Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cwmcuttan Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Site Reviews

Cwmcuttan Camp Site
Cwmcuttan
Cynghordy
Llandovery
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA20 0LY
Tel: 01550750262
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 23 Reviews
                10/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynnette 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, loads of space and peace! Eileen is marvellous, nothing too much trouble, so helpful and very nice. Couldn't get a signal with our sat dish but I think that was our fault, just couldn't figure it out! Had to leave after 2 nights cos husband tantrumed about no tv, (as men do), could have stayed there forever otherwise! Had wifi no problem from outside cottage, so I was happy. It is a fabulous site, going again definitely with or without tv, (and husband!)

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carlsenior 17 reviews from this member

This is our second review of Cwmcuttan since we luckily stumbled across this wonderful site in April 2012, and really this place just gets better! We have made numerous visits in the last eighteen months because we love this site so much. If you love peace and tranquillity then Cwmcuttan is the site for you, Eileen & Mark have created a haven for all sorts of wildlife, especially if you enjoy company of dozens of types of wild birds including the very nosey Red Kite, Goshawk, Swallows etc. Etc. As well as the Ducks & Chickens, not to mention the cats.

As we mentioned previously there is no TV reception (we use a Satellite Dish) but the phone signal is very good so mobile internet via a dongle is an option. Remember this is a basic site with no Toilet facilities but it does have the essentials, water, waste, a good electric hook up and Peace!

If you like relaxing then this is the place to be, sit by the pond and watch the hundreds of fish, just chill out and watch the world pass by, always immaculate, Eileen & Mark look forward to seeing you soon.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and Julie 1 review from this member

A beautifully quiet site. We have over the last 25 years spent many nights on various sites around the U. K. And this must rank as our favourite. The peacefulness is amazing and the wildlife abundant with red kites and buzzards flying low overhead as well as kingfishers visiting the lovely little carp lake. It is kept spotlessly by the owners Mark and Eileen who are only to willing to make your stay a happy one. Try it, you won't regret it, We haven't and can't wait to stay there again. A little slice of paradise.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carlsenior 17 reviews from this member

After stumbling across the Cwmcuttan website whilst looking for somewhere just for one night myself & partner thought we'd give it a try.

To be honest there's nothing bad I can say about this site! probably the only downside is that there is absolutely nothing there (which is what we wanted) it's one of the nicest sites to 'chill out' that we've ever been on!

There are five or six hard-standing pitches with a good power supply and well maintained road and grass areas, Chemical waste disposal fresh water and rubbish disposal facilities are all within easy reach. You have a lovely pond stocked with Carp to sit around and there are chickens & ducks in pens too. The owners are really friendly and seem as if they will do anything to help! Locally you have the Heart of Wales railway (Cynghordy Station within 5 minutes walk) to travel between Swansea & Shrewsbury and a great walk to see the impressive Cynghordy Viaduct which is probably just over a mile away -

All this for 11 per night !

We used a satellite dish to get tv and there was full signal on our mobiles.

Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joecroft2 6 reviews from this member

We had our first visit there in August, we thought it was a lovely site, all pitches have hardstandings lots of space between pitches, the road is also solid. You wont get TV with an aerial, but you will with a satellite dish. The phone signal was very good on 3 and vodafone, so I was able to use my laptop with a dongle. They also have a pond on site stocked with carp, you are not allowed to fish for them, but you can feed them and they will consume a full loaf of bread as fast as you can throw it in! We would definitely go there again it was so peaceful and relaxing

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

I had two objectives when visiting this site for a couple of nights - to try out my new utility tent before making a fool of myself at an upcoming meet, and to chill out. And I'm not sure I could have picked a better site, except for the weather which seemed to involve rain every couple of hours. Oh well.Can't have everything.

As mentioned elsewhere, there are no toilet/shower facilities so I knew the utility tent would get a good testing. The water/waste disposal/recycling point is in the middle of the site which slopes down to the pond but the hard-standing pitches I drove on seemed to be level and I found a level bit of grass for my tent easily. No digital reception on my little portable TV but radio reception OK; mobile/3G reception was fine.

Spent plenty of time watching the wagtails and swallows flying around the van, and went for a couple of short walks around the lanes and paths around the site. Even had a steam train come past Saturday afternoon, albeit a bit earlier than scheduled so never got to the small platform 5 minutes walk away to see it close up.

Will definitely be returning - I didn't visit the viaduct nearby this time nor Llyn Brianne. Llandovery is about a 5-10 minute drive away and worth a visit.

Probably the most peaceful site I've visited so far. There were 3 other pitches occupied this weekend and I had no problem booking last minute. Eileen was very helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 41 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to Cwmcuttan and we took our friends in their caravan as well this time and they loved it too. We stayed there over the August Bank Holiday week, but it still felt quiet and away-from-it-all. The fact that there is no television reception is a bonus for us, if we wanted to watch TV we would stay at home!
We love to be able to sit outside in the evenings watching the birds feeding on the insects over the lake as well as feeding the fish ourselves. There are so many walks in the area, you could do a different one every day of the year and the views are magnificent.
Even though it rained 6 days out of the 7 that we were there we still managed to visit quite a bit of the area and also took the train ride in to Swansea, just for the experience of flagging down the train as it arrived at Cynghordy station!
Eileen and Mark have made this site in to a little gem, hopefully it will stay that way.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John18 2 reviews from this member

I regularly return to Cwmcuttan as it definitely grows on you. I have Sky TV and then the TV reception is perfect as we like our TV.

We like to walk the dogs and theres an abundance of forest walks nearby and they are generally quiet so the dogs can run free without worrying. I have 2 Great Danes so they can run to their hearts content. Eileen and Mark are cool with well behaved dogs so another reason why we return regularly.

If you like relaxing with wonderful views, quiet and wildlife this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan P 29 reviews from this member

This is a beautifully maintained certified site five miles outside Llandovery. There are no toilets or showers so you need to be self contained. The site has 5 hardstanding pitches set in well mown grass. All have 16 amp hookup. There is no tv signal so take the dvd player ! The area is abundant with wild life and we saw kites and buzzards above the site. There is a pond with carp, koi carp and golden rudd which come up to be fed with bread. It is one of the most beautiful and peaceful sites I have ever stayed at with the friendliest owners.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zozzer 21 reviews from this member

Initially booked for three nights, we found one night was enough. Whilst we were fully aware that the site lacked toilets and showers, we didn't realise that terestial TV reception was none existant, which for us was a bit of a disaster, and only added to the pressure of investing in a one of those suitcase satelite dishes for times like this. However for some this may be appealling getting away from the little one eyed monster in the living room.

As others have remarked, this is a fledging site, but it's good to see that access to the site is good and the pitches are harding. There no danger of getting stuck on this site, not even with a large RV.

As other have said, there is an abundance of wildlife around the area. And in the short time we stayed we saw Buzzard, Red Kite and Tree Creepers at the site.

Close by a visit to Llyn Brianne Reservoir is well worth it, the views are spectactular.

If you like to get away from litterly everything at the weekend, then this site maybe for you.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Carmarthenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019