Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Winshields Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Winshields Farm
Military Road
Bardon Mill
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE47 7AN
Tel: 01434 344243
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BoostW 1 review from this member

When we first arrived we handed in money for our group but felt like our reception was not the warmest and owners seemed unsure. Facilities were okay they were open through the night and were fairly clean, shower was a decent size. The pub down the road was useful as we were able to go out and it was a great place to watch the football and have a drink. The camping field was a good size and we were able to play with the football that they provided which was good. Overall the cafe was fairly expensive so probably should have avoided that and we did not see the owners a lot, I may return but I do think I can find better.

From Boost x

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Argentum66 8 reviews from this member

Great little site just off Hadrian's Wall and perfect whilst trekking the HW path. Camping field near to main road, although not too busy at night.

Toilet, shower and other facilities shared with small bunkhouse, but all spotless. Lovely shower, very welcome after a wet day walking. Drying room on site, brilliant for those wet clothes.

Owners are very welcoming and operate a small cafe on site where you can get a breakfast etc. Twice Brewed Inn a short walk away for your evening meal and entertainment. £6 per night.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynnehigg 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights over the Jubilee weekend with my family and had a lovely time. The site was very welcoming and although quite basic, perfect for what we wanted. There is plenty of space with 3 good sized fields and although there were limited amenities for both male and females we never had to wait for bathroom space.

Haltwhistle is only a 5-10min drive down the road with good shopping facilities for supplies. We had a trip to Hexham which was lovely also and roughly 20mins drive.

Hadrianís wall is a 1/2 mile walk up the footpath at the side of the camp and I believe is at its highest peak with breath-taking views of the surrounding countryside!

The Twice brewed pub down the road is a perfect place to keep warm in the early evening. Drinks were reasonable although we found the menu to be quite pricey and therefore chose not to eat there.

I would definitely go back, great value for money, friendly staff and fab location.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snailspace 8 reviews from this member

When I first arrived I wasn't sure about this place because it's next to a main road and quite exposed. But I really like it. Arrived after a day of cycling and the owner kept the tea room open longer so we could have tea and cake.

We found a nice flat pitch with a view of Hadrian's wall. There are three fields to camp in so although there are slopes you're bound to find a flat pitch.

Also there a few portaloos scattered around which saves walking back to the farm where the toilet block is. Facilities aren't fancy but they do the job.

There are only two showers so there was a bit of queue. Best for me was the cooked breakfast in the morning in the tea room. Great to start another day of cycling.

It's a family run affair (grandma-granddaughter) and they're friendly folk. The Twice Brewed pub is excellent for real ales and the menu looked good too (though a little pricey), friendly staff too with a congrgation of walkers, locals, and tourists.

Great location to Hadrian's wall, Vindolanda and the Once Brewed Tourist Information centre.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geology123 3 reviews from this member

Planned to stay for three nights but only went for one in the end. Location is excellent only a few minutes from best bits of the wall.

Noisy campers and sloping pitch put us off any longer stay, facilities OK they consist of 2 showers/sinks and toilets, cafe rather expensive.

You are paying for location at this one. Steep 15 minutes to wall but great starting point.

Plenty of room and most people were hikers staying for one night, road quite noisy but cars/lorries rare.

Pub serves good food (desserts rather expensive for what you get). Had to wait for a table, WiFi not working at my visit.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy22w 4 reviews from this member

I was hiking the Hadrian's Wall path, so this was my intended stop for the Steel Rigg overnight stay. It's about half a mile off the path (you need to come down from the crag), and is very big.

Owners very pleasant. For a campground with 60 pitches, they could probably do with a few more facilities. Only two showers. There is a toilet block, and there are some portaloos dotted around the place.

A lot of the campspace is sloping; I guess that's fine if you are in a caravan. The views are brilliant.

They have a tearoom, which offers breakfast to campers in the mornings.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chaz232 2 reviews from this member

The camping ground is in an ideal location for the Twice Brewed Pub which serves great food and beer. The campsite itself is large with plenty of space and easy access to Hadrians Wall. There is also a small tea room/reception that serves good food at reasonable prices just what you need with a hard days walking in front of you. However the toilets and showers looked as though they had not been cleaned for some considerable time. The portable toilets that are dotted around the site were overflowing with solid waste. The state of the toilets and showers let the whole campsite down, it could be a excellent place to stay for a few days but one night was more than enough. We had stayed at a number of small very basic campsites before this and all were very clean, so in my opinion the owners need to sort the sanitary arrangements.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 475 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend at that great little campsite. There are two large camping fields which are flat and well kept.

Showers and toilets are adequate. Site owners really friendly and welcoming. It costs £7 per person, per night.

It is perfectly located for exploring Hadrian's Wall: the site is a very short walk for some of the best remains, situated on the B6318.

The Twice Brewed pub is a couple of minutes walk away and serves decent food and drink. Haltwhistle is a bigger town and is a couple of miles away.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emm+Ess 2 reviews from this member

As other reviews have said, this is a very basic site. There are two large fields and a smaller area outside the farmhouse; all have slopes but some flat areas. We paid £6 per person per night and 50p for our tent per night. It's right beneath Hadrian's Wall, a working sheep farm.

We pitched in the middle field, on the top of the slope near the fence. There were two portaloos a little way away, but we preferred to go to the farm buildings. There were lots of people camping when we got there. We were going to pitch up underneath the trees by the wall in the middle field, but two guys came along and told us they'd move their tents that morning after being there for one night, as it got very boggy when it rained. So we moved.

The road nearby is quite quiet, didn't bother us at all. The facilities at the farm buildings are basic. The ladies' had two toilets, hand dryer, 3 sinks and a shower, which was really lovely and hot and free! My male partner said the one toilet cubicle in the men's was tricky, as there was usually a queue even though there's a urinal. But his shower was also good. There are two sinks outside with hot and cold water for washing up, although there wasn't a plug that fit, so I couldn't fill up the sink, just kept pushing the tap (it doesn't run continuously) to rinse and scrubbed without warning.

I ate breakfast one morning in the coffee shop; bacon and egg sarnie which was realy good, if a bit dear at £3. I didn't go in the camping barn or use the shop, but I did hear that. They loan out sleeping bags if yours gets wet. Everyone who worked on the farm that we saw seemed friendly.

The one massive bonus about this campsite is that it's about 2 minutes' walk from a pub called The Twice Brewed Inn. Serves really good food at reasonable prices and the real ale is just brilliant. I had 'Matfen Magic' every night, which was delicious. The bar also boasts about 63 varieties of rum, which we didn't try! The staff are all friendly and it really lifted our spirits after walking and camping in the wind at rain.

This campsite is good for a basic site and its location to the Wall and various walks is good. Just be careful where you pitch your tent!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Guy-rope 3 reviews from this member

The site is right on the road known locally as the military road (B6318) so is very easy to find.

There are two pitching fields however at time of our visit one of them was closed for lambing as itís a working sheep farm, so we pitched in the open one in front of farmhouse and were the only ones there camping, however later on some hikers pitched up. Ground is clay so easy to peg out most of it has a slope to it.Though.

Fee was 6 quid per adult and 50p per car, children under 10 years old go free. There appears to be no EHU hook ups at this site.

Owners friendly enough but very busy with lambing at time of our stay, however showed us around the farm buildings to the lambs that were being bottle fed while going about their business, so that was nice of them.

Facilities were in farm courtyard

Gents Toilet block - 1 toilet, 1 urinal, 3 sinks, 1 shower.

Ladies Toilet block - 2 toilets, 1 shower, probable 3 sinks

There is another shower room standing on its own however the door is made of planking that has gaps between, so door needs replacing in my opinion or facing over.

Facilities were clean but nothing fancy,( toilet blocks and dishwashing area were being painted by a friendly painter when I stayed there ready for the start of season). Water from hot taps was nice and hot, however the showers were probably 7kw electric and in my opinion need replacing or the water supply adjusting as trying to get a consistent temperature, that didnít fluctuate hot and cold, was just about impossible for me due to the fluctuation of supply flow and I was the only one using it at the time.

There is a dishwashing area between the gents and ladies too with about 3 sinks in under a roof canopy.

There is also a bunkbarn for backpackers and walkers, consisting of an open room full of beds, suited to groups I would imagine.

There is a tea room there too which does breakfast and teas for passing tourist trade, however at the time of our visit it hadnt opened up yet for the season.

Summary

A basic no frills site for camping,with a pub in reach and catering in reach, handily situated right on Hadrians wall. I would use it again.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2721 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938