Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site Reviews

The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site
Easton Royal
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5LR
Tel: 01672 810216  or  07968 580804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildhunter 7 reviews from this member

 This pub is in a lovely setting, the pitches are flat, the Landlord very helpful and chatty, we had a lovely peaceful time most of the time we were there.

If I have a criticism it is that while the campsite has only a few units it copes well, when the site fills up the facilities are not really sufficient. The toilet/shower block wasn't cleaned or the bins emptied over the 6 nights we were there. However the washing machine is a definite bonus!

The toilet block has a design fault in that the urinal is very close to the sink and the door to the gents, so gentlemen please be aware that other people can see you while they are doing the washing up!

On the Friday night of our stay the site suddenly filled up, this meant that our new neighbours parked their caravan practically on our guylines and the toilet/shower block became seriously inadequate for the number of people.

Having said all the negative stuff (sorry) I would still recommend the site to anyone wanting a quiet stay on a well maintained site in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. The pub looked great too! Though our schedule didn't give us time to use it. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heyholetsgosd 12 reviews from this member

 Great visit again. Clean facilities, flat level field. No local food options but would recommend Marlborough to stock up on supplies where there are specialist independent shops, great butcher, baker and great coffee shop/ lunch stop.

We love great coffee and fresh food it is fun to discover local gems on our travels. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teresa Jordan 1 review from this member

 So wanted to get away from it all and we managed it when we went for a weekend to the Bruce Arms!

The site was flat and sheltered and off a busy main road which was quiet at night!

A shower and toilet block with the addition of washer and dryer; should you need it. Also hook ups available.

We were met by the pub manager who was chatty and helpful. We decided to cook a meal in the van and then go over to the pub. No food available during our visit. Well for people who have had enough of load voices and music in city gastro pubs this was a gem!

Long tables and wooden benches and a lounge like a Victorian sitting road it was so quaint!

The locals were nosey; but who cares!They were so friendly!We laughed and chatted all evening drinking the local brew;Pigswill;can you believe it!?Then a raffle!I won a plant and a pineapple!

We rode our bikes along the back roads and along the towpath of the canal to Crofton Pumping station. Also explored Pewsey and Great Bedwyn. So many little villages to see. Loved it!Especially our new friends at the Bruce who after one night we knew all by their first names. A weekend we will remember!It looks nothing from the road but inside it's a joy! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Juneviannepalmer 4 reviews from this member

 The big attraction for us in choosing this site was that it was near to Avebury (World Heritage Site)and it was sited next to the pub. The Bruce Arms is a charming, old fashioned and friendly pub. The manager Matt could not do enough for us, and the local people were really friendly. Food is available in the pub at weekends only, so were unable to sample it. There is a (very overgrown) footpath however to the village of Wootton Rivers and a very good Gastropub the Royal Oak. 10 mins drive away, max. The campsite is pleasant and flat. The toilets and showers are excellent, washing machine and washing up area also. Clean, easy to use showers and loads of hot water included in the price. No children's area. Free wi-fi though for kids to use their stuff if they sit near the pub. Nearby attractions include Avebury, Stonehenge, Silbury Hill, and West Kennett long barrow. The town of Marlborough is not far away, plus several interesting villages and hamlets, and views of the Wiltshire wHite Horses. Great walks too! Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dryac 4 reviews from this member

 A great little site. Quite busy with people coming and going over the weekend. But everyone was very pleasant including the staff.

Very clean and good shower/ toilet facilities. Electric hookup and tv reception ace, once partner had Sussed the workings of aerials out. Would definitely return.

There are some lovely walks in this area. Canal was very pleasant. No local shops etc with in easy walking distance.

Children are very welcome but here are no facilities for them. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BANJOJACK 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from what should have been a two night stay at the Bruce Arms. After parking where the owner asked us to (shouting from a upstairs window ) he then asked us to move, to get another camper in a already full field. Then the next day whilst out walking we received a phone call from the owner telling us he would like put the next camper for our pitch right next to us ! When we returned to our pitch later that day we had campers to the left & right within two meters. Very nice pub & a nice area its a real shame how it is run. We decided to leave a day early and look for a better run site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BradHeather 25 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two night weekend camping trip to the Bruce Arms. The site was lovely and peaceful and the ground was spacious and flat. The site was very quiet, and there were only a couple of other people staying each night.

The washblock is very close to the camping field and is clean and modern. It has 2 excellent showers (which cost 1 per time, payable at the bar) and male and female toilets. There was also a large washing up sink, and a washing machine (which was out of order).

The pub was quite old fashioned inside and appeared to be popular with the locals. They were all friendly and welcoming.

The site cost 4 per person per night (excl. Electricity). We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the site.

Pewsey town was a short drive away with shops including Co-op, Martins, fish and chips, chinese, kebabs, and an excellent Indian restaurant. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikecamping 8 reviews from this member

 Great little site. Level pitches. Good but small new toilet block. Other users have said the showers/washing machine is free but now it's not. There's an honesty system so if you have a shower they want 1. The site only charges 5 so it wasn't bad.

The pub opened at 6pm which is where we paid after pitching up.

The bar is great and had a lovely atmosphere with all the locals in there all chatting and throwing funny banter about.

Food was very basic(sausage and chips or scampi and chips only) but good enough.

They had a nice fire going in the pub which added to the cosy atmosphere.

In a separate room they have a pool table and table tennis table. There's also a nice little snug room.

The staff were great and we felt very welcome.

I asked about breakfast for the morning and was told about a truckstop about a mile away just south of Burbage which was perfect and cheap at 4 for a small breaky and hot drink.

I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heyholetsgosd 12 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site. We booked a few days ahead as we were planning to visit a friend who lived in Easton Royal on the way to Wales.

Arrived about 5. 30pm while the pub was closed but a friendly lady directed us to a level site in a large field that was looking out over pretty countryside. Pete, the pub landlord was celebrating twelve months at The Bruce Arms the weekend we stayed and his newly built facilities are fabulous. Spotless toilets and showers. An indoor washup area and a free washing machine. The pub does serve meals but we ate at our friends house so can not comment.

This site was so good that when we booked into another pub site about 35 miles away on our return journey and found it far inferior we packed up and returned to The Bruce Arms!

It was the middle of the afternoon so we settled into the pitch we had previously occupied and luckily when the pub opened and we went into pay the 12 nightly charge, all was fine. Good TV reception, brand new facilities, electric hook-up included. We will be going back! Fantastic site at a realistic price. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OldPJ 1 review from this member

 Great campsite level ground and grass kept short and clean with good parking. The site has new toilets with showers which is in the pitch price very clean and loads of hot water.

Kitchen sink to wash up in and a washing machine. Cold water taps around the site for drinking water. The pub landlord is very helpful and is around all day.

The pub has good beer and food on offer. We had a good weekend and will return soon.  


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2574 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement