can't believe this site got best site awards, it has good views, hook up points and wifi, but no toilet or shower, which at £16. Per night in low season is a bit expensive, We were parked at the top of the hill, the elson point is at the bottom of the hill and it is the dirtiest, smelliest we have ever used. Dogs to be kept on leads and mess cleared up but owners dog wanders around! I don't think we will be returning. 
Management response: We have never charged £16 per night. We do not vary our charges between high season and low season. We charge a flat rate per night all year round, inclusive of electricity etc. This is currently £12 per night.

Unless there are sheep in our fields, we make no rules about guests’ dogs staying on leads – there have been no sheep here since January, so we would not have imposed any such rule at the time of this reviewed visit. Even when there are sheep here, we leave it to owners’ discretion as they should know their dogs. Our own dog does wander round the site – this is our home and we would probably close the site rather than leave the dog cooped-up all day. We do regular poo patrols as we understand the importance of the cleanliness of our site.

It is correct that we have no toilet or shower – this is not uncommon for 5-van sites such as ours. We have never claimed to have these and I feel that it is unfair to be publicly criticised for not doing something that is outside the standard business-model and normal expectations for this size and type of site.

Our Elsan point is kept clean and tidy, with sealed, stainless-steel lids. Unfortunately it is a fact of life that poo is not always fragrant…

For the past 3 years running, we have been voted ‘Best Small Site in the UK’ by readers of Practical Caravan magazine. Prior to that, we were voted Caravan Club National ‘CL of the Year’. These prizes are based on visitor votes, in which we are no doubt compared against other similarly-sized sites. I feel that this reviewer, as well as being inaccurate, is trying to unfairly compare us against larger and more expensive sites. There is a clear difference between commercial caravan sites with full facilities and 5-van sites like ours that are maintained alongside busy day-jobs – with only 5 vans, it is not cost-effective to install toilets and showers.

I am sorry that we were not able to meet this visitor’s expectations, but we try hard to help guests have a pleasant stay and we obviously cannot please all of our guests all of the time.


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jed and Mag Morg 17 reviews from this member

 If you want peace and quiet and wonderful cycling and walking, quaint local towns and friendly welcome then this is the site for you. You will need toilet facilities on board as a good electric hook up and of course the usual water points are all you have here. TV signal and phone signal are both very good. We came away feeling very relaxed which is the way it should be ! We hope to return to this beautiful site as soon as possible. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happysoul 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a relaxing few days at birches hill. Our first visit. Friendly welcome and useful info pack. Large site so you can spread put without being on top of other caravans. 16 amp hook ups are much better than most CLs. Very dog friendly. Short distance from Ellesmere for supplies and lovely walks. So good we booked for September. Only slight downside could be the slight slopes but there were blocks available. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coediwr 1 review from this member

 Had a delightful few days on this lovely CL site.

Lovely views. Plenty of easy walks and cycling opportunities along canal towpaths and footpaths. Many interesting visitor sites within 10 miles.

Couple running it are friendly and helpful. A variety of shops and services in Ellesmere - 1 mile. 2 friendly dogs. Free range eggs available. Pleasant 'Dingle' dog walk. Grass mown regularly. Will be coming back for a longer stay to this tranquil spot. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Walkmill 4 reviews from this member

 What a disappointment. After reading about all the awards, and the site website, we expected something rather special.

However it was not as good as many other CL's we've stayed at. At £14 per night it was also significantly more expensive for an undulating field with no facilities other than electric hook ups.

However our biggest criticism was the dogs dirt, as the owner's 2 dogs are allowed to freely roam the site. One morning we awoke to find 3 piles within 10 yards of our van.

Ellesmere, about one mile from the site is an attractive town, with nice walks around the mere, and along the canal. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Birch Hill Farm Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Birch Hill Farm Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Birch Hill Farm Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ellesmere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement