Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gadlys Coastal Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Rhydwyn > Gadlys Coastal Campsite > Reviews

Gadlys Coastal Campsite
Church Bay
Rhydwyn
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 4ES
Tel: 07964 587661  or  07786547361
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brianliverpool 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent campsite. Small and intimate with a very friendly owner. There's only pitches for maybe 20-25 tents and there was room for maybe 10 camper vans / caravans.

The site is protected by bushes from the wind, but there was none when we were there. Sitting down you can still see the sea, albeit with a slightly obstructed view due to that wind break.

There is a path near the site entrance that runs round to the road leading down to the cafe (open 10. 30 to 17. 00 Thurs to Sunday I think), just a couple of minutes away at the beach

That's next to the Lobster Pot licensed restaurant, which is meant to be good but popular and fully booked one evening we were there. So if you want to have dinner there best to pre book. Main meals seemed to range from 10 - 15 plus seasonal prices for fish.

There are also toilets in the car park down at the beach.

The beach itself is really good. There was a warden there, and the local council had litter pickers down there making sure it was spotless. They didn't have much to do though, as the beach was lovely and clean.

Lots of rock pools either end of the beach, and nesting birds in the cliffs. The beach must be at least 250 metres long and wide, so loads of room for everyone.

Also, if you like to keep the sun off you, sitting further back up the beach by the cliffs creates a natural sun shelter until later in the day.

Back to the campsite -

The toilet cubicles are a little small (I'm 6 foot 2), but they are really clean. There are no male and female toilets and the wall dividing the two loo's doesn't go all the way to the ceiling. So, if you don't feel comfortable using shared facilities that's something for you to consider.

The showers were free, clean and hot, and like the toilets there were only 2, inside the same block as them. We didn't find that a problem though

There was clean drinking water on tap outside and chemical disposal for people who needed that.

Bottles were recycled and the waste bin was not over full or smelly as it was always kept closed

The sink for washing up wasn't plumbed in, so you either had to boil up your own water or wash up with the cold water from the drinking water pipe, a few feet from the sink. As the pipe from the cold water doesn't reach the sink you will need to remember to bring a washing up bowl

We visited over a weekend, and for 3 people were charged 11. 50 for a night. If the tent had been bigger than a 4 man tent that we had I think it would have been a little more but still really cheap.

The pitches were pretty flat and the land wasn't stoney enough to be a problem putting up a tent. Just the usual readjustment if a peg wouldn't go in.

No shop at the site but the owner did have some local duck eggs and marrows etc to sell. Not much, but a nice touch.

There is a Post Office not too far away on the main road towards Holyhead, and we didn't find it a problem driving into Camaes, which is a gorgeous harbour town, even if it is lacking a little investment (where isn't at the moment?).

Church Bay Inn is about a 5-10 minute walk up a steep hill. They seem to have new owners and have stopped doing food and B&B. There's also no real ales, but the usual Stella and Carlsburg were quite welcome after a hot day. The owner was new as I say and finding her feet, and whilst she seemed a little distant was quite chatty once she got going!

Great beer garden looks back to the campsite and over the bay including holy island in the distance. Stunning view in fact.

Again, back at the site there are no facilities for children, but the proximity to the beach should resolve that problem.

On the downside, while we were allowed to visit once without being camping and caravanning club members, if we return we would have to be. That can make the price a little more than you had hoped on for a second visit (currently 39 per year for a family membership)

However, the site is great and well positioned so I'm tempted to bite the bullet and get membership, as I'd love to go again 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Suski 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic weekend at this campsite, two cleanliness obsessed teenage girls in tow, who absolutely loved the site because the toilets and showers were very close-by and very clean.

The beach at Church Bay is fantastic and only a 3 min walk through a hedgerow path.

The pub up the hill was very welcoming and even let us bring our little dog in.

The village is very pretty, laid back and quite. My daughters said it felt like France, not Wales.

Will be visiting again and again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping zone 1 review from this member

 Had a great weekend on a great campsite. The weather was brilliant, the site was bathed in sunshine and the sites position gave good protection from any blowing wind. Five minutes from the beach, and it also has fantastic views.

Very clean toilets and showers with hot water from solar panels and immersion.

I would recommend a visit to friends and family.

There is a cafe near the beach that does good food 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jbmountainman 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location with sea views and a lovely beach a few minutes walk away.

Very basic shower and toilet, but clean. EHU available. Grass pitches, slightly sloping, 12cm levellers may be insufficient. The owner is pleasant and welcoming, what a difference this makes to a holiday. Some lovely coastal walks straight from the 'front door' and in September, more blackberries in the hedgerows than you've ever seen.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonesmon 5 reviews from this member

 Great little site with fantastic views. Facilities were basic but okay as we have shower and loo on-board. CDP and water tap all close and in good order. There are warnings about which road to take when approaching with a caravan on the website.Heed these.
The lovely Church Bay was only a few minutes walk away with wonderful coastline walks. No local shop though. The Lobster Pot restaurant is very close by though a too expensive for us ! The owner of the site was helpful and very friendly. Will certainly come back here again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blindwilly 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 5 day break at this excellent CL.

Its in a great position, with views looking over the inlet of Church Bay.

Very basic toilet and shower facilities,(but owner is new and is hoping to develop the site over the next few years). Less than 5 minutes walk to Church Bay cove and the Angelsey Coastal Path. Small cafe and the Lobster Pot Restaurant (specialising in Seafood) only minutes away. Hope to return again sometime this year. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: V+R Thomson 1 review from this member

 We only stayed for one night and in our party there were 2 adults, 4 kids (12, 11, 10 & 6) and two crazy cocker spaniels. This was our very first camping trip and we will definitely be coming back here.

The camp site was perfect in size, with not too many people there already. Carol the owner was lovely and made us feel very welcome. The facilities on site are basic but that's why you go camping isn't it? There are pot washing facilities now and also waste disposal area including recycling :-) along with fresh water supply.

The beach was only 5 minutes away and was excellent for the kids, they spent all day Sunday there exploring in rock pools whilst we sunbathed!

Even though we didn't try it, the local restaurant, The Lobster Pot, looked well worth a visit with a great menu to suit all tastes and there is a cafe nearby to that did snacks & ice creams.

Thanks again for making our first camp a good one! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Reeves5 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a gorgeous weekend at this site what a lovely spot. Extremely basic facilities (1 porta loo and 1 porta shower and no dishwashing) but the views were worth it.

Such a nice owner, really friendly and obviously loves her job. Would've been nice to have a shop within walking distance for milk / paper but that really was the only downside.

Beach was pleasant 5 mins walk away so was the Lobster Pot Restaurant and a local cafe.

Loved this site and will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

 We were told about this site by a friend, but would not have found it otherwise. It is at the end of many winding and narrow country lanes. We went in our camper van, alongside two couples in small tents, with just two children under 4.

A small field, and few facilities, but a view of the sea, and so close to it too!

We caught the best of a dreadful August and enjoyed some sunshine, but even when it was raining heavily, it was a gorgeous place to be.

There is a beach within a few hundred yards - though not the best on Anglesey - and a cafe serving snacks, cold drinks, ice-creams and bacon butties. We could see the pub on the slight hillside above, which was clearly a short walk away, though we did not make use of it.

Very understated place to camp.

Not close to shops or amenities, and not blessed with the best facilities, but a lovely location makes it worth the while. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chriswilson56 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the recently opened site for 9 nights over August Bank Holiday. We arrived after a very wet spell just as light was fading. We immediately got stuck in very water-logged field. Neil came to our rescue straight away, despite living half an hours drive away. His large 4x4 had us out of trouble in no time.

The review by Raecooper more than adequately covers the sites facilities and what the surrounding area has to offer. We actually stayed there at the same time as we remember the large dogs.

It is with some reluctance that I write this review because we loved the place so much we don't really want to tell anybody else about it. It is the perfect coastal site for us, small, un-commercialised,with most facilities within walking distance. Oddly, the local pub (10 mins away) does not do food and the nearest shop is about 15 minutes drive away so you need to be well organised.

However topping it's situation, views and space are the owners Carol and Neil for whom nothing is too much trouble. You could not wish for friendlier and more cooperative hosts. Carol has lots of plans for improving the site and we look forward to going back. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gadlys Coastal Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gadlys Coastal Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gadlys Coastal Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhydwyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2904 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement