Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park House Camping & Swaledale Yurts

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmondshire > Park House Camping & Swaledale Yurts Reviews

Park House Camping & Swaledale Yurts
Keld
Richmondshire
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6DZ
Tel: 01748 886549
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Santos16 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little find, the owners could not do enough for you, very friendly and welcoming. Located at the side of river with waterfalls all around the site and walks from site really good, honesty cafe in Keld out of this world, steep road in from Tan Hill so drive with care we managed it with 7m Motorhome. Shower and toilet clean and plenty of warm water. Will be returning, thank you. Good electric supply struggled with phone and WiFi. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hodsocks 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic place to stay you can see how hard those folk work to make your stay as comfortable as they do and it works so well. Will return again you just have to. Keld has always been difficult to book a place to stay. Walked coast to coast in 2006 had to walk this section backward as no room at inn. Now Keld bunk barn is born long may you continue Keld bunk barn

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MattRH 1 review from this member

 I was looking for a campsite where we could get away from it all (mid August 2016), but still enjoy showers and an electric hookup for our tent (we used our additional extension cable)

Hills/roads can get steep near the site but that just made it more fun for us, or was that just me?

Fully equipped kitchen and dining room there for everyone to use - Fridge/freezer, microwave, hob, etc.

Good showers (modern, separate rooms/cubicles).

Very beautiful area, plenty of footpaths to explore.

Stayed in our large family tent, which may not have been ideal for the small(ish) camping area, buy we liked the friendly atmosphere on the site.

Our 2 boys (4 y. O. ) made lots of friends to play with.

You can also order drinks and meals during your stay, which we were told were very good - about £8 for a main.

I was going to give this 8:10 for because of the midges coming from the stream next to the site, but this couldn't be helped and a good solution was to light a fire and sit near the smoke in the evening and use insect repellent. The owners could not have done more to deal with this occasional problem, installing hi-tech midge traps around the site and making 'Smidge' midge repellent available to everyone.

Michelle would do anything for you and even lent us extra blankets after the first night, as we found that our airbed didn't stop the cold coming through from the ground at this higher elevation - 4 miles from Tan Hill Inn (highest pub in Britain).

Almost didn't leave a review so it didn't get too busy.

Would go back there tomorrow. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 48 reviews from this member

 This charming little site was home for the final night of our 1 week tour around the waterfalls of the Dales. Our pitch with EHU was £15 for the night (or maybe £17? I forget).

Rainby Force is actually ON SITE and is great for swimming. Wainwath Force is a 1 minute walk upstream and was also great for a dip. We spent our day of departure on a fool's mission in the wet and mud to see Catrake Force and Kisdon Force which are a bit further down - but totally worth it.

Essentials and booze are available to buy from the house, and our cider and wine even came with real glasses and an ice bucket! Now that is Glamping.

We cook all our own food so didn't take advantage of the evening meals or breakfasts but I bet that's a real treat. The pub - Keld Lodge - is an easy walk (but take a torch for your return journey!). We toyed with the idea of hiring the hot tub but didn't in the end - but again, I imagine that is bliss.

The toilets and showers are a bit poky and could probably do with being cleaned more often, but I realise with so many walkers they must be difficult to keep clean. One of the blocks didn't have a light bulb! Hope this got fixed quickly. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clive + Jean 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely location for this small, but delightful site. Yes, the shower/toilet facilities are for the smaller-built among us but the riverside location and the landscape more than compensate. Weather bordered on the misty and moisty but we were untroubled by the midges we were warned about.

Food and drink are handy at the farmhouse and breakfast baguettes can be served to your temporary abode. The yurts (3) look interesting but we were in our vintage (1972 Made In Poland BEL) 2-person frame tent which weathered well although not having been used for some time, re-proofing is called for plus new pegs!

Unsure about number of hook-ups etc. As we are basic campers with no need for electricity.

The approach to the site from Kirkby Stephen is rather scary along the smallest, narrowest B road we've ever encountered. I've been on farm tracks that were more spacious. Really tricky driving and to get any sort of speed up, especially in poor weather would be hazardous.

There is a pub within 10 minutes walk but really all ones wants, even beer can be supplied by the owners. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne F 4 reviews from this member

 Perfect bliss! Owners have only been here a short time but they know what they are doing. Location and surroundings are wild but the most beautiful I have ever seen. Who wouldn't want to lay in bed looking down Swaledale? Didnt try the evening meals but had a lovely bacon butty. What a sight seeing someone walking across to your tent with a tray of bacon sandwiches and a pot of real coffee. Toilets and showers were clean and warm. Owners gave us a good map and route to try to Muker and back. Best walk we've ever done in the Dales. Perhaps the Sunday lunch halfway in Muker helped? Didnt really use the barn as we had a roomy tent but realise it was useful for walkers as the weather was very changeable. The best bit? The peace and quiet. The owners made it clear they were a site for walkers etc and not a site for night owls. Had some lovely nights sleep and the Coast to Coasters who got up early were very considerate and kept very quiet. Will definitely go back. In fact, thinking of booking a yurt for our planned Herriot walk in 2016. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jillygumbo 14 reviews from this member

 Sheltered site near stream, so midges! Midge traps installed by owners but still evident. Beautiful small site, 6 level pitches with Ehu, picnic benches and fire pits on each. Didn't see a static but there are 3 Mongolian yurts. Additional area for camping, slightly sloping. Cars not allowed on tent area but not a problem. Bunk barn and eating, sitting, cooking barn with microwave, kettle etc. Lovely showers although the new ones are a tad small for the larger person! Wonderful meals available from the House if you're too tired to cook or just need a change. Would love to visit again. In a beautiful part of Yorkshire Dales and 4. 5 miles from Tan Hill Inn. Good value for money.

On the Coast to Coast route. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MAKEMBABE 13 reviews from this member

 This is our bolthole when life gets too much, have been here many times over the years and it just keeps on getting better, they have now got 3 showers and 3 toilets and 3 Yurts now with Electric if wanted, its a case of watch this site and see what next happens as I said it only gets better can't wait for next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prestorjohn 3 reviews from this member

 I stopped at this camp site a number of years ago (pre Yurt) whilst coast to coasting and have fond memories of feral chickens. No feral chickens this time but still a pleasant experience.

On this occasion I brought a larger tent and took the Electric Hook Up option which was realistically priced at £3. 50 per night as opposed to some of the extortionate rates I have encountered.

The owners are pleasant and helpful without being overbearing. (As is the case with some of the other sites that I have visited).

The site itself is very clean and the toilet / washing / shower facilities are absolutely fine.

The Campers Barn is a fabulous idea particularly for those who are going light weight and donít relish the thought of a cramped evening before continuing there trek the following day.

I didnít avail myself of the reasonably priced menu but will probably do so on my next visit.

As far as midges are concerned, I feel that the only long term solution is a good dose of Napalm but as that would do neither the environment nor the campers any good, then the midge traps accompanied by a frequent application of Insect Repellent are sufficient.

The area itself caters for most tastes from a gentle riverside meander to a muscle burning fell run.

All in all a very pleasant experience and one which I hope to repeat very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WILBUR76 2 reviews from this member

 Park House campsite is in a beautiful location. On arrival was met by Ian who was very accommodating as we had not pre-booked. Facilities were very well kept and close at hand. Campers barn on site with tables chairs and sofas as well as free use of kettle and microwave. Lots of information about local area.

Washing machine available for a small fee. Breakfast and evening meals catered for or alternatively you can visit the local pub which is only a short walk.

Nice local waterfall very close to campsite where you can have a swim. Had a problem with Midges however Ian did give us a Midge torch to use free of charge. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and will return in the future. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Park House Camping & Swaledale Yurts child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Park House Camping & Swaledale Yurts?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Park House Camping & Swaledale Yurts dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmondshire      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020