Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Green Man Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Hixon > The Green Man Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

The Green Man Caravan And Campsite
Lea Road
Hixon
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST18 0NT
Tel: 01889 270931
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rodger69 1 review from this member

 Stayed here numerous times with my various partners, quire basic as there are no showers and toilets are open only in pub hours. Place being renovated and new restaurant will open the end of june.

Chinese just down the road which is good.

Beer good and the locals really friendly especially the tall bloke who looks like a cross between Boycee and Victor Meldrew, a bit too friendly if you know what I mean ' don't chuck your car keys in the middle of the table '

Will go back as soon as I have recovered from my last stay 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: I love boycie 1 review from this member

 After reading some of the reviews me and my partner Crystal decided to spend a few days here.

We have heard about a local legend called Boycie (although I don't think that's his real name)

Sure enough the guy they call Boycie was drinking in the Green Man pub. He made my and my partner very welcome indeed.

Lots to do around the village, with walks, 2 pubs and a short drive to some larger towns like Stafford.

Our final night Boycie put on a BBQ and treated me and Crystal to a spit roast.

If you do stay here, ask for Boycie. He will leave a long lasting impression of Hixon for a very long time. The site is nice and the pub very welcoming. Crystal and I will be retuning later in the summer. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arthur01388 5 reviews from this member

 Booked this site based on other reviews.

Quoted 8 per night when booking but charged 9, web site advertises meals 6 nights but it is only 3. Owner not particularly helpful, in fact did not seem to care much about the site.

Site itself was very quiet with 6 electric hook ups water point and an elsan point. There are a couple of takeaways in the village, chippy and Chinese.

The site makes a good base to explore Staffordshire.

I spent 4 nights here which was ample and it is unlikely that I will be returning 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adnat4200 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a overnight stay at the site and very good it was to. The field in which you stay is directly behind the pub in the middle of the village of hixon, but very quiet. It would fit maybe six vans, probably suited best to caravans / campers as there are no showers / toilets except the toilets in the pub when open.

There is also pitch and putt course next to the site but there is a 4 each person charge. There is also another pub a little way down the road also very good and further on fish and chip shop, general store and post office and chinese takeaway but didn't use them.

Overall very good value for money and would go back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John morden 1 review from this member

 This was our first CL, what a fabulous spot of rural England at its best. The site was clean and tidy with easy access to water, our host was really helpful to our needs.

The food at the pub is home made and very plentiful and with the bus to stafford and uttoxeter just yards from the site, we will return again and again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ulverscroft 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a wet weekend at this site. It was probably not the best time of year (February) to visit and we will return in the future.

The site, in the summer, will be very good. Its at the back of the pub, watch the turning into the site as there are rocks to one side. The site is gated for security etc. The facilities are ok and what you would expect from a CS site. There is a great dog walk at the rear using the edge of the putting green.

The pub sells real cask ales and does food but we did not eat there. 200 yards away is another pub that does cask ales and food. Down the road about half a mile are a Londis shop with all you will need and a geat chinese takeaway, next door is a chip shop. We can recommend both of these as the food was very good, esp the Chinese.

There's lots to do locally, Stafford Town, Stone (Farmers Market first Saturday in the month) and Uttoxeter for the races. Alton Towers is about a 30 minute drive.

You should have a pleasant stay however, if its wet the site can become muddy and the grass soft as we found out. However, we did visit in February!

Enjoy. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp harrison 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant little site behind the pub, good beer in the locals type bar. There is a shop and takeaways in the village and another pub just over the road from the green man. Well manicured camping area and a golf links field adjacent.The spotless toilets are available for campers use from early morning till closing time at night, water and electric are included for the bargain price of 9 a night for a tent. Ideal location for canal and shugborough. We stayed two nights and felt like locals when we left, no complaints, would recommend for a quiet stay  


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DMSK2009 1 review from this member

 I thought twice about adding this review because if I tell you its great you might book it and then it would be full when we want it.

Selfishness aside this site is perfect. Really nice location, nice pub, well maintained and cheap. Dont be put off if the following don't bother you:

Downsides:

There are no showers and the toilet is only open when the pub is open. Food took nearly an hour to arrive but hey who cares!

It does have a children's play area but it only consists of 2 baby swings and a slide, there is plenty of room to add some more older kids equipment.

Positives:

What a fantastic village, how I would love to live there. You should see the houses!

Note its pitch and putt not a golf course as per previous review. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pageant man 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant CL site within a nice village. 6 ehu points, elsan point and two taps. Although we could not find a waste water point. Unmarked flat well drained pitches.
The village has a Post Office, Chinese, and Chip shop and another Pub, the Bank House Inn, all within 5 minutes walk. The Green Man and the Bank house both serve food, although we only eat at the Bank House.
The Site is within easy reach of Stafford, Cannock Chase and the South Staffs Moor lands. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julie h 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here bank holiday weekend early may,nice friendly pub which has a chinese restaraunt / take away in the lounge area nice meals.,Real ales.

At 8.00 a night for ehu. Nice flat pitches, childrens play area and a golf course at the rear of the campsite. There is an elsan point and water taps but toilet is only available when the pub is open. It's a 2 minute walk to another pub if that's what you like, have been into this pub and it is nice. And its only a short drive into stafford.
Will be going back here again . Think there is only 6 hook up points and not very high amps though 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Green Man Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Green Man Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Green Man Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hixon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4085 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement