Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mosspaul Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > By Hawick > Mosspaul Camping Reviews

Mosspaul Camping
Mosspaul Bothy
Teviotdale
By Hawick
Borders   (Browse area)
TD9 0LP
Tel: 07551515192  or  07551515192
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 8
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/01/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/01/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smb91 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for five nights last August. Not sure I can do justice to it!

Amazing site. Very unique - you feel as if you're staying in their backyard! And the owners treat you as if you are a guest - they loaned me a chair, and offered me some fresh raspberries. They seem to make everyone feel really welcome.

I was looking to 'get away' for a bit so loved the peace and quiet this offered - opted for the 'seclusion' pitch which suited me wonderfully.

The facilities were brilliant too - probably the best shower I've seen ever, let alone on a campsite! And they were always so clean.

Great place if you want to go off to the middle of nowhere. Probably best if you can drive, but its also right next to a bus stop (on the carlisle - Edinburgh route) if, like me, you're looking for somewhere off the beaten track but unable to drive!

Hawick is nearby and a charming little town.

Most enduring feeling I took away is that the owners are constantly improving things and making this a great place to go - and its working! And for a very reasonable price. There were so many little touches - the welcome pack, the bespoke maps.

Only thing was the WiFi doesn't reach the whole site - didn't bother me as I wasn't using it, but my phone didn't pick it up.

Will definitely go back - probably when I can drive so I can see more of the sights.

Highly, highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ninjabel 1 review from this member

 Spent a lovely couple of days here, despite the terrible weather! Hosts were lovely, very friendly, with a personalised welcome pack and sweeties!

A great set-up with wooden cabin for toilet facilities, veg prep/microwave and a shower with body jets and a radio! Facilities very clean, excellent recycling system.

We went for the Burnside superpitch, with a little shed containing our own microwave, kettle, fridge-freezer, cooking implements. Brick BBQ/camp fire was set up on the pitch with a bin full of kindling.

An ideal campsite for dogs, with a gate into their field next door. Our dog had more fun than we did, and spent the weekend in and out of the burn and jumping through the long grass!

Beautiful location, spectacular views, wildlife, quiet, pleasant neighbours. The only down side was a bit of traffic noise from the A7, but overall highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happysunshine1912 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Mosspaul Camping for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. The site is quirky (in a good way) and is based round the owners huge garden. There are a number of pitches of varying sizes but only 4 are ever used at any one time. Most pitches have hook up.

When we arrived we were shown the pitch we were meant to be using (Seclusion) but as it was very wet due to the recent down pour we were given the 'Super Pitch' This pitch is amazing and has it's own fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster, Fire/BBQ.

We were given a welcome pack with all the information relating to the site such as WiFi etc. We were also given a complementary gift which was a lovely touch.

Both the owners are constantly cleaning and maintaining the site and go above and beyond to ensure you have everything and more than you need, without intruding in your space.

There is one toilet but that is not an issue as there are never more than 8 people on the site! There is also a veg prep/washing up area with a newly installed fridge for the campers use next door to that is a state of the art shower.

This is a very relaxed site in a beautiful location and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Altan 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a great 2 nights at this lovely campsite. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who showed us all available pitches, in the rain, so we could choose a suitable bit of garden to pitch our tent. All pitches have names and we chose seclusion. A sheltered, level grass pitch. We pitched our tent in the wind and rain with no problems but another couple who arrived after us were having a few problems but in stepped the owner to help. The couple who own and run the site are so friendly and helpful. We forgot our rice so they gave us some. On returning it the next day we were invited into the house with our dog daisy who was allowed to make herself at home, so much so that she did not want to leave. The facilities on site consist of a toilet, which was always lovely and clean, a large sink for washing dishes and a super shower with water jets and a radio. This may not seam much but there is never more than 8 people allowed on site at any time then its enough. A great site to chill out on. We booked to return in august. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteluwie 7 reviews from this member

 Stopped over for one night on way to BSB Knockhill circuit. Cracking small site. The owners made me very welcome. Facilities excellent. , the shower was really great real power shower! Other reviews say it all. I agree with what they say. Will stop again for sure. What a great idea to use the garden for individual Pitches I chose the small orchard one. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site after reading the fantastic reviews.

The site is not the former Caravan Club CL site that was run by the owners of the Mosspaul Inn, it is series of relatively small pitches in the garden of the house behind the inn.

The toilet, the shower and the welcome were very good, but the pitches did not suit me. My son and his partner just managed to fit their 4 man tent on the Seclusion pitch, but I had to pitch mine on a caravan pitch on the disused site in the next field. The pitch was mainly gravel and none of the various types of pegs that I had would hold securely, luckily there was no wind.

There were a couple of alternative pitches, but I prefer a pitch that is even and not on a slope.

A lot of money has obviously been spent on the single toilet, single shower, and on 'all weather' pitches, but I personally would prefer decent flat grass pitches with space around to guy the tent out properly. 
Management response: Please visit our website and click on plots to see the sizes of all our pitches


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Triumph rider 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at Mosspaul camping.

Well what a little gem of a place, a slice of paradise.

The site is quite small, and very quiet even though of its close proximity to the A7.

We stayed on the Hillview garden plot, our tent is 4. 5 metres long by 3. 2 wide.

All of the plots vary in size, all but one have electric hook up.

Small but very clean washroom facilities, with a great shower.

The owners are extremely welcoming and will help with all your needs( like when your dog goes missing, only to find it in the owners house eating the owner's chicken;).

Fantastic views and a 15minute drive to Hawick.

Not to forget the Mosspaul Inn, right on the doorstep. Great food, lovely beer and nice hosts. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: As133 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 4 nights at this lovely little garden site (one night free!) and were very impressed indeed. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and the facilities were spotless - great shower! We chose the Oval pitch with its own log fire which we couldn't resist and were very toasty on an evening. The location is excellent, the view from the top of Wisp Hill was worth the climb and is accessed right from the garden and Hawick is well worth a trip on the bus. Any concerns about being on the busy A7 soon disappeared as its a very chilled out place to be and nice and quiet on an evening. Pub next door was empty when we visited but again, the owner was very nice and friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessie-photo 1 review from this member

 Well where do we start, Possibly the best site we have ever found. The concept of garden camping is something other site owners should look at. Individual plots with there own part of the garden or even on the plot we stayed on there own private garden with a table/bench. Secluded but not isolated. We stayed for three nights and had the fourth night for free. Cant wait to go back. The local Hotel 50 yards away served fantastic food and the ale was just 1.50 a pint (special Andy Murry offer) The owners were just amazing nothing was to much trouble, We enjoyed looking round the garden and the poly tunnel. Recommended to all 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the two earlier reviews were written for when the site was a Caravan Club CL. The site is now a tent only site, with no club affiliation, so open to all! There are five tent pitches, with hookup, and each with its own garden and view. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mosspaul Camping child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Mosspaul Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Hawick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement