Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mosspaul Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Mosspaul Camping
Mosspaul Bothy
Teviotdale
By Hawick
Borders   (Browse area)
TD9 0LP
Tel: 07551515192  or  07551515192
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 8
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mjvw 2 reviews from this member

Just spent the weekend at Mosspaul camping we used the hill view paddock for our VW motorhome (site to suit smaller motorhome campervan), this spot had a lovely view up the hill, and the pitch felt very private. The amenities were extremely clean, and the site well kept, the setup is very quirky and not your usual campsite setup, the hospitality Dave showed was above and beyond lovely friendly host, and he could not do enough to ensure we had nice stay.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Borp3009 2 reviews from this member

There are only a couple of minus points to this site - close proximity to A7 which can be noisy with traffic / motor bikes but I found after 24 hrs they no longer annoyed me!
There are Electric pylons running up through the valley which if you are affected by them then this is not the site for you but didn't bother me
There are loads of plus points!
Large unique pitches with gardens surrounding them. A brook running through the end of two pitches - ideal for dogs to play in.
The shower cubicle! All weather pitches with bark were surprisingly comfortable and kept the tent dry and mud free. Views out over the hills. But the best of all are the owners Dave and Jessie who create a lovely relaxed atmosphere, are helpful with advice and sorting out my problems with the electric connections.
Overall I love it and look forward to returning!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GinjaNinja666 1 review from this member

Owners are very warm and welcoming. Immaculately clean facilities. We used our trailer tend and connected to the electrics. Lots to see and do in the area, especially the Tibetan Center. We hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Donna Dean 2 reviews from this member

Just spent four lovely days at this fantastic little campsite. Dave and Jessie are wonderful hosts. Dave gave us some homemade Chutney and Jam as a welcome gift! We stayed in their luxury touring caravan which was fantastic and very comfortable. Everything was provided and it was immaculate! Fantastic views in all direction and some lovely walks. The site is on the A7 which was very quiet no traffic noise only a few vehicles trickling through. Hawick is about 20 mins away and has lots of places to eat and a Sainsburys and Morissons. Langholm (Visited by Neil Armstrong as that's where his Clan is from) is only 15 mins away and has a lovely pub called The Eskdale Inn which serves delicious food! Samye Ling Tibetan Temple is well worth a visit. A very memorable experience if you're lucky enough to watch the prayer sessions. It also has a cafe and a fantastic shop. All in all Mosspaul a great place to stay, would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smiley_Becks 2 reviews from this member

WOW! What a fantastic campsite, we are in love with Mosspaul. It really has everything you could need and much much more.

The booking was really straight forward, we used their website and were able to add any extras online. We picked the Burnside Superpitch as it included a kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge/freezer, thermal mugs, glasses & BBQ utensils. It also included a picnic bench, hook up and a brick fireplace (wood burning).

On our arrival we were given a welcome pack which included information about the site, sweets, a map, a pen & we were also given a bottle of wine and some of Jessie & Dave's homemade chutney. We were also given a fantastic warm welcome and a tour of the facilities ('the cabin') which included a shower with multiple jets, pot washing area & loo (with eco friendly rain water flush). There was also a library of DVD's with a portable DVD player available to use (we take dominoes and cards so didn't use this facility!). We were very impressed!

The pitch was plenty big enough for us and we pitched on a bark pitch next to the burn which meant for a really straight forward pitch. We used the fire place every night to cook on and loved it, felt very relaxed and chilled out (and the hubby loved lighting the fire!) We also had 'neighbours' the sheep, their lambs and the cheeky lamb that did an escape act under the fence!

The location of the site was excellent and the views were absolutely stunning, it's located between Langholm and Hawick we were able to pop to Hawick quite quickly and easily to pick up shopping and any other extras we needed. The site was lovely and peaceful and after the first night we were the only tent on site (and the weather was glorious)!

The main thing that sets this site apart is Jessie and Dave, they were fantastic hosts and shared their extensive knowledge of the local area. They even supply walking maps in 'the cabin' which are free for campers to use as they wish. We enjoyed a fantastic afternoons walking and the only other living creatures we saw were sheep and insects!

Overall, this site was perfect for us. Jessie and Dave were wonderful hosts and couldn't have done more for us (Dave gave us some homemade jam before we left). We can't wait to return and look forward to another visit very soon.

Thank you Jessie & Dave for such a wonderful site and for being such wonderful hosts!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eira1983 1 review from this member

Only stayed one night but already Mosspaul felt like home! Dave and Jessie were the perfect hosts, providing local information and a map on arrival. Our pitch was personalised with a 'Welcome' sign and they gave us a tour of all the pitches so we could choose another if we preferred.

The site has everything you could need: microwave, fridge-freezer, toilet (eco friendly as flushes using rain water) and the best shower you'll ever have at a campsite! A huge selection of DVDs and a DVD player are available to borrow and Mosspaul Inn backs on to the campsite - both handy in case of rain!

Great walking and hill climbing surrounding the site, very quiet and comfortable pitches.

The customer service really was second to none - really touched by how kind and helpful our hosts were!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: NeileenM 2 reviews from this member

As we were attending a funeral in nearby Teviothead and couldn't find a motorhome/caravan park within this area, I phoned Dave at Mosspaul and he kindly offered a space for our motorhome in his garden. He even offered his car for us to take down to he church. My husband was even given a loan of cuff links as he forgot to take his with him! The camping site is in a beautiful location and Dave and Jessie have put a lot of thought into it with providing each camping site with their own well laid out garden with excellent facilities including an immaculate toilet and power shower with radio and subtle lighting. There is also free wifi. Doggy walking in the field next door but keep dogs on lead if the sheep are nearby. A welcome pack was supplied with information about Mosspaul and chocolates etc. Thanks again Dave and Jessie for your hospitality.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VangoMan02 21 reviews from this member

Just returned from a short break at this amazing site. I had a really nice private pitch called the Orchard. I also had hookup for my coolbox.

The whole place is kept in great condition and the facilities are spotless.

The shower is nice and warm with several spray options ( would love a shower like this at home), with a loo and sink next door to that, and a neat small kitchen area with sink for washing dishes, also has a microwave for campers use.

There are 9 pitches in total with only 4 or 5 being used at anyone time. You can hire a firepit, chimenea or barbeque which are very reasonably priced.

Dave and Jessie are a hardworking couple and keep this small site in excellent condition and make you very welcome.

As others have said, if you want an all singing and dancing site then this is not for you. If you want a nicely located, well kept with spotless facilities and adult only, then this will do nicely.

This is unique site in a lovely location and one I will be only to happy to return to.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wollycobbles 1 review from this member

If you like a busy campsite with lots of people to share the toilets and showers with, kids running around making lots of noise (been there done that), a club house/pub on site, lots of tacky gift shops and restaurants on your doorstep, This campsite is not for you.

If you want piece and tranquillity in a beautiful setting and feel like you are the only people on the campsite, then this is for you. The site contains just 9 pitches and in order to ensure that people are not cuing to use the use the shower/ toilet facilities they only allow a maximum of 8 campers on site at any one time.

We stayed here for four nights recently and didn't want to leave. The owners Jessie and Dave are very welcoming and friendly. The Cabin (built by Dave) and kept immaculately clean, has a toilet, wash-up area and shower that will wash every crevice :) The Cabin also contains a DVD player and DVD's you can borrow to take to your tent, books and OS Maps for local walks.

You are literally camping in someones garden. The pitches have been well thought out and are located in such a way that on most you are unlikely to have a view or be viewed by other campers. We had the super pitch which had its own fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, imaginatively located in the rear section of the garden shed. In the fridge we found a welcome gift of sparkling wine and home made chutney.

If you are green fingered (I'm not) then I'm sure you will find the campsite very interesting. All the time we where there, Jessie was busy working away planting for more of her array of fruit and veg. We sampled some of her strawberry's which where very nice (I'm sure she just forgot to provide the cream) :)

We where so impressed by this campsite, we booked again for August and looking forward to returning.

Well done Dave and Jessie.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prestorjohn 3 reviews from this member

I don't normally submit reviews after one visit to a site as I don't usually set a lot of store by first impressions, but it has to be said that Mosspaul is a 'Little Gem'.

I called in 'on spec' a week before my booking to get a feel for the place and although the owners were clearly very busy they were also welcoming and took the time to show me around.

I have since stayed and was not disappointed. The facilities are spotless and the site is very clean, tidy and well maintained.

As it was my first visit and my main interest is being on the tops of hills, I cannot yet comment on the general attractions in the area other than: Ask the owners who are genuinely friendly, approachable and highly informative.

The personal touch was evident throughout this unique garden site and also throughout my stay and made me feel genuinely welcome.

I would absolutely recommend Mosspaul but for purely selfish reasons I would be selective as to who I would recommend it to.

Mosspaul is a unique site that is run by really nice people. It was well worth the 2 1/2 hour drive to get there.

Spend some time there - You won't regret it.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


92 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!