Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of La Tournerie Ferme

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Montignac > La Tournerie Ferme Reviews

La Tournerie Ferme
La Tournerie
24290 Aubas
Montignac
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24290
Tel: 00 33 5 53 51 04 16
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 8
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 34 Reviews
                10/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Livewires 11 reviews from this member

 We were first attracted to this site because the marketing suggested a dog-friendly environment and the large, securely enclosed dog pitches were of particular appeal as we have two lively border collies which could be exercised off lead without leaving the pitch.

We made good use of this unusual facility for 9 days and enjoyed our time there very much. However, to our total amazement, on day 10 the owners informed us that comments had been made about our dogs barking and that we were not welcome to make a return visit. Since our dogs had been well managed [yes, they had barked occasionally, and extremely briefly, usually in response to other dogs in the vicinity] - and even the owners admitted that they were very well-behaved dogs - we were at a total loss to understand their assertion. It seems to us that the owners are trying to achieve the impossible by projecting the image of a totally peaceful environment whilst at the same time actively encouraging those with dogs.

More generally, we would comment as follows:

The quality of site installations and facilities are what one would expect of a good CL. The facilities building was of a decent standard although the layout did not make best use of the space available, in particular two of the shower cubicles were of limited appeal as there was insufficient space to dry oneself. We always like to dispose of grey water with respect for the environment and future occupants of the pitch, but we were told that it was acceptable to dispose of it on the pitch. To be fair, a disposal point is provided but it's design necessitates lifting and balancing the waste container in a precarious manner and is therefore unsuitable for all but the fittest.

In conclusion, the site is in a very pleasant location and within easy reach of many of the Dordogne's delightful attractions but for those who like to get into the French spirit with fresh baguettes and croissants for breakfast you would need to make a 10 mile daily trip to do so. 
Management response: It saddened me greatly to read the review made by Livewires as it doesn't actually tell the true story !

Since opening our gates in 2008 we have had an enormous number of dogs & their proud owners stopping with us, the very vast majority of which have respected the requests made on our website to keep their dogs under control at all times and to ensure that they are not allowed to bark when on site. Sadly Livewires did not appear to make any attempt to stop their beautiful 'fly-ball' champion dogs excitedly barking when being exercised/trained on their fully fenced pitch, as a result of which we had complaints from other visitors staying with us at the same time. This is the first time that we have received any such complaints from other visitors because all the other dog owners who have stopped with us have respected our requests!

Livewires pass comment on our request to spread their grey water onto the vegetation. This is true, however as explained to them, in the summer of 2011 we were experiencing one of the most severe and longest droughts in recent times and so we asked all our visitors to sparingly spread their grey water on the ground adjacent to the young trees we have planted on site, as to use natural or fresh water would have been contrary to our local laws.

Throughout their stay Livewires repeatedly asked about coming back again next year, possibly twice a year and for far longer periods, they also regularly commented to us and others about the excellence of our facilities. It was only on presenting them with their bill when they asked about coming back again next year when I informed them we wouldn`t be able to accept their booking because of the complaints we had received; I was then subjected to a highly critical and vitriolic tirade of comments!

Hopefully anyone reading these reviews about La Tournerie Ferme will base their judgments on the others listed here and not one from a couple who patently couldn't observe our sites very reasonable regulations.


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Badpianoplayer 13 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 glorious weeks in our tent on this perfectly peaceful site. Absolute relaxation was achieved! There are 8 pitches, quite a way from each other with just enough space for our giant tent and car! The bathrooms are extremely modern and everyone makes an effort to keep them spotlessly clean all the time. The site is in the middle of nowhere but it is only a 15 min drive to the supermarket at Montignac and the roads are very good. Met some very nice people and hope to return when our batteries need recharging. Would be nice if there was a pool as it got very hot whilst we were there and many of the nearby sites did have them. I understand it would be very costly though. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiakia99 2 reviews from this member

 Spent an 8 day break here in April 2011. If you follow the directions, you will find this wonderfully quiet and remote spot easily.

If you want peace and tranquillity, this is the place for you, with excellent stargazing on clear nights. If you have a dog, book early and get one of the fenced off pitches which will give pooch the flexibility to run around and work off steam. Well located for visiting the Dordogne, the immaculate facilities and welcome received immediately started the relaxation most of us need after the long drive from Calais.

All hard standings complete with electric hookups and a first class toilet block. Lovely woodland walks abound. However, if you want walking distance to pubs and restaurants, they are a good walk. A couple of miles on woodland paths. We did it and enjoyed a great lunch at a local auberge (the proprietor has the details and route through the woods).

The Sunday afternoon boules was a hoot, especially when a complete novice like myself was on the winning team. Go on, join in and enjoy it.

P and W have done a great job with this adults only site; remember to book in advance to prevent disappointment.

Would we go again: definitely and so will you. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richl67 1 review from this member

 Spent 12 peaceful and relaxing nights at this wonderful site. This is a quiet, small site, which is adults only and set in hilly wooded countryside with plenty of walks on the doorstep.

I would recommend it highly to those who want to get away from it all but want shops and attractions within easy reach. The surrounding region can be very busy in August but it is beautiful.

I booked a fenced pitch, so the dogs could run around, which was the size of at least two standard pitches and the fencing blends in so you do not notice it or feel enclosed.

The site is slightly out of the way, only accessible on narrow roads and ten minutes drive to nearest shops but ensure you follow site owners directions to the site! The hardstanding is slightly coarse so I'd take an old groundsheet for the awning but all the pitches are level, large and very well maintained by the friendly and helpful owners.

The toilet / shower block is clean and of a high standard for any campsite, it even has a washing machine and the site has the usual waste and water points plus 6 amp electric on each pitch. Ensure you take a euro adaptor though for the caravan mains cable!

I will hopefully be returning next year, availability permitting. Recommendation enough! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DJFW 17 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, picturesque site, with good views over the surrounding area which consists of rolling hills, woods and farmland. Being slightly elevated meant that there were some pleasant breezes when it got hot.

My wife and I followed the comprehensive travel directions carefully (provided by the owners) and found the site without problems. The last couple of miles were on narrow roads, but the visibility was good, as was the road surface.

Reading some of the other reviews, one might be confused as to the exact number of pitches. There are 8, all of which are hardstanding with a stonechip base. There is electricity to each pitch (6 amps). Although the site is on a slope, each hardstanding has been levelled. Each pitch is very large, with ample room for unit, awning and car as well as plenty of space between units as well as space behind. When we arrived, we noticed that a little board with our names had been put up next to our pitch which was a nice touch. The owner, Philip, helped us manoeuvre our caravan.

The washblock is modern and very clean (although does it really matter if the toilet seat is not put down?!). The only thing which struck me as being a little odd is that it's unisex, which is OK except that if you just wanted a wash rather than a shower, two of the sinks were not in cubicles, with a consequent lack of privacy. The third was in the very large shower room, so that was private, but this would mean keeping one of the showers out of commission. A very minor point, but a couple of doors would simply solve this problem.

The site was a great base from which to explore the area on foot or by bike, but be prepared for some hills if you're going any distance! The map you can buy from the tourist office in nearby Montignac for 2.5 euros is handy, but is more suitable for mountain bikes or walkers than road bikes. There are plenty of quiet roads, however and Phil is a mine of information which he imparts enthusiastically! Not only does this cover bike routes, but also places at which to eat out which are good value.

There is a good selection of shops in Montignac, although the (new) Intermarche there seemed quite expensive for a supermarket, but then others in France did too, so maybe it's the poor exchange rate?

On one of our bike trips we saw some semi wild boar (they were in a large enclosure) and when on a walk near the site we saw a young red deer. On other occasions we saw various birds of prey. There is plenty to see in the surrounding area; we particularly liked Beynac and Sarlat. The site itself is very peaceful. At 20 euros a night for 2 adults, car, caravan, awning and electricity it's not quite as good value as another adults only site we stayed at (in the Loire - see my separate review) but good nevertheless and I heartily recommend this site. It is one to which we hope to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanshubby 2 reviews from this member

 This is third time we have been to this site.,The first time was August 2008 and we have just come home on 31/05/10 after spending 3 weeks there. Having just retired at the end of January we decided to out of season and booked the last 2 weeks of may (we always went away in august) to see spring in France.

When you arrive at La-Tournerie Phil and Wendy always give you a warm welcome to their wonderful site.

This site is in the middle of country side and high up with magnificent views. There are 8 very large pitches 2 of these are fenced dog pitches so your dog can run off lead it's their holiday as well.

The toilet block out of this world, so large and very very clean, which one is for disable people. I normally wake up at 5.30am but when I sleep here I don't wake up until 8.00am, it is so quiet you would not believe. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BushBabyJane 25 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely CL-type adults-only site. It is situated in open countryside and offers fabulous far-reaching views and plenty of walking right from the site.

As elsewhere in France, there are footpaths and tracks everywhere that can be explored. We use the Serie Blue Carte de Randonee maps (available in the UK from Elstead Maps, who offer an excellent service) – numbers 2035 O and 2035 E cover the area of the site. There are sign-posted walks too – a leaflet showing them is available for about 2 euros from the tourist information office in Montignac.

If walking isn’t your thing, then the site makes a really good base for exploring the more commercialised areas of the Dordogne such as Sarlat and Les Eyzies. The caves at Lascaux are just a few miles away. We particularly enjoyed Terrason, which amazingly we had to ourselves when we visited in April.

The site has about 9 large, level, well-maintained hard-standings. There are 3 toilets and 3 showers. These are modern and kept spotlessly clean (and you are expected to keep them that way!). In cooler weather they are also heated. There is a small library where you can swap books and read tourist information leaflets.

As mentioned in other reviews, this site has two enclosed dog-pitches. We had one of these and it was lovely not having to have the dogs tied up all the time, and they certainly seemed to enjoy being able to run around and play freely. They were particularly fascinated by a hedgehog which visited us each evening.

Although the site is in the countryside its only about 4km from Montignac where there are a couple of supermarkets plus boulangeries and so on. There are a number of restaurants too, though we didn't try them. We visited La Table de Jean in nearby Coly twice – 12 euros buys you an excellent 5 course lunchtime menu du jour.

We, and our dogs, were given a very warm welcome by Phil and Wendy. We stayed a week and a half wished it could have been longer. Recommended unreservedly, if you’re looking for a good touring base and enjoy comfort combined with peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J MEREDITH 4 reviews from this member

 If you want complete relaxation, rest and to de-stress this is the site for you.

You are in the middle of the local countryside off the beaten track where the only noise you can hear is the wildlife.

Phil and Wendy are excellent hosts ensuring that from your arrival to departure you are made to feel welcome. The facilities would put the caravan club to shame, spotlessly clean with ample space, three shower rooms to eight pitches!

Local attractions are excellent from historic interest, kayaking to walking, cycling and numerous villages and towns all within one hour’s drive.

If you wish to take your four legged friend then there are two dedicated pitches with their own fence and gate, even your dog will not want to go home!

If eating is your desire then you will not be disappointed. Restaurants are in abundance, either in the local town of your choice, or recommendations from Phil and Wendy.

We shall certainly return in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jollychap 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from 2 weeks on this idyllic 'Adults Only' site - and can assure you that the previous comments are in no way over the top.

This peaceful place is the ongoing dream of two lovely people who welcome you as friends.

Philip & Wendy enjoy a lifestyle that most of us only ever wish for - few have the conviction to

Actually 'make it so'. But it has been achieved by sheer hard work - indeed they had only visited

Their first local historical site three weeks ago.! - previously there was just so much to do

Creating their tranquil environment.

The practical aspects have been covered in previous reviews. Six spacious hard standing pitches coupled with a facilities block to die for. Always scrupulously clean & inviting - it was far more like being at home than on a campsite. Now complete with washing machine! The two enclosed dog-friendly pitches at the top of the field are ever popular.

You can walk for miles through the woods and fields that surround you - or choose from a multitude of 'tourist' attractions. The area is rich in history - literally covering 17,000 years of human habitation. Caves, Chateaux, medieval towns & spectacular gardens are truly worthwhile day trips. Then you can leave the masses behind and return to the haven of La Tournerie.

And that is the real raison d’être of this place. If you cherish peace & quiet & could do with stepping off the daily treadmill for a while – then do consider hiding away on this gem of a site. One evening as we strolled in the rolling meadow at the rear of their home – we could make out Philip & Wendy relaxing on the patio. Enjoying a glass of wine as they took in the wonderful view of the forests on the horizon. Sharing that with them for a couple of weeks will live long in our memory. We look forward to our return – not if, but when. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan + Alan 3 reviews from this member

 2009 Update!

Well, we promised to return to la Tournerie and we did - We expected to see the same quality, friendly and quiet haven that we enjoyed last Easter. We were NOT disappointed!

There was only one thing that Wendy & Phil could have improved and that was the then unfinished facility block. And have they done it? They certainly have and more.

The block is centrally heated with three good private showers (a humongous one for disabled), three excellent toilets and two wash basins. Add to that a laundry and bags of tourist info - well there is nothing else one can say.

It is finished to the very high standard that we have come to expect from the owners of this excellent site.

Even when all the large pitches are taken, your privacy is assured with fantastic views across the Dordogne. Should you go with no intention of sightseeing, you will enjoy just staying put and relaxing. Even your pooch is well catered for.

All the many attractions were covered in our previous review, however, this year we have found a new and very interesting attraction - Sausages! Yes sausages. Wendy has now gone into production of her very own 'la Tournerie Sausages'. Delicious and well worth the visit for those alone. All they need now is 'un cochon et des oeufs', now there's a thought!

Seriously though, anyone who finds complaint with this site will never be satisfied.

So, we are very pleased to once again recommend la Tournerie to our friends and fellow caravanners alike. And no, we are not on commission! 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is La Tournerie Ferme child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Tournerie Ferme?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is La Tournerie Ferme dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montignac      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3711 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement