Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burghead Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Burghead > Burghead Beach Holiday Park Reviews

Burghead Beach Holiday Park
Station Road
Burghead
Moray   (Browse area)
IV30 5RP
Tel: 01343 830084
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 18                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evolution1 2 reviews from this member

We had a great week at this site. Mostly static caravans and the camping field was very quiet most of the week, so our pitch was directly on top of the dunes with a short scramble onto a great beach. We swam a few times, pottered in rock pools and collected cockles.

Path through pine forest is also great and I recommend a tour of Findhorn community just down the coast and Hopeman for the Irn bru ice cream. Dolphin watch area at Spey Bay is also a good trip out - go into the ice house for a little tour and film. Saw a seal, but no dolphins.

Little play area is great for kids and the bathroom facilities were excellent - always clean, comfortable and spacious - I have stayed in many hotels with worse showers and it makes the stay really pleasant when on a sandy beach.

Sadly the word is the camping field is being converted next year for more statics, but thank you to Helen who did freeze our freezer blocks too.

Great value too at £15 a night!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

Lots of positives about this site, and yet I don’t think we’ll bother returning. The field is at the edge of a static site, sloping upwards away from the sea and uneven in parts (there are two or three fairly level spots). Ground is very sandy, so no amount of rain is a problem, but pegs do come out more easily in strong wind.

The best thing is the view – straight out to sea. There’s a steep semi-fenced drop down to the beach with a rough path, but you’re better off taking the short walk back to the road to get down safely. Having no shelter means that you need a decent tent with decent anchorage if the wind gets up. Tents were banned for the week before we rolled up (3 blew away apparently) and our next door neighbours had their Coleman blown down and the poles snapped in a wind that lasted around 6 hours (then all was calm again!).

There are about 10 motor home/caravan pitches in the middle of the statics, right outside the facilities, with some swings in the centre. Tents for some reason are not allowed in this (more sheltered) area, which has EHU. The field is just that – an empty, unmarked area that unfortunately is littered with can pulls and butt ends.

Facilities are a contradiction. Very large building, but the shower cubicles are very small. Kept relatively clean, but the carpet hides the dirt and there is no soap by the sinks. At £19 a night I’d like to be able to wash my hands properly! The only time you see anyone is when you pull up – money is collected immediately, then there’s no sign of anyone and the office is closed. No place for freezing ice blocks, though the kp area is in the laundry room.

Under better management this place would be lovely, but I feel it’s only a matter of time before they convert their remaining space into more static pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolye 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a fantastic location. Although the site is basic it has everything you need, the beach is 2 mins walk away and is beautiful. Burghead is 5 mins walk away and is a lovely wee place, only a few hotels and a shop but great views and walking. The Harbour Inn is a great place for food but you need to book in advance, last orders are about 7pm though!
We went to this site as my boyfriend had been there about 25 years ago, we didn't know what to expect but we were absolutely delighted with what we found and would love to go back. A great place for children,lots of outdoor things to do and nowhere to spend any money (says my boyfriend!)

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shellseekers 1 review from this member

Fab location with direct access to a lovely beach & pinewoods, great for collecting wood for beach bonfires! The beach is unspoilt and stretches all the way to Findhorn (7 miles away!)Travelled with friends including 6 boys aged 10-14 & we all really enjoyed this small site.

There was no shop on site and no electricity hook up. The toilet block was carpeted, warm and clean. The views and sunsets from our tent were lovely!

There is one small co-op in the village of Burghead. The pictish fort and harbour are well worth exploring. The Chippy in nearby Hopeman is excellent and there is a fun Skate Park there as well. Go to Chanonry Point at Fortrose near Cromarty to see the Dolphins at the turn of the tide, telephone the Dolphin centre just over the Kessock bridge to find out the best times to see them. Also visit Lossiemouth it has a really lovely beach.

This is the best location we've camped in.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissie21 1 review from this member

Be careful when telephoning to book in advance.This company have 3 separate sites - Burghead, Sands and Riverside. We telephoned to book an overnight stop-over to break journey on the way back from the west Highlands. We booked months in advance. We telephoned the main telephone number (Burghead, which is the biggest site of the 3). They allocated us a pitch on the Sands site on East Beach, Lossimouth. When we got there, the site was all Statics. With 5 pitches (ex static pitches), set aside as an after-thought, for tourers. Toilets were miles away from the allotted tourer pitches. In fact there was nothing on the site except the toilet/shower/laundry block. The site attendant disappeared from her portacabin almost as soon as we'd checked in. And when we couldn't work out where to hook the electric up to, there was no-one to advise. We had to telephone the main site again and complain. They telephoned us back and explained where the socket was. We then couldn't fit the connection as the socket was underneath the the electric box - and far too near the ground to fit it in. We had to use the one for the pitch next to us. Good job we were the only tourer there.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper42 1 review from this member

The site is in a fab location, nestled between the beach and wonderful pine woods at the back. We visited with our two sons, 7 and 9 and our dog and all three had a fabulous time exploring an playing.

The site is quite basic, there is no shop and electric hook up only and it is dominated by static vans. There are only about perhaps 10 touring pitches, arranged in circular fashion around the very small play area in the middle. The toilet block is clean, but the shower curtains in the individual cubicles in the ladies could do with some fixing and looking after (you could really only use two out of the 4 showers). There is no bucket and mop to clean the shower after your own use, which was okay for us (because there were not that many people using them and we were generally quite early). I could imagine them getting quite dirty when it is busier.

The office for the park is right in the middle of it and could do with some signage when you drive up to the park (it is a single track road towards the beach and we stopped in case we had it wrong and phoned the office).

All in all, it is a lovely location and we would definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

We wanted to pitch our tent at this site but it was freezing and very windy when we arrived. Stayed in a static for a couple of nights (luxury!). The setting is lovely; the town on one side and a 7 mile(?) beach stretching from the front of the site all the way round to Findhorn.
We checked-out the camping field which did look quite bumpy and could be tricky pitching for large tents. The recycling facilities were good and there is a little play park.
You are straight onto a wonderful unspoilt beach or into an incredible pine forest. We walked along the beach for a mile or so and built a fire - there is loads of wood and kindling in the forest.
The site faces west benefiting from beautiful sunsets! Hope to return in the summer when midgies are a bother at inland sites.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bothystar 1 review from this member

Great little camping area well away from people coming and going, right on the bay - you can walk straight out onto the beach or into woods - great for dog owners. I was sleeping in the back of my Citroen Dispatch van because I was too tired to faff with putting the tent up.
Charges were reasonable and the lady at reception was very helpful. The views from the camping area are fantastic - nice change to the tents being shoved to a viewless corner on so many sites. NO MIDGES. Probably the best shower block I have ever seen. Limited number of totally level camping pitches but has a big wow factor and I will be back. It was quiet too. Payment by cash or cheque.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 18     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Burghead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019