Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Thornhills Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bridgwater > Thornhills Farm Reviews

Thornhills Farm
Othery
Bridgwater
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA7 0QL
Tel: 01823 698247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 pitches all with hardstanding
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 18                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mandysolomon1 1 review from this member

A gem of a campsite! On arrival the friendly owner came and explained where all the services were and showed me my pitch. The site is very well laid out with level hard standing pitches. The shower room is one of the nicest I have seen. A lot of campsites could learn from this one. Very reasonable at 12 a night. In a great area too.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: G1ydq 2 reviews from this member

We have left this lovely site today after a 4-night stay. Facilities are spotless and site very well maintained. Friendly helpful owners and very reasonable pricing. I did wonder how the unisex toilets and shower would work out but it never was a problem Short distance to the village for Post Office, shop and pub, although the road is very busy and no footpath. A good point for exploring Glastonbury, Street and the many nature reserves on the levels.

We will be back

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lord Brian 1 review from this member

This Site sets the standards that others should be judged by.

All hard standing level pitches, 16 amp hook ups

A toilet/shower block that leaves even the caravan club standing

All this plus wonderful hosts Sue and John who offer more than a warm welcome, they provide a service second to none

Superb scenery, all within walking distance from a real home bakery who sell bread and cakes to die for.

A caravanners heaven

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toyotakid 4 reviews from this member

Superb again our 5th visit

And we will be back without a doubt

John is a wonderful chap always friendly always pleased to see you and always very very helpful

Small site 5 vans

Lots of water areas and electric hookups no problem

Very flat so minimal levelling up to be done

We stayed next to the field so all 4 kids could play and not upset anyone, say that we hardly saw anyone anyway so that wasn't an issue.

One of the quietest sleeps I have ever had.

With cows and calves for our 17mth old to be amused by, saying goodnight to the cows every night and making cow noises was the highlight of his day.

Good access to weston super mere and street and bridgwater 10 mins from m5 and its worth the stop off.

Waste empty points adequate.

John is planning some changes and he has made lots of changes since our first visit 5 years ago and these have always been of benefit

At 9 a night its a no brainer

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

This site is right on the main road as other reviewers have stated. There are two gateways. If coming from the north it is the first gateway nearest to the house.

Very welcoming. Our name was written on a chalk board as the owner was not at home at the time.

Did not require a deposit to book and was 8. Elec hookup. Water easy access, along with place to get rid of grey waste.

Useful site if going to Highbridge to take your vehicle for service.

Some road noise, but quiet through night, my wife said she heard a donkey braying!

Very friendly owner. Will use again

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Prickles46 6 reviews from this member

Great little site, well situated for visiting Glastonbury, Street, Taunton, and various Motorhome/caravan dealers. We stayed 2 nights, and were not bothered by the road noise, even though we were on the hardstanding close to the road. The owners are very helpful, and the site is a real credit to them. At 8 per night including electric, it's very good value. No toilet or showers, but we don't have a problem with that.

Easy to find, as it is on the main road, so no narrow lanes to negotiate. As prev mentioned, there are 2 drives side by side, make sure you take the 2nd one! (Have a look on Google Maps Street view first, and you won't have a problem!)

Would definitely use this one again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 263 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site, and only 8 per night. It doesn't have loos or showers but that doesn't matter to us. The only problem is the access, as there are 2 driveways together and it is all too easy to take the wrong one.

We managed to demolish the owner's sign whilst reversing into the right entrance, but he was very nice about it. Upon arrival he will give you an impressive array of brochures.

The site has all the attributes mentioned in the first review, but in addition the owner is always working on it - he has planted trees and plants which are young yet but most attractive. There are also good views and short drives to many places of interest.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonym1966 4 reviews from this member

We had a three night stay here the last weekend before the kids went back to school. And what a pleasant surprise it was. Its a small site, but well equipped with ehu, good lighting,fresh water and a chemical disposal point. It is in a great spot for trips to Clarkes Village, Burrow Mump and the Somerset Levels. Nature lovers will find Rspb Greylake less than a mile up the road.

The nearby village of Othery has a great Bakery serving fresh sandwiches and you can get a full English there also. They have a pub in the Village but its not great, but further down the road they have the King Alfred Inn great food and right next door to Burrow Mump.The George in nearby Middlezoy is close and has great food and real ales.

The owners John and Sue live on site and are very helpful and pretty much leave you to yourself. The only thing bad is its close to the road which to be fair is only busy morning and evenings and there's no showers. But speaking to John he said that they were planting shrubs roadside to stop the noise and a shower was planned. Overall very good site and we will be back.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 18     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Thornhills Farm?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is Thornhills Farm dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Bridgwater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3855 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020