Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swaledale Yurts (was Park House Camping)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Keld > Swaledale Yurts (was Park House Camping) Reviews

Swaledale Yurts (was Park House Camping)
Keldpark House
Keld
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6DZ
Tel: 01748 886549
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jillygumbo 14 reviews from this member

 Sheltered site near stream, so midges! Midge traps installed by owners but still evident. Beautiful small site, 6 level pitches with Ehu, picnic benches and fire pits on each. Didn't see a static but there are 3 Mongolian yurts. Additional area for camping, slightly sloping. Cars not allowed on tent area but not a problem. Bunk barn and eating, sitting, cooking barn with microwave, kettle etc. Lovely showers although the new ones are a tad small for the larger person! Wonderful meals available from the House if you're too tired to cook or just need a change. Would love to visit again. In a beautiful part of Yorkshire Dales and 4. 5 miles from Tan Hill Inn. Good value for money.

On the Coast to Coast route. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: MAKEMBABE 13 reviews from this member

 This is our bolthole when life gets too much, have been here many times over the years and it just keeps on getting better, they have now got 3 showers and 3 toilets and 3 Yurts now with Electric if wanted, its a case of watch this site and see what next happens as I said it only gets better can't wait for next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prestorjohn 3 reviews from this member

 I stopped at this camp site a number of years ago (pre Yurt) whilst coast to coasting and have fond memories of feral chickens. No feral chickens this time but still a pleasant experience.

On this occasion I brought a larger tent and took the Electric Hook Up option which was realistically priced at £3. 50 per night as opposed to some of the extortionate rates I have encountered.

The owners are pleasant and helpful without being overbearing. (As is the case with some of the other sites that I have visited).

The site itself is very clean and the toilet / washing / shower facilities are absolutely fine.

The Campers Barn is a fabulous idea particularly for those who are going light weight and donít relish the thought of a cramped evening before continuing there trek the following day.

I didnít avail myself of the reasonably priced menu but will probably do so on my next visit.

As far as midges are concerned, I feel that the only long term solution is a good dose of Napalm but as that would do neither the environment nor the campers any good, then the midge traps accompanied by a frequent application of Insect Repellent are sufficient.

The area itself caters for most tastes from a gentle riverside meander to a muscle burning fell run.

All in all a very pleasant experience and one which I hope to repeat very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WILBUR76 2 reviews from this member

 Park House campsite is in a beautiful location. On arrival was met by Ian who was very accommodating as we had not pre-booked. Facilities were very well kept and close at hand. Campers barn on site with tables chairs and sofas as well as free use of kettle and microwave. Lots of information about local area.

Washing machine available for a small fee. Breakfast and evening meals catered for or alternatively you can visit the local pub which is only a short walk.

Nice local waterfall very close to campsite where you can have a swim. Had a problem with Midges however Ian did give us a Midge torch to use free of charge. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EBennett 2 reviews from this member

 Great little campsite in a stunning location!

Good points:

Great location by the river, clean facilities with free showers, friendly helpful owners who make delicious home cooked food (incase you don't feel like cooking), dry barn to shelter in if it's very wet. Yes there were midges in the evenings but it was fine if you wore repellent(they even sell it at the site).

Bad point:

Only one: although there weren't a huge number of people, it got very crowded at times with tents too close together, as it's a very small site. This wasn't as a result of backpackers arriving (I think it's good they don't turn away walkers), but people with cars, so avoidable.

Would definitely like to come back again, though maybe not at the weekends in the school holidays! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anne 1 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this campsite for a short break in July. We had a pitch with EHU. It's a small site in a lovely setting and the owners are friendly and helpful.

The site offers 2 areas for showering, one, near the house is small and very basic and includes shower/sink and toilet. The other is slightly more modern around the back of the barn. This has a shower with separate toilet and basin and also includes a washing machine. It looks like it's just been fitted out but not completely finished off properly.

There is plenty of hot water and there isn't an extra charge for the showers. There is one sink for washing up which isn't under cover. There is also a barn area with seating.

Whilst we were there, we met some people staying in the Yurt who said it was fantastic, they also ordered food from the owner who brings it to your tent, they said it was delicious. We visited the Keld Lodge Hotel further along the road which was lovely too.

All in all, it's a great little site, midges are a real problem but can't be helped. I think it would benefit from cleaning up a bit more, cobweb dusting etc. I know it's basic and cheap but I think all facilities should be spotless.

The surrounding area and scenery is superb. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleedale 8 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site in stunning scenery. There were a couple of campervans and another tent when we pitched up, and space was limited as we wanted EHU. The other end of the site without EHU was more spacious. Good ground for pitching, easy pegging.

There are two toilets and two showers, both kept very clean, lots and lots and lots of hot water in the showers and one shower room even has a radiator - luxury. No charge for showers.

There is an outside washing up sink, again lashings of hot water. For campers who want a bit of inside comfort, there is a barn with sofas tables etc, comfy and definitely not posh.

The site also has a bunk barn which we didn't see, and a new yurt, which looks lovely, especially with meals delivered to the door!

As for position, well, it's just stunning. Not far off the Pennine Way route, a short walk to Keld, nothing much there, but you can get a few basics at the shop of the other campsite, and Muker is only 4 miles away, with a small general village store.

Otherwise it's a trip to Kirkby Stephen, 10 miles away so for our short trip we took everything we needed.

There aren't any special facilities for children, no play area, swings etc, and the small road runs along the top of the site, but it is a minor road with mostly farm traffic, quad bikes, landrovers etc, along with a few cars but nothing major.

We are not hill walkers or long distance hikers, but we enjoyed a couple of nice shortish walks from the campsite.

The site is well maintained, cared for and a nice place to be. We had rain, sleet, hail and snow, but we did have some sunshine, it is April, and it is the high end of the Dales. We will go back I'm sure.

Best bits: position, peace, scenery, showers, owners.

Not so good bits : EHU pitches very close together, but with all that space around you, well, not too much of a problem and they do state on their website that they can't take very wide tents. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrisnBarb 1 review from this member

 We decided to have a 'last weekend in 2011' camping trip when we heard the weather was going to be so good. I found this little gem on UKCampsite.co.uk and it sounded perfect. Quiet, remote and small.

We had two beautiful days there. The scenery is fantastic, it's a beautiful area and one we will certainly return to. The campsite was very small, but that made it seem more friendly and relaxing. The site is right beside the River Swale and it was lovely listening to the water flowing. I understand the owners Ian and Michelle were very new and felt they had a high standard to live up to, given the very good reviews, but they needn't worry. They were very friendly and helpful, offered food etc (although we had our own and didn't eat with them), and kept the two showers and toilets clean and well stocked with loo roll and hand wash etc.

There is a washing up sink and there was never any queueing for the facilities. They have four ducks waddling around the site, which gave us no end of pleasure watching their antics. Although we were close to the road, any traffic was more or less gone by sundown. We can't say we noticed any noise and certainly had a good night's sleep each night.

The only negative point I would say is that the proximity to the river and the fact there is a rather steep slope down to it, would mean small children would need to be watched carefully near the edge. That said, there were a couple of small children on the site whilst we were there and they had ample room to run around and seemed quite safe. There is no children's play area but then it is a rather small site. A very nice touch is having your own picnic table beside the pitch. There is also a large barn area set out with tables etc in case the weather is wet and where you can take your meal to eat in the dry. All in all a lovely little campsite and certainly one to recommend if you like peace and relaxation on a small site. Thank you Michelle and Ian and we wish you good luck with your new venture. You have a winner there. Kind regards 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The_Muso 9 reviews from this member

 We visited this site whilst walking the Herriot Way. Having had a very long and hot day walking over Great Shunner we were very tempted by Ruskins site as we passed that first, however I'd spoken to Heather a few days before to book/let her know we were coming so plodded on the extra quarter mile. Possibly the best decision we made that trip (I'm sure Ruskins is nice too. )

On arrival we were greeted by Heather who showed us to a space she had kept for us, flat as a bowling green just by the river. The site is tiny, you feel like you are camping in their front garden, but all around you are the hills of upper Swaledale - you certainly feel cut off from the world here.

After giving us the rundown on facilities she offered us some food. The only other place for food in Keld is Keld Lodge, which looked a bit upmarket for a couple of tired backpackers. Heather sorted us out with chilli, curry and pitta breads, and a couple of bottles of black sheep ale, served outside our tent on a picnic bench as the sun was setting. Perfect.

She also took our breakfast orders (bacon and egg rolls delivered to our tent) and made us a packed lunch for the next day. She wins the prize for favourite person on the trip. The site is compact but perfect for the backpacker.

Facilities are 2 shower rooms with toilet, one attached to the house and one in an outbuilding that serves as shelter for people to eat/drink and shelter from the rain of an evening. This building also had laundry facilities.

The bathroom attached to the house seemed to have a better shower, like having your own real bathroom - no 50p required here. The location and hospitality here can't be beaten, when I get around to doing the Pennine way this place is on my list.

Good points: Hospitality and food. Most pitches seemed flat and ground was good. Stunning location away from the rest of the world. Black sheep beer available. What more can I say?

Bad points: None really, small capacity means you don't need lots of toilets/showers. Only bad thing is that the site might get full and you won't be able to stay there. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familycamper21 6 reviews from this member

 We have to write a review to thank Heather and Steve for running such a wonderful campsite but part of us doesn't want to tell anyone as it is a real hidden gem!

It is a site in a beautiful part of the world on the banks of the Swale. There is no internet or mobile coverage so you can escape from the rest of the world.

The site does cater mainly for those walking the coast to coast or Penine Way and is basic but that is part of its charm. Do not come here looking for a ritzy site with entertainment.

The owners are great hosts and offer delicious food at very reasonable prices - just what we needed one day after taking two hours to put up our tent in a gale and a few days later at the end of an all day hike.

The site can be a bit windy but that is to be expected and when the sun shines there can be no more beautiful a place.

Our children made friends with two other little boys and they all spent their time doing what little boys should be doing in their holidays, playing with sticks, climbing and finding dead mice and sheep skulls!

There is a lot of wildlife round the site and the sound of the curlews in the evening is wonderful.

It is very isolated and a long way from any substantial shops but again that is exactly what we were looking for.

We cannot wait to visit again and wish Heather and Steve all the very best in their future endeavours. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swaledale Yurts (was Park House Camping) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swaledale Yurts (was Park House Camping)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Swaledale Yurts (was Park House Camping) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keld      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2192 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement