Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Pewsey > The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site > Reviews

The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site
Easton Royal
Pewsey
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN9 5LR
Tel: 01672 810216  or  07968 580804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Brianalfred 12 reviews from this member

 What a great place! THE BEST shower block I've seen in a budget campsite - only downside is that there's just one loo and one shower in each sex (plus an additional mens' urinal) but - hey - modern very clean, even down to scented oil sticks in the loos!

Lashings of hot water - showers and washing-up all free. And there's a microwave (free use) and washing machine (pay 3).

Nothing special about the views from the site but superbly placed for walks (there's a display of around 15 local walks in the pub) or cycling - hills and canal towpath - all gradients catered for! A few walks go straight from the site.

Large number of EHUs but basic grass pitch is 9pppn (2024) -a boon to solo travellers.

When I was there a bird sang to us every evening from the tree by me- fantastic performance.

Downside, some road noise esp. At 'rush hours', very little at night.

No fridge-freezer.

Not particularly child friendly - no space even to play ball without disturbing other campers.

Little improvements could be - more hooks/shelves in showers (only 2 doubles) (there can never be enough hooks!) 


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dobber748 12 reviews from this member

 Friendly, cosy country pub with a medium size field at the rear. The area had suffered heavy rainfall when we arrived but staying to the outer edges as instructed we were fine and put to bed my fears of getting stuck.

The pub is very cosy with log fire and friendly locals but no kitchen operating out of season.

Toilet block was basic but did have a shower, toilet and sink for each gender. A washing machine is also provided which requires tokens.

The pub is ideally situated for local towns and attractions but not much in the immediate vicinity.

Ideal for a stopover on the way to the south west or just come and enjoy the pub 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mcbrad 1 review from this member

 Friendly pub. Friendly locals. Roaring log fire.

Very Dog friendly. Even had free dog biscuits!

Easy access to field at rear of pub. Quiet site.

Good as a stop over 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 3 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant stay, friendly and welcoming.

Nice stay,

Toilets and showers clean and the toilet block has a washing machine (uses tokens)

Quiet site and level.

Will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SotonMark 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 2-night weekday stay at the Bruce Arms and would return without hesitation. The French owner Stefan, his team, and the locals are very friendly and accommodating and clearly enjoy having campers visit their pub.

The site is a large, well-kept, level field at the rear of the pub with tent pitches in the middle and EH points all around the perimeter for caravans / motorhomes.

It is surrounded by hedges, has some great views across the countryside and is peaceful and reasonably sheltered.

Although we didn't use it, there is a farm shop a short drive away in the neighboring village.

The Kennet and Avon canal is a short walk from the site with lovely walks along the towpath and surrounding countryside. There is disposal point for chemical loos and fresh water tap near the showerblock.

The toilet/shower block was very well maintained but only 1 female and 1 male toilet/shower each - which presented no problem for our stay even though site was 75% occupied but could cause queues when site is full I imagine.

For a tent we were charged 8 per person per night which we felt was very good value. Apparently the pub serves legendary breakfasts at weekends and provides lunches midweek (12-3pm) but note that the pub does not serve meals, other than a small selection of filled rolls, in the evenings.

Liked: Welcoming quiet site with plenty of space. Surrounding countryside. Cleanliness of facilities. Laid back vibe of all staff and customers. Fire-pits and BBQs permitted (off ground). Good ales.

Disliked: Nothing much tbh - just the quirky layout of toilets/ showers and only small sinks in each. Would have preferred dish washing facility outside the block for hygiene reasons. (These are just niggles rather than major issues). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Celtic 1 review from this member

 A good welcome

Currently has breakfast weekend option and weekday lunches

Nice site good facilities

Nice pitch with electric hook up

Site good as a base to visit various places 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Monkeychops 1 review from this member

 The Bruce Arms has had a new owner since 2020 who has made made massive improvements to the maintenance of the site so the problems reported in past reviews have been resolved.

It's a flat field, freshly mowed when I got there, with good views over the surrounding countryside and a well-appointed toilet/shower block.

I am travelling in a micro-camper and the owner charged me the same as a small tent, 8 which I thought very fair.

The Bruce is a down-to-earth farmer's pub, cosy and friendly; I didn't eat there but the ale went down easily enough. It was quiet in mid-week but I think you probably have to book for the weekends. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Southcoastcamper 1 review from this member

 Good location. Left to choose our own space but would have been nice if owner came out to the field with us to offer more direction on where to go.

Site massively let down by the facilities block. The mens shower was out of order, the urinal stank out the whole building and was viewable from the wash up area unless the door was shut, the sink was only a small handwash one with no soap and no plug and was far to small to wash or shave in. The ladies shower room was in a bad state of repair with mould on the walls. The toilet had a broken lock and the tiny sink had no soap or running hot water so there was no where to wash apart from the wash up sink.

On arrival at 6pm there was no paper in the ladies. When there was still none at 9. 30pm I went in to the bar and the owner immediately replaced it and a lightbulb which was also broken. It did not seem that the facilities had been cleaned at all over the weekend as by Sunday morning the ladies bin was overflowing, the toilet was dirty and the waste bin in the wash up was swarming with flies.

The area to the outside of the facilities block was rather unkempt with dog poo, assorted rubbish and a razor blade on a table.

We were aware that it was a dog friendly site but were surprised by the lack of rules surrounding how they should behave, leading to roam free around the field including onto others pitches. Although the dogs appeared friendly we did not want them on our pitch.

The permanent caravans on site were very run down in appearance and appear to be permenantly occupied. One young occupant spent a lot of time racing around on a motocross bike.

For a family of 4, the 24 a night seemed very expensive for the quality of the site compared to others we have visited. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobb 19 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 5 night stay with our caravan and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site does not boast a play area, pool, or all the rest of the 'facilities' we just don't need or want. Good, honest, camping, at a fair price.

Easy access from the Pewsey - Burbage road, and no traffic noise, and the field is level.

The loo block is small, but plenty adequate while we were there, and kept very clean.

Details of the pub and opening hours can be checked on their web site, and I can say the welcome is great, and the pub is very dog friendly.

First class real ales and open fire, great conversation.

We'll happily came back. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vicspy88 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a night and it was nice and quiet. A few electric hookups which we didn't bother with and mainly grass. There were a few caravans that seem permanent in corners of the field.

We had a view of the hill which was nice and the road is quiet. Nice walk from site to canal and Wootton Rivers (nice pub there too) there is a small block with a shower and toilet for each male and female and a communal washing up area. The shower looked clean but we didn't use it and the toilet was ok but needed a clean -if you hate cobwebs and spiders then not for you!

Would return as liked relaxed feel and nice walks. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Bruce Arms Pub & Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pewsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement