Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite > Reviews

Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite
Eastside
South Ronaldsay
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW17 2TJ
Tel: 01856 831556  or  07400 542026
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/12/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 A back to basics campsite, it is small in size and quite exposed to the wind. The driveway is narrow but not as steep as expected from reading previous reviews. There appeared to be 4 EHU points and 1 water tap with a hose connected.

The unisex toilet and shower block was not as expected even having read the reviews and viewing the pictures online. It has been described as rustic in previous reviews, we would agree with this. There are 4 or 5 toilets (which although old in style were perfectly functional) and 3 or 4 showers

Two of the showers appeared to be quite large in size but at least one (the only one working whilst we were there) was tiny with the room also containing a toilet and sink. It looks as though bits have been added to the amenity block set up as time has passed, leaving for a rather unusual layout. The owner and staff were quick to look in a lack of hot water and the lady we paid during the reception hours was very pleasant, polite and hard working, however the cost seemed high for the facilities available.

We did not find this part of Orkney as scenic as other parts, the beach at the bottom of the road was nice and some of the beaches near the causeways were good too. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5OnTour 22 reviews from this member

 We phoned up to book as we knew we would be arriving on the evening 20. 30 ferry into St Margaret's Hope, but were told we could just turn up and choose a pitch then pay the next morning, which we did. The owners were away but two friendly ladies were standing in for them.

The access road is narrow and steep - wouldn't want to do it in anything bigger than our T5 - but once you get up there the views across the sea are lovely. They have hard standing and grass pitches but we chose a grass one with a good view. We were a bit wary as the grass was a bit soft and it looked as though someone had previously been stuck, but we had no problems even though it rained heavily one night.

As a previous reviewer said the facilities are certainly 'rustic' but were cleaned regularly and there was plenty of hot water for showering and washing up.

From this site we rode our bikes up across the Churchill Barriers towards the mainland until we reached the Italian Chapel, which was worth a visit (once the coach party had left!). There are a couple of small shops in St Margaret's Hope for the basics, but large supermarkets in Kirkwall which is only about 20 minutes drive away. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tazsmum 41 reviews from this member

 Sign at entrance was confusing as it appeared to be pointing across the road!

Very steep access, and vans continue up the track beyond the tent field. Some hard standing and EHU in this field but very exposed to the wind! Great views, 20 minutes walk to the beach.

Full range of facilities, but a little 'unconventional'! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Simskess64 2 reviews from this member

 Having looked up this site online our expectations would have us staying on an ' Organic Farm '

Having tried to drive my 6. 9 metre Motothome up the drive to the site and then into a field that was very steep and soggy, my wheels span and struggled to get us onto the hard standing pitch. The location is stunning, the beach just down the road is one of the best we have ever been on ( especially when the sun is out ) the rest of our experience was mixed, the facilities are Rustic with some nice touches but lacked some cleanliness.

We went to the ' shop ' which was little more than 5 products for sale which were all packaged and had clearly not come from the organic farm. We read on site that the farm sold its produce at the monthly farmers market in Kirkwall - which we visited 2 days later and there was no sign of the organic farm where we had stayed.

Subsequently have joined this site and read reviews we would echo the review from 'Royvaux ' 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Steve Sansom 2 reviews from this member

 'Perfect' absolutely 'perfect', if you want peace and tranquil surroundings, Wheems should be Your first choice, Stunning views over the Coast, More than adequate shower and toilet facilities (included in the daily charge)

Slightly remote but this adds to it's Charm, Very secluded clean Beach five minutes away in vehicle, St Margarets Hope about ten minutes away in vehicle, Shops (slightly limited) Pub and eating establishments available,

On the Whole Charming and I would recommend it to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tea Lover 5 reviews from this member

 Tranquil spot with excellent views and short, if steep, walk to the beach. Site would not suit the ultra tidy person but if you appreciate shabby chic you will love the site.

Well thought out facilities even if rather ramshackle. Best shower I have had for ages and love the thought that went into providing the bath mat. Can buy veg there if you are lucky.

Reasonably priced. Bit tricky to find but follow signs for cemetery from St Margaret's Hope and it is on the left as you go down the hill to the coast and the church. Steep in places and may not suit larger vehicles. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Patthe 1 review from this member

 A charming friendly site, level pitches for campervans etc, good facilities, fabulous views. Fabulous near deserted beach just a ten minute walk away, sand rock pools etc. (but far enough away not have to worry about safety issues and kids).

Fabulous weather too but can't credit the campsite for that, Only a few midges in a very midgey year. Extended our stay, we liked it so much.

Orkney seems a really friendly place, and that kinda rubs off on us visitors. EHU available, Lovely shop, some great home produced veg. Ideal for the St Margaret's Hope Ferry.

We had a car and found it a good base to see all the main islands. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a beautiful location - we would have loved to have stayed for longer but we had lots to fit in to out two week break. Our van is a Fiat Ducato base so no problem getting onto a pitch - great level pitches overlooking the sea with EHU available on other pitches if required.

There are camping pods also, with great views from the top of the site, tents had a choice of fields. We pitched up & went for a walk down to the sandy beach, and caught up with the owner Mike when we returned - very friendly & helpful, even managed to convert me to broad bean eating with some of his delicious home grown veg. There is a small supply of basic provisions available to buy and a gallery with beautiful prints to purchase.

This would be a fantastic site if you were walking/cycling with a tent as the camp kitchen had toaster, kettle, electric rings, pots, pans, plates, glasses - even a teapot. The showers were wonderfully hot, all facilities clean & tidy. A sea mist rolled in whilst we were there, but in the morning it had cleared giving us a stunning view across the fields, church & out to sea. We even managed to get a fleeting glimpse of the short eared owl.

This site is great for the ferry from St Margaret's Hope, shop there sells a huge range. Child friendliness - fresh air & a sandy beach - what more could you want?

We would love to return here for longer next time - thank you for a lovely stay Mike. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sric 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite. It is ideally based for visiting both South Ronadsay and mainland Orkney. It is literary only a 10 minute drive for the ferry terminal at St Margaret's Hope. I guess e best way to sum this site up is quirky, in a nice way.

It has everything you need, toilets, hot water in showers, covered kitchen area with just about anything you need to make a meal, an eclectic collection of pots, pans and dishes, some original 1970/80 dishware.

The views are stunning and you can easily walk to the Eastside beach which is very tranquil.

Go just for the experience. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

 Originally only planned overnight stop but liked it so much stayed two nights then back for one on return (and could catch the early morning ferry as it's only 5/10 minutes drive from terminal). Lovely owner and, though it has a simple, ramshackle air, the facilities outshine many glitzier operations eg thoughtful touches like bathmats, hand towels. End shower unit has heated towel rail so a bit warmer in the Orkney wind. [Not many others camping when we were there so no issues with hot water supply].

Fridge/freezer, cooker, biodegradable dog poo bags (honesty box system - sums up Orkney really). Things are composted/recycled where possible (hence biodegradable poo bags). And - luxury - it had a toaster in the covered kitchen! We loved it, dog loved it. Friendly, calm and peaceful. We'd happily have paid more.

South Ronaldsay is worth a look round rather than just passing through. From the beach and little church at the bottom of the road to quirky Tomb of the Eagles at Isbister (including museum of relics) and WW2 battery at Hoxa Head. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Ronaldsay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement