Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site Reviews

The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site
Easton Royal
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5LR
Tel: 01672 810216  or  07968 580804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Southcoastcamper 1 review from this member

 Good location. Left to choose our own space but would have been nice if owner came out to the field with us to offer more direction on where to go.

Site massively let down by the facilities block. The mens shower was out of order, the urinal stank out the whole building and was viewable from the wash up area unless the door was shut, the sink was only a small handwash one with no soap and no plug and was far to small to wash or shave in. The ladies shower room was in a bad state of repair with mould on the walls. The toilet had a broken lock and the tiny sink had no soap or running hot water so there was no where to wash apart from the wash up sink.

On arrival at 6pm there was no paper in the ladies. When there was still none at 9. 30pm I went in to the bar and the owner immediately replaced it and a lightbulb which was also broken. It did not seem that the facilities had been cleaned at all over the weekend as by Sunday morning the ladies bin was overflowing, the toilet was dirty and the waste bin in the wash up was swarming with flies.

The area to the outside of the facilities block was rather unkempt with dog poo, assorted rubbish and a razor blade on a table.

We were aware that it was a dog friendly site but were surprised by the lack of rules surrounding how they should behave, leading to roam free around the field including onto others pitches. Although the dogs appeared friendly we did not want them on our pitch.

The permanent caravans on site were very run down in appearance and appear to be permenantly occupied. One young occupant spent a lot of time racing around on a motocross bike.

For a family of 4, the 24 a night seemed very expensive for the quality of the site compared to others we have visited. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobb 16 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 5 night stay with our caravan and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site does not boast a play area, pool, or all the rest of the 'facilities' we just don't need or want. Good, honest, camping, at a fair price.

Easy access from the Pewsey - Burbage road, and no traffic noise, and the field is level.

The loo block is small, but plenty adequate while we were there, and kept very clean.

Details of the pub and opening hours can be checked on their web site, and I can say the welcome is great, and the pub is very dog friendly.

First class real ales and open fire, great conversation.

We'll happily came back. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vicspy88 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a night and it was nice and quiet. A few electric hookups which we didn't bother with and mainly grass. There were a few caravans that seem permanent in corners of the field.

We had a view of the hill which was nice and the road is quiet. Nice walk from site to canal and Wootton Rivers (nice pub there too) there is a small block with a shower and toilet for each male and female and a communal washing up area. The shower looked clean but we didn't use it and the toilet was ok but needed a clean -if you hate cobwebs and spiders then not for you!

Would return as liked relaxed feel and nice walks. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: UKroamer 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Bruce Arms camping, not my best experience by far.

It seems this site caters mainly for workers or just long term caravanners. The site is dog friendly but unfortunately they are running around doing what dogs do all over the place. The woman opposite my tent stood talking to me while her dog urinated over my groundsheet and water bottle without even a sorry, not really proper caravaners more like travellers. There are no views other than the fern/bramble overgrown hedges.

The toilets and shower could do with a spruce up, so I chose to wash etc in my tent.

Although there is a Camping and Caravan Club sign on the wall outside I very much doubt if this site is a C/L as they have 13 pitches and fall short of Club standards.

If cost is your main criteria then it is cheap at 6. 00 per night without electric hook up. Happy camping I hope this revue is helpful. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BANDIT11 3 reviews from this member

 Decided to drive 1. 5 hours from Dorset and chose the Bruce Arms for its location near the locks. On arrival the pub is on the main road and the camping field sits behind.

The pub is tired, grass is very long and there are other caravans here that are either stored here for the winter or long termers!

The walks are amazing, lots of paths and lanes that take you for miles around the area.

We walked to the Royal Oak at Wootom Rivers which is about 2. 5 miles away. Good grub and set in a beautiful village with thatched cottages everywhere.

O yes it's 16. 00 per night and the toilets and showers are dirty and need attention. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davsato 3 reviews from this member

 Good pub with a good landlord and a nice flat well drained camping field to rear. Large bell tents are available to hire, a boules court/green whatever will be finished soon. Nice roads and paths around the local area.

Pub food was a bit hit or miss, they are not really set up for catering yet, but the local Indian delivered an excellent curry which Matt the landlord doesn't mind you eating in the pub, and supplies plates and cutlery 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VWT4Transporter 7 reviews from this member

 Having seen the previous glowing reports I have to add our thoughts.

Firstly the blurb at the top of this page states

'This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept five caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. You must be a Club member to use this site. '

There were 4 workers caravans on site in a pretty grubby state and the owner of the site let as many units on as could be squeezed in. We were never asked for any club Membership and neither were there any signs stating such.

This is a VERY basic site. It is simply a rectangular field behind a pub, nothing more. There is nothing for children. In our case there were children thumping a ball around all day and several dogs that barked on and off all day, who's owners didn't seem to care, and neither did the owner of the site. There are Hookups along one side of the field but you will have to fight your way through the Nettles and Brambles to get to them. With just One Ladies toilet cubicle and One Ladies shower, plus One men's toilet cubicle and one men's shower plus One urinal, the Toilet and shower facilities are incapable of servicing the amount of people that turned up at our weekend, and our weekend wasn't even busy, but you just couldn't get to the Toilet or tiny single washbasin until after around 11. AM. One Water Tap near the Toilets.

Their Website states FREE Wifi but that is only very close to the pub itself. The Pub itself is great, with some very nice beers and Matt is a great Landlord (Looks a Dead ringer for Harry Hill) Would we return? No. I don't ask for much but I do require sufficient toilets for the amount of people on site. There should also be a warning on their website warning parents with children that there is nothing of interest for any children on the site or even nearby. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Msaunders 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our 40th birthday camping party weekend and had a fabulous time.

Matt (the owner) was helpful and accommodating all weekend and allowed us to put on a party for 70 friends and family that everyone enjoyed.

The campsite is a nice large flat field with hook ups available. The toilet facilities are clean and tidy and looked very new.

The pub has a space for everyone to enjoy from a well equipped games room with pool and free table tennis, table football and a bull ring and hook game (ideal area for a disco). Then there is a room with lots of tables and chairs just away from the bar. The bar itself has more tables and seating and stools so you can prop up the bar and then further on is a comfortable quiet room with comfy chairs.

At the present time no food is available but my understanding was that this may change so ask before you go. In any case people in the pub were enjoying delicious smelling curries that had been delivered.

All in all a great place to have a family party with plenty of walks and cycling direct from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildhunter 7 reviews from this member

 This pub is in a lovely setting, the pitches are flat, the Landlord very helpful and chatty, we had a lovely peaceful time most of the time we were there.

If I have a criticism it is that while the campsite has only a few units it copes well, when the site fills up the facilities are not really sufficient. The toilet/shower block wasn't cleaned or the bins emptied over the 6 nights we were there. However the washing machine is a definite bonus!

The toilet block has a design fault in that the urinal is very close to the sink and the door to the gents, so gentlemen please be aware that other people can see you while they are doing the washing up!

On the Friday night of our stay the site suddenly filled up, this meant that our new neighbours parked their caravan practically on our guylines and the toilet/shower block became seriously inadequate for the number of people.

Having said all the negative stuff (sorry) I would still recommend the site to anyone wanting a quiet stay on a well maintained site in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. The pub looked great too! Though our schedule didn't give us time to use it. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heyholetsgosd 12 reviews from this member

 Great visit again. Clean facilities, flat level field. No local food options but would recommend Marlborough to stock up on supplies where there are specialist independent shops, great butcher, baker and great coffee shop/ lunch stop.

We love great coffee and fresh food it is fun to discover local gems on our travels. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement