Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Winshields Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bardon Mill > Winshields Farm Campsite Reviews

Winshields Farm Campsite
Military Road
Bardon Mill
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE47 7AN
Tel: 01434 344243  or  07968 102780
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hurdster 1 review from this member

I arranged a one night stay for 10 cyclists. This was an ideal location as we were cycling the Hadrians cycleway. 10 cyclists in a 12 bed bunkhouse, accommodation was clean and was an absolute bargain

At a fraction of B&B prices, added a breakfast for less than £20 a person. We arrived around 6pm and quickly got showered and sorted for a few well deserved drinks. Shower and toilet facilities are basic but are very adequate. Iona the owner was very helpful and friendly, offered us a hot cuppa before our breakfast. Well recommended for location and cost,

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jlucas 4 reviews from this member

We camped at Winshields for 7 days using it as a base to visit much of Hadrian's Wall and the associated Roman antiquities around the area. This site is more or less right in the middle of all you want to see and was very handy from that point of view. Add to that the wonderful informality of the site and the friendliness of the owners and it all adds up to the best place to camp for visiting the area. The breakfasts in the on-site cafe were excellent, and the toilet, shower and washing up facilities, though not 5 star, were good enough for our requirements.

A great place to stay, and we would love to make a return visit sometime.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

A good site on Hadrian's Wall and popular with DofE groups. We used the camping barn and tent fields - both did the job fine. Facilities are rather run-down, so £9 per person for camping is a little steep. Lovely cafe for breakfast. Excellent walks from the site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jrtonks 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here on the third night of our Hadrian's Wall walk. There are several fields and the pitches are absolutely fine. The facilities leave a bit to be desired - the gents toilet block was dirty and the cubicles so small my knees rested against the door (and a local high school group seemed to be having a party in it). I had to disconnect the farmyard hose to use the water tap. It was our most expensive site too and I regret not the best value for money. That said, the site is fine for hikers and the pub down the road serves excellent beer.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nxnleon123 7 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite in the Northumberland National Park. Free to pitch the tent wherever we wanted in one of at least two large fields. The campsite owner is lovely and very flexible - there were no complaints about us arriving near to midnight!

Didn't use the showers, but they looked good. The toilet facilities were good. There is also a room with a table and chairs for visitors to take shelter from the rain (and midges - bring a head net!).

Food is available from an on site cafe and there was a drying room.

The only thing I would suggest as an improvement is to get recycling facilities. If there were any, we didn't see them. It is important to take care of the environment - without it we wouldn't have beautiful places like this to visit. It could also be a good idea to get a hand dryer in the toilet, or provide a handtowel so that less paper towels are used, or possibly compost/recycle used towels.

Other than that, great campsite and would definitely recommend it. Also near to the National Park Visitor Centre which is great.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamanda 6 reviews from this member

A wonderful camp site set in the most beautiful situation below the highest point of Hadrian's wall.

I think the shower block was cleanest I have ever come across at a camp site ever!

Breakfast is available as are packed lunches if you are walking, though we didn't use them.

A short walk to the Twice Brewed pub serving good food if you're too worn out to cook (or if the weather is like it was one day we were there!)

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iggyg 5 reviews from this member

This is our favourite campsite near to where we live. We often go here for a relaxing weekend or week depending on time of year/work etc. We have introduced several friends to camping at this site in the last few years.

It is great to be able to pitch anywhere as you don't want to be on top of other campers. The site is very peaceful and great for letting children play safely. The facilities are always clean and in good working order - plenty of hot water etc. The little tea room on site is lovely too.

One of the main things we enjoy is being able to walk out of the site straight on to the Roman Wall and surrounding area.

A real gem of a site which we visit over and again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Les123 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights for the Persoids. This was perfect for us as when it got dark we had a fantastic view.

If you turn left when you come out the campsite, there's a pub along the road, not far to walk, just remember to take a torch as walking back its very dark. My hubby had a head lamp.

The pub if you turn right from the campsite is quite away to walk

The site caters for a variety of people no matter how big or small your tent or vehicle is and they welcome hikers as well

The showers and toilets are top rate when it has been a rainy and windy night. My Husband and I found this a welcome relief

There are two porta loos which we used during the night, as it is quite a walk to the toilets in the shower block.

There were a few picnic tables dotted around, we dragged one to where we were camped

Bins for rubbish were within easy reach

We only used the shop once when we got there to buy milk. The cafe had a few tables in it

The owner came round on a morning and said hello One time he asked if we were okay as it was quite hairy on the Saturday night with the wind and rain

Now we have been to this site twice and both times we really enjoyed it

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheery walker 1 review from this member

Although this is a fairly basic campsite, we chose it for it's beautiful setting near to Hadrian's Wall and although the site is alongside the Military Road, this wasn't a problem for us, we hardly noticed the traffic. The views of the surrounding countryside were spectacular and we initially intended to stay for a week but unfortunately we had to leave after one night because of a noisy group of young people, drinking and playing loud music into the night! Such a shame that a few can spoil it for the many and go unchecked!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevlad 1 review from this member

Very pleased with service. I arrived at about 1900hrs after a gruelling hike. Owners of site were very friendly and pleased to see me. Very good facilities and welcome. Hot showers. Very family friendly and has some outstanding views and walks. Toilets are kept clean every day. Owner has a ride around on his quad bike in the mornings to see if everyone is ok. Good pub only a few yards away, does top bar meals. Also good access to various parts of the wall including steel rigg, sycamore gap and housteads.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2640 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019