Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > South Ronaldsay > Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite Reviews

Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite
Eastside
South Ronaldsay
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW17 2TJ
Tel: 01856 831556  or  07400542026
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenh 1 review from this member

 We stayed in one of the pods. Great views of the sea and a nice walk down to the beach.

Lovely quaint campsite. Hot showers. Fresh produce available. Especially liked the communal kitchen / eating area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Louise 1 review from this member

 My daughter and I were recommended Wheem's campsite by a friend and we really enjoyed our stay.

I have spent today packing our camping equipment away and thinking wistfully about our few days in Orkney and know that it was all the better for camping there.

The view over the bay from our tent was beautiful (the weather was amazing while we were there and we didn't feel as exposed as we expected).

We were really surprised by the hospitable touches in the sit-oot-erie with kitchen utensils, herbs and access to a kettle and much more. The showers and the washing up areas had plenty of hot water and there was much effort taken to ensure that everything was extra clean. There was plenty of handwashing liquid for visitors to sanitise too.

There was ample space to distance within the campsite, and it felt a very safe natural place for children to run around as the car park was separate from the tents.

It was a short walk to the bay and not far to St Margaret's Hope for supplies/pubs and galleries. We were delighted that the Fish and Chip van arrived while we were sitting on the jetty early on Saturday evening.

We supplemented our meals on the campsite with the homegrown organic garlic, courgettes, onions and home made bread from the farm. It was also possible to buy more healthy provisions from the shelves in the sit-oot-erie (honesty box) so, if the weather is too grim to venture out for a couple of days you would be able to cook, eat, socialise and relax under cover in relative comfort and leave the confines of your tent. What a luxury! There are even some board games and books (although I fear the Orkney mist has rather dampened them over time.

We came in on the ferry from Scrabster to Stromness but returned from St Margaret's Hope as it is much more convenient (being so much closer to the campsite on South Ronaldsay) especially if you are getting an early ferry.

All in all - would highly recommend and hope to return again.

Thank you Sophie.

Emma & Louise Brown (from Glasgow & Birmingham) 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 40 reviews from this member

 You have got to like Wheems! I camp all over the place under canvas, in a small campervan and in pods. Never stayed anywhere quite like Wheems and I would recommend it thoroughly. It won't be everybody's cup of tea and if you have Caravan Club expectations don't bother. Read previous reviews about facilities.

Suffice to say they are different but they were clean for the three nights I was there and I had a decent shower each night. If you are camping, there is an indoor cooking/eating area with a few food items for sale.

Location is wonderful, set high up looking over the sea. All pitches have wonderful views. Approach road is a little steep and quite tight but not very long. Don't attempt it in your twin axle behemoth!

The pod itself was fine with a socket, small kettle and light. Mattress provided. I used my own sleeping bag and would not have been keen using the bedding which was not perfect and had seen better days.

If you're in Orkney, I'd recommend giving this site a try. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 A back to basics campsite, it is small in size and quite exposed to the wind. The driveway is narrow but not as steep as expected from reading previous reviews. There appeared to be 4 EHU points and 1 water tap with a hose connected.

The unisex toilet and shower block was not as expected even having read the reviews and viewing the pictures online. It has been described as rustic in previous reviews, we would agree with this. There are 4 or 5 toilets (which although old in style were perfectly functional) and 3 or 4 showers

Two of the showers appeared to be quite large in size but at least one (the only one working whilst we were there) was tiny with the room also containing a toilet and sink. It looks as though bits have been added to the amenity block set up as time has passed, leaving for a rather unusual layout. The owner and staff were quick to look in a lack of hot water and the lady we paid during the reception hours was very pleasant, polite and hard working, however the cost seemed high for the facilities available.

We did not find this part of Orkney as scenic as other parts, the beach at the bottom of the road was nice and some of the beaches near the causeways were good too. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5OnTour 22 reviews from this member

 We phoned up to book as we knew we would be arriving on the evening 20. 30 ferry into St Margaret's Hope, but were told we could just turn up and choose a pitch then pay the next morning, which we did. The owners were away but two friendly ladies were standing in for them.

The access road is narrow and steep - wouldn't want to do it in anything bigger than our T5 - but once you get up there the views across the sea are lovely. They have hard standing and grass pitches but we chose a grass one with a good view. We were a bit wary as the grass was a bit soft and it looked as though someone had previously been stuck, but we had no problems even though it rained heavily one night.

As a previous reviewer said the facilities are certainly 'rustic' but were cleaned regularly and there was plenty of hot water for showering and washing up.

From this site we rode our bikes up across the Churchill Barriers towards the mainland until we reached the Italian Chapel, which was worth a visit (once the coach party had left!). There are a couple of small shops in St Margaret's Hope for the basics, but large supermarkets in Kirkwall which is only about 20 minutes drive away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tazsmum 25 reviews from this member

 Sign at entrance was confusing as it appeared to be pointing across the road!

Very steep access, and vans continue up the track beyond the tent field. Some hard standing and EHU in this field but very exposed to the wind! Great views, 20 minutes walk to the beach.

Full range of facilities, but a little 'unconventional'! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Simskess64 2 reviews from this member

 Having looked up this site online our expectations would have us staying on an ' Organic Farm '

Having tried to drive my 6. 9 metre Motothome up the drive to the site and then into a field that was very steep and soggy, my wheels span and struggled to get us onto the hard standing pitch. The location is stunning, the beach just down the road is one of the best we have ever been on ( especially when the sun is out ) the rest of our experience was mixed, the facilities are Rustic with some nice touches but lacked some cleanliness.

We went to the ' shop ' which was little more than 5 products for sale which were all packaged and had clearly not come from the organic farm. We read on site that the farm sold its produce at the monthly farmers market in Kirkwall - which we visited 2 days later and there was no sign of the organic farm where we had stayed.

Subsequently have joined this site and read reviews we would echo the review from 'Royvaux ' 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Steve Sansom 2 reviews from this member

 'Perfect' absolutely 'perfect', if you want peace and tranquil surroundings, Wheems should be Your first choice, Stunning views over the Coast, More than adequate shower and toilet facilities (included in the daily charge)

Slightly remote but this adds to it's Charm, Very secluded clean Beach five minutes away in vehicle, St Margarets Hope about ten minutes away in vehicle, Shops (slightly limited) Pub and eating establishments available,

On the Whole Charming and I would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tea Lover 5 reviews from this member

 Tranquil spot with excellent views and short, if steep, walk to the beach. Site would not suit the ultra tidy person but if you appreciate shabby chic you will love the site.

Well thought out facilities even if rather ramshackle. Best shower I have had for ages and love the thought that went into providing the bath mat. Can buy veg there if you are lucky.

Reasonably priced. Bit tricky to find but follow signs for cemetery from St Margaret's Hope and it is on the left as you go down the hill to the coast and the church. Steep in places and may not suit larger vehicles. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Patthe 1 review from this member

 A charming friendly site, level pitches for campervans etc, good facilities, fabulous views. Fabulous near deserted beach just a ten minute walk away, sand rock pools etc. (but far enough away not have to worry about safety issues and kids).

Fabulous weather too but can't credit the campsite for that, Only a few midges in a very midgey year. Extended our stay, we liked it so much.

Orkney seems a really friendly place, and that kinda rubs off on us visitors. EHU available, Lovely shop, some great home produced veg. Ideal for the St Margaret's Hope Ferry.

We had a car and found it a good base to see all the main islands. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheems Organic Farm Bothy And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Ronaldsay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement