Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of La Tournerie Ferme

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Montignac > La Tournerie Ferme Reviews

La Tournerie Ferme
La Tournerie
24290 Aubas
Montignac
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24290
Tel: 00 33 5 53 51 04 16
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 8
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 34 Reviews
                10/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meridienmick 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to La Tournerie, and the first time we had been to France for 10 years. We made our booking with the previous owners and were not aware of the change of ownership until I emailed with a query as part of our last minute planning. Russ, the new owner, assured me that the site was everything that the previous owner had described, and he was not wrong.

We followed the directions from the website which didn't seem quite right leaving the motorway from the East, but the final section leading into Montignac and then on to the site were absolutely spot on. Follow these directions and you won't go wrong.

When we arrived at the site we were extremely impressed. It really is in the middle of open countryside with not a sound to disturb the peace (except when Russ takes one of his vehicle collection for a run!). It is so quiet that, if you hear a car engine, you look to see where it is coming from. The site is extremely tidy, grass well trimmed and pots of flowers to brighten the place up. The site is sloping, but the pitches are all level hardstandings. There are eight pitches in all, and we were fortunate enough to have one of the two 'doggy' pitches which are completely fenced in so that the dog could wander around as if she were at home. Russ said that he was going to try to make a third doggy pitch.

There is a small facilities block with two WC's, two showers, plus a disabled unit with WC, basin and shower, there are two wash basins and a washing up sink. There is also a washing machine. The facilities were immaculate at all times, plenty of hot water, and nice spacious shower cubicles.

The town of Montignac is about a 10 or 15 minute drive away through the quiet deserted lanes. There are numerous paths and tracks through the woods, although we understand there are wild boar around, so not advisable for evening or night time walks. We used the vet at Montignac to administer the tapeworm treatment for the return to UK, he was very helpful, spoke good English and knew exactly what had to be done regarding Pet Passport etc. We had no hiccups coming back into the country.

The site electrical system seems to all be wired 'reverse polarity' so an adapter with reversed L and N is handy. Strangely enough, the adapter that I bought in Leclerc at Sarlat that I intended to modify was already wired back to front and so corrected the site wiring! There is no wifi on the site, although I think Russ might be considering installing it. However, I got a full strength 3G signal on OrangeF which gave me a good enough internet connection for email, browsing and putting a Sainsburys order on for delivery when we got home.

All in all this is an excellent site for those wanting a quiet, peaceful location. Russ and Jayne were excellent hosts and seem to be committed to maintaining the sites high standards. I don't think too much will change, and neither does it need to. Because it is fairly remote, you can't just wander to the shop for your early morning croissants or baguettes which I always enjoy on French holidays, but that seemed a small price to pay for an otherwise first class site. The only drawback for me was a lack of shade when the weather got really hot. There are some trees but they are quite small, so don't give a lot of protection. As they get more mature this will improve, but for me, when the temperature was getting into the mid to high 30's I could have done with some respite. But then, if you go this far south in mid July I guess you have to expect it to be hot. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Malc N 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a refreshing stay at La Tournerie. This is our 4th visit and once again was what we expected, peaceful, well run and a delight.

The new owners are really excellent hosts. Although new to caravanning themselves they are really looking forward to running the site with enthusiasm and passion.

The owner has a great sense of humour and a love of old 2Cv's

He listens to helpful advice from experienced caravanners on what is required and readily takes it on board. He has some plans to make the site even better without losing its endearing qualities.

Well done both of you we wish you well in your venture. We will be back!

Malc & Chris ( La Roche, Limousin) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Puzzle 1 2 reviews from this member

 This particular site has to be one of Frances best kept secrets. For anyone who wants tranquility

Fantastic setting with equally glorious views you cannot get any better. There is an abudance of walks lanes to explore and for our for legged friends fabulous.

the spotless facilities again are spot on and one has the use of washing facilities very useful for ones clothes,

Both Jenny, Puzzle, and myself look forward to many more visits and well done to Philip and Wendy who make you most welcome.

In the area there is an abundance of small eateries and Philip will point the visitor in the right direction. Montignac is a super small town with an excellent vets practise if needed, See you soon 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tnld 2 reviews from this member

 Far from the madding crowd, yet only four miles from the pretty town of Montignac and the beautiful Vezere river, Camping La Tournerie is the perfect adults-only base from which to explore the central Dordogne region. Situated in mixed farmland and woodland in the hills above Montignac, this site offers a quiet and tranquil retreat combined with what is probably the best toilet block – in the world!

If your idea of heaven is to sit outside on a warm summer’s evening listening to crickets and frogs whilst watching shooting stars and satellites traversing an unbroken dark sky, then this may just be the site for you.

Highly recommended, but don’t tell everyone because we want to go back! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tengah74 2 reviews from this member

 All I can say is that it is a pleasure to return to their site each year. We have visited on several occasions, for three or four weeks at a time, as this site has many attractions.

Set in wooded countryside, it offers a superb selections of walks along the various tracks, to suit all levels of activity, or equally if you wish to just relax on site, there is certainly a peaceful atmosphere. The location is fine, as most of the Dordogne attractions are within 30 minutes drive or so from the site.

The local town is Montignac, a small attractive town, providing the usual needs for visitors, adequate supermarkets, and dining if needed.

La Tournerie is 8 pitch site, of which two pitches are fenced, thus providing freedom for any dogs that may accompany their owners.

The site facilities are superb, the toilet block is maintained to a very high standard, of which Wendy and Phil are proud, providing washing and showering facilities as well as a washing machine for long stay visitors.

They are active owners, organising and joining in site activities, and their occasional afternoon boule competitions are ' world famous !'.

Anyone visiting this Adults only site assured of a memorable stay, made more so by your hosts.

P. S. We will be back again this July /August. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percysybil 2 reviews from this member

 We had the privilege of staying at this wonderful site for 14 nights in June 2012.

From the very first e-mail booking enquiry right through to being waved off by the hosts at the end of our stay, everything about the experience of staying here exudes class and first-rate customer service where you are made to feel like long-standing friends as opposed to paying guests.

The individually designed shower and toilet block is kept spotlessly clean and facilities are excellent.

The pitches provide ample space for even the largest of outfits and accompanying awning and vehicle and as there are only 8 in total, there is always a feeling of privacy.

Local towns and villages are easily accessible on foot, cycle or vehicle and the abundance of wildlife to be seen in their natural habitat is impressive.

The site is impeccably maintained and its setting is quite astounding, set amongst the rolling countryside with truly breathtaking views from all around the site and pitches.

We took the opportunity to book again for next year and in doing so found that bookings were already being taken for 2014!

If you want to stay in a fantastic location with hosts that make you feel especially welcome throughout your stay then look no further than La Tournerie Ferme - make your enquiry to book now as you may just miss out if you leave it too late!

Bonne Chance 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan1464 2 reviews from this member

 We'll be back. What a lovely quiet location. Philip and Wendy the owners were a delight. With only eight vans this is no all singing and bingo location.

Level pitches are hard standing and of a very good size, spread up the slight slope of the hill side offering superb views of the countryside. Electricity to each pitch and with eight vans the water tap is hardly over used.

The Toilet block could shame some hotels I've stayed in over the years. Kept scrupulously clean with two W. C's Two showers plus a third 'wet room type' fully fitted disabled shower/toilet unit. Washing machine and two vanity sinks, all a short stroll from the van. A small library and folder of local attractions were also to be found.

Dog owners may well be attracted to the two special dog pitches which are fully fenced so 'fido' can be off the lead.

The area abounds in villages that are little changed for centuries and Montignac just 5 miles away is a lovely town on the banks of the river with all the services you could ask.

Fancy a meal out you are spoilt for choice as every turn in the road gives another restaurant with proper french food and service. The only thing that prevented it getting 10/10 was no bar within strolling distance and we had to use the aquaroll instead of super pitch connection. Otherwise perfect for us. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony-Jane 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site in a tranquil little valley surrounded by fields and forest. The site contains a handful of level, hard standing pitches, all well spaced out and each one with a pleasant view of the valley.

The toilet and shower facilities are excellent and kept to the highest standards of cleanliness. Its three shower rooms are more than adequate for the size of the site as are the toilets, sink units and laundry.

It is perfectly situated for anyone looking for somewhere a little secluded but within easy reach, by car, of a little French market town, (Montignac, a very pretty old village on the Vézère River). It is also ideally situated for the comfortable exploration of this whole beautiful rural region with its attractive hill country, old villages, castles, and small market towns.

La Tournerie Ferme make every effort to provide a peaceful and restful oasis and the result is evidenced by the large number of returning caravaners. They have a number of regulars who now store ‘second’ caravans in the farm buildings to save towing.

May 2012 was my second visit, the first being 2011. Unable to return next year we have booked for the same time in 2014. Last year we spent our three weeks exploring the region. This year we lazed around more and generally stayed closer to home. Both holidays were ideal and suited our mood. When we return there are still a good number of scenic places yet to visit – or we may laze again.

Especially enjoyable on the site, for my wife and I, was the unique facility of the dog pitch. There were two of these and they provided a fenced area around the pitch that gave our three large Belgian Shepherds ‘roaming’ room.

It was ideal first thing in the morning when they could be let out while I remained and started a leisurely breakfast. (dog owners will appreciate the allusion!). The only consideration here is that your ‘best friend’ is not a yapper that, left alone outside, disturbs others having their leisurely breakfast/lie in.

Three large dogs need a good deal of exercise and there was a wealth of forest tracks to take advantage of. The owners will describe a perfect three and a half mile circular route that can easily be added to for variety. Take note though, if your ‘best friend’ is hunter orientated and you let it run it may come back with a few unwelcome guests clinging on. Pack a tick remover!

If your dog(s) are well behaved, you seek a peaceful, friendly environment as a base to explore from and a rural idyll is your idea of heaven, then book with confidence. And ask for dog pitch 1.

Note: Whilst holidaying this year there were, at one time, eight dogs on the site including my three. They did greet each other at times but there were no problems or complaints. I say this because of a negative review here that I find inconsistent with my experience concerning the site owners attitude to dogs. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan6719 6 reviews from this member

 This has got to be the best adult only site in France.

The warm welcome and location will take some beating. We have stayed here several times a year using the storage facility adjacent to the site. This is secure and dry and means when we arrive for our holiday the caravan is pitched and ready for use. For some one like myself a wheelchair user it is difficult to explain how wonderful this is.

The shower block is excellent and is wheelchair accessible with a large wheel in shower.

Piches are hard standing so can be used at any time of year as we have done.

The surrounding area has many interesting places to visit, to many to list or just soak up the sun and location.

The owners are excellent hosts and are long standing caravan users and have put a lot of hard work into making this site unique.

We are both looking forward to our next visit. Make it your next holiday you will not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jofang 17 reviews from this member

 We spent 12 nights here early in September. It is the only site we've visited where we felt like it was home. At so many sites the other visitors are pleasant, but tend to keep to themselves, but at La Tournerie a warm, friendly atmosphere permeates the whole site. Without exception EVERYONE speaks to you and first names are the rule of the day.

The site is set on a gently sloping hillside, which has been terraced to give all pitches (of which there are only six or seven) a view of the forest scenery. Our pitch was not the biggest, but had ample room for a double axle van, canopy and parking for a large 4WD. The top two pitches on the site are quite large and are fenced & gated to provide a completely enclosed pitch giving dogs the opportunity to safely roam free.

The recently built toilet block is spotlessly clean and is regularly checked & cleaned. This toilet block is like no other you'll find in France and is more reminiscent of the facilities you'd find in a good hotel en suite. Power is 6 amps with a two pin EU plug. You'll need a water barrel, as Phil has yet to provide water for every pitch.

The roads leading to the site from Montignac are all tarmac and most are single lane, but Phil & Wendy email you directions that bring you into the site by the best of the lanes. The road edges run off into unfenced fields, so there's very few bushes or branches to scratch your car or van.

The location is 10 or 15 minutes from Montignac, about half an hour from Sarlat and the same from Terrasson. Montignac has an Intermarche supermarket, banks, post office and numerous riverside alfresco eating places. Pleasingly we found parking in Montignac and Terrasson to free, but please check first.

My wife and I enjoy leisure cycling and we found the immediate terrain around the campsite to be quite hilly & challenging. We found it was better to take the cycles to Montignac by car & then follow the river on a relatively flat road.

If you're into walking or mountain biking there's no end of trails through the forest, many of which are passable by car with care. We explored many of these trails on foot & never saw another soul. There are wild boar in the forest and my wife was startled by one, which is a rare occasion. We all said she was fortunate to have this happen, but she didn't think so at the time.

Be sure to book in advance, as the site was full for most of the time we were there.  


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is La Tournerie Ferme child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Tournerie Ferme?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is La Tournerie Ferme dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montignac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3044 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement