Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Green Man Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Hixon > The Green Man Caravan And Campsite Reviews

The Green Man Caravan And Campsite
Lea Road
Hixon
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST18 0NT
Tel: 01889 270931
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Arv66 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean well kept site, very clean pleasant

Local shop, bus route, chip shop, chinese,

The site itself is very friendly, its dog friendly

There's also a pub on site but been sold

The caravan park however is staying

Its open all year round, caravans, campers over night stay welcome

There's a small park, well kept rally field for all games, football, cricket, rounders etc. Rallies are welcome as long booked in advance.

Overall the site is very well kept and run nothing is too much trouble

Very pleasant, clean,

Ps ammerton farm about a mile away. Good walking area. Stafford, rugeley, shugborough all within a short drive on bus route. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arv66 3 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant quiet site behind the greenman. Running water and electric. Toilets can be used in the inn from 7, 30 am until closing time. Hard standing and grass pitches available.

The site is clean and the people are very pleasant. There is a large field to walk the dog.

Local shop, chippy and Chinese within easy walking or a very short drive. Places to visit: uttoxeter, Stafford, rugeley, local mariners host live music usually on a Saturday night.

Sunday lunch is very good value for the money. Staff are very helpful all round. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie h 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of long weekends, very peaceful campsite, lovely surroundings, no shower but not a problem, toilets open at 8 in the morning,

lovely restaurant on site and the pub is very welcoming with real ales and entertainment on some weekends, @ 12 a night with electric cannot fault this place,

a few shops within 10 minutes walk and also on a bus route if you want to go out for the day and don't wish to drive

We stayed in a caravan, but have seen tents and motor homes on here too 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edmont 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 nights on this site from 28 December, the weather was dreadful and we were unsure about going but on contacting the owner we were assured that we would be ok.

We couldn't get on the field so the owner moved his motorhome so we could site the van on hard standing, he couldn't do enough for us. The Green Man has a lovely atmosphere with lovely open fire, good beer and good food.

There is a shop, Two take away's and a good pet shop within walking distance. The pub is open in the morning for the use of toilet facilities.

Just one point to spoil our visit, after the site owner had told us where to pitch a resident camper came out to inspect our set up and stood shaking his head from side to side, he wasn't happy with our set up and complained to the owner, The owner had a look and was quite happy with our set up and walked away, we feel this is always a problem when people are allowed to stay permanently they assume they have rights over other paying guests. Apart from this it is a nice site with a field to walk your dogs,

a good size play area for children and a nice beer garden. I would imagine this being wonderful when the sun shines. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gaz44 8 reviews from this member

 Just had one night at the green Man as we were at the Stafford showground the next day for a dog show.

I can't really comment in depth on this site as it was a very fleeting visit, but the phone call to book at the last minute was handled well.

The site was easy to find and we pitched up in the small site behind the pub in a nice location with views over the open fields where we walked the dogs.

12 for a pitch with electric hook up is a bargain anywhere and we were very pleased.

It seems overnight, our nearly six ton swift kontiki 679 had sunk ever so slightly, so when we went to pull away we just dug in and were stuck.

I would like to apologise to any other campers who we may have awoken trying to get out as it was 7. 30 am.

I would also like to say sorry to the green man for the mess we left cutting up their grass in getting out.

But special thanks goes to the gent in one of the two winnebagos who at 7. 30 am took the time, trouble and effort to assist us by towing us out. He would also not accept a gratuity.

We would stay at the green man again, but next time I'll make sure it's the middle of summer and the ground's rock hard. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ellybrown1 7 reviews from this member

 Booked into this pub for 1 night as a test as we are new to motorhoming. They were very welcoming and we were told where to pitch (although did get this wrong slightly and parked next to where we were told to. Advised the barman who had initially advised us, but he said we were ok where we had parked). Had 2 dogs with us so went into bar area where dogs are allowed. Sampled a few of the traditional ales on tap and the food from the restaurant was bought through to us. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

This pub does not look much from the outside, however the beer garden and the restaurant are really nice.

On our way out, we got stuck in a small rut and ended up asking the owner for help. He and another motorhomer assisted us out of our predicament, for which we were very grateful.

12 per night with electric, good food and ale, in a nice little village. The pub opens its doors at 8am for use of the toilets until closing. The food and drink is very reasonably priced. We are also informed that they do live music, for which we would consider returning for another stopover. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ROBH56 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an excellent stay. Site is accessed through the left hand side of pub, not through the main car park. We went with our friends and it was brilliant, staff so very friendly and up for a joke. Nice kept field with plenty of hook up's. Ate in the pub Wednesday evening and the food was fantastic value along with top beers if you like your real ales. Don't bother with the pub up the road, it is changing hands again and the beer was pretty awful. Great curry house two miles up the road and they deliver. A great spot for visiting the area and the arboretum is a must. The main bar has Sky etc and the lounge bar is very comfortable. Had three great evenings in the pub and cannot praise it or the staff high enough. Definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

 Nice flat open site overlooking fields. We booked ahead but arrived on a day when the pub was closed so pitched ourselves. Water electric hook up elsan point all easy to find. Some seasonal units on the site but plenty of space.

Later went in to the pub to pay, very welcoming shown toilets which are normally opened from about 8am until pub closes. Accessible directly from the camping field.

The pub serves good pub food and drinks both at reasonable prices. 'Very pleasant beer garden. Another pub 100 yards away also serves good food and drinks also at reasonable prices. Hourly bus Bus service to Stafford or uttoxeter is 150 yards away.

Children's play area adjoins the camping field.

We would certainly use this friendly little site again 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FranandPaul 1 review from this member

 We arrived at the Green Man without booking because we had been to Great Haywood marina and bought a narrowboat, too far to travel back home! Lovely warm welcome. Lovely site, small, No outside loos etc but really for motorhomes/caravans that do not need this facility, however wonderful views, situated just behind the pub! Because we arrived late in the day we did not explore the village. After pitching the awning etc went into the pub, good beer. There is a new restaurant and what a gem! The menu was lovely and well priced. The food was WONDERFUL. There was also an excellent vegetarian choice. Excellent wine list. This pub is a treasure! The people are lovely. Visit the restaurant if nothing else! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryn hafod 13 reviews from this member

 As we were unable to get onto another nearby CL because of waterlogged ground, we drove to this site not having booked. The owner was most helpful and friendly.

The site is behind the pub and backs onto a 9 hole golf course owned by the pub. It is a level well cared for site. Plenty of hookups. Although a pub site it was very quiet, customers parking at the front, well away from the site. This site is only 10 minutes drive from Great Haywood, where you can park, walk over the canal and into NT Shugborough. Lovely canal walks too. There is a village shop in Hixon and fish&chips too. The Green Man pub has a friendly atmosphere and will be serving food when the new kitchen is completed. I thoroughly recommend this site. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Green Man Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Green Man Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Green Man Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hixon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1802 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December