Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gadlys Coastal Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Rhydwyn > Gadlys Coastal Campsite > Reviews

Gadlys Coastal Campsite
Church Bay
Rhydwyn
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 4ES
Tel: 07964 587661  or  07786547361
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeterPensive 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I (and our dog) are experienced campers in the UK and abroad so we've experienced many campsites of varying quality. We chose to try Gadlys for our first time camping on Anglesey, looking for a change from Northumberland and Cornwall, our most regular haunts.

Based in Leeds we were pleasantly surprised to find such a location within a three hour's drive and, in seeking a location close to the sea, which we love, found Church Bay to be nigh on perfect. It must be emphasised though that it is a place for those seeking peace and quiet.

We wonder about the limitations of toilet facilities on Certificated Sites but although there are only two showers and WC's (unisex) we didn't encounter any problems with their use at all: even when the site was full there was no queuing and we both noted how they were kept clean and well supplied with toilet paper, hand wash etc. The showers are very efficient though the washbasin doesn't provide hot water, and there is no washing up facilities. There is a dog walking field at the site, as well as the numerous walks from the site.

There's a very welcoming cafe (near the excellent small beach) which is open Thursday to Sunday, a very high profile restaurant and a pub, all within easy walking distance from the site. For groceries it's a drive of some three miles or so to the nearest village shop. For pizzas, fish and chips, Chinese takeways and an excellent butcher's it's a drive to Valley (name of a place) about six miles away.

But for walkers/nature lovers it's perfect, giving easy access to the coastal path which also provides acces to a variety of beaches - we were amazed to discover a beach, some ten minutes away, which saw perhaps a handful of visitors, and in high season.

We found the wardens who manage the site to be extremely helpful - they made our stay as pleasant as possible, for example when offering to pay the fees I was told there was no rush, that it could be sorted out later; they helped secure a tent door in high winds by adding an extra guy rope they had and, knowing we weren't on electric, offered to charge our phones for us. Although it was the location that persuaded us to extend our stay by a week, having such helpful people on site was without doubt a deciding factor too - and having someone on-site also gave a satisfying sense of security.

So, yes, for what we are looking for, we are delighted to have found such a site that ticks, for us, so many boxes. We are so fortunate to be able to enjoy the full school holidays (my wife works in a school, I'm retired). We like this site so much that we are now on out second stay this summer, and definitely plan to re-visit in future years. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MotorUma 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights. Views were spectacular. Toilets and showers available. Sadly we were rudely addressed on arrival and payment. Sadly, this put me off staying longer than what we had already requested. Didn't meet the proprietors. 
Management response: I wonder if you could contact me direct please - as you can see we have great reviews and take our customer service seriously so if I can have specifics then I can address the issue - it's the first time anyone has mentioned it both here and in any other reviews as many people have commented how helpful my staff are. Many thanks.


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elinglescito 1 review from this member

 Stayed for one night in our tourer. The site is small and very welcoming with lovely views over the bay. We could not have felt more welcomed by the owners. Toilet block is clean with hot water. Fresh water / waste water / chem disposal points. There is no hot water for washing dishes.

Lovely local cakes are available in a little honesty box at the entrance! Short walk down to the beach. There is a van serving breakfast and evening meals which is reasonable and good quality. This is a great site which we will visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CamperBadger 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with lovely friendly owners! The perfect place for coastal path walking and geological discovery, bird watching, wild flowers and sea gazing. Restaurant, cafe and pub easily accessible. The site offers a toilet and shower block (2 of each) clean and adequate for a small site of 5 pitches. Will definitely visit again soon 🌞🚐🌞 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chelboy 3 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site Karen and her husband really helpful and gave us unbiased suggestions for other sites to use. We were in motorhome and despite sloping site managed level pitch with chocks and got hook-up. Sea view nice and 3 minute walk with help of footpath from site down to secluded bay. Toilet facilities are basic but clean. No dish washing facility or hot water, but showers are electric and adequate. Overall good site close to very nice bay with very good beach cafe serving lovely food. Also Theirs 'Lobster Pot Restaurant' serving very classy seafood dishes, didn't try it but prices would suggest very good all local produce. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cfurn 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with sea views. Just a short walk to the beach with cafe on the way, serving lunches and great cakes. Lots of lovely looking local walks, but in the end we just stayed on the beach as it was so hot!

Site facilities are basic but clean. We did have to wait at times as there are only 2 toilets and showers. Grass is well kept and the area we pitched on was fairly level. Our dog loves camping too, so adjacent dog walking field was very useful.

Dog was made welcome in pub up the (steep) road too, and we enjoyed taking part in the quiz.

We had a wonderful few days here and plan to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithsmh1 9 reviews from this member

 A small and clean site in a beautiful location. The owners are friendly but not at all intrusive and the facilities although small - two toilets and two showers - are kept clean and well supplied.

The showers are good and hot and not timed or needing an extra coin.

There are lots of beautiful walks both coastal and inland and quiet coves which are sheltered and ideal for the evening barbecues.

We would heartily recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tonytiger86 4 reviews from this member

 This is a Great location for coastal path walks around anglesea with a warm and friendly owner. A quiet, peaceful site with great sea views.

A small cafe and lobster pot dinner half mile away which was very busy on the sat night also local pub just up the hill which has a good beer garden again with great views, nice beers but, basic bar meal menu.

2 small toilets and 2 small but hot showers. A negative would be the lack of any pot washing facilities

Other than that its a Nice small CL for a lazy long weekend. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tarikrashid 1 review from this member

 Wonderful location, with sea views. Close to the beach and beach side cafe which serves wonderful food. Lobster pot sea food restaurant within walking distance.

Coastal walks to die for, wonderful scenery. Beach very pleasant and sandy. Lots to see in nearby areas around the north coast with more stunning scenery.

Pitches sloping and no hard standing for caravans and motor homes. Hook up available

Toilet and shower block adequate but very small.

Would definitely go again

The owner charming and friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whippet1 1 review from this member

 This is our 2nd visit and we are looking forward to sorting out next years holidays to include it again.

A very open site with the sun shining on us all day. There is a view of the sea and the surrounding hills. Walkers can actually be seen returning from one of the coastal/country walks in the distance. Small birds singing from first thing in the morning to dusk. Very peaceful.

The owner, visits at least once a day. Daily cleaning of the two showers and two toilets, although these facilities are small. Plenty of toilet tissue and hand soap provided.

The ground is a bit uneven and generally sloping so ramps are needed to be level for vehicles.

The tent area looked flatter.

The grass is mown regularly and kept short. Also there is a dog walk in the field adjoining the camping ground which is also mown.

Fresh duck/hen eggs are sometimes available with an honesty box.

The beach is 3-4 minutes away with coastal walks in both directions. You can walk right round to Carmel Head, take a lunch box, Cemeas (too, too far for me) etc if you wish.

No shops nearby for popping into, the closest is a few minutes drive away. But there's an excellent cafe for cake or light meals open from Thur-Sun. By the beach. The owner also leaves water out for dogs refreshment.

The Lobster Pot restaurant for a pricier meal has a very good reputation near the beach.

There is a pub which does some meals up the hill from the campsite. Only a short walk, which is very friendly and it has lovely views of the surrounding area. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gadlys Coastal Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gadlys Coastal Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gadlys Coastal Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhydwyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3182 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement