Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mullacott Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Mullacott Farm Reviews

Mullacott Farm
Mullacott
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NA
Tel: 01271 866877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter Until November, Depending On The Weather

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 11 to 17                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Feefeetee 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent basic camping in glorious surroundings.

We have now stayed here many times, returning year on year and this year it was even better as we brought our toddler for his first holiday in the camper.

Each morning we opened the back curtains of our camper while still in bed and could see alpaca, chickens and sometimes ducks in the field we backed on to, you can imagine how excited that made our one year old! He also learnt how to quack while we were there, it was marvellous, an unforgettable holiday. Shame about the weather, but you can't have everything.

I don't understand the other reviewers comments about the showers as other than daily dirt of other users going in before they were perfectly decent during our stay. The camping facilities are basic, but that's what we want. There is everything you need, toilets, showers, washing up barn, which we always found clean.

Do not visit expecting a plush washroom with 24 hour cleaners, this is a farm and that is part of it's charm.

Anyway, we love it at Mullacott Farm, it's our little retreat in North Devon where we are always met by friendly faces. Oh, and Alison's home produced sausages are worth the 4 hour drive for us, wow, and being able to buy ingredients for your breakfast that have travelled only a few metres is a real plus point for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Tible 3 reviews from this member

 We were in a folding camper, along with other family members in a trailer tent and pup tent on the adjacent pitch.

Ok, this site has a lot of potential, just not sure it's being met.

Lovely area, nice quiet site with fair sized pitches. Was not at all busy whilst we were there. Owners were pleasant when we saw them.

Kids can play ball games etc wherever they like, as there is no 'proper' area to play, so you end up with your car, tent, trailer tent, whatever being hit with leather footballs as some parents do not advise their children to play away from peoples pitches and property!

Facilities : Well, the toilets were ok, always clean, although taps in toilet showered you every time you washed your hand! But unfortunately the actual showers were a bit hit and miss, the ladies were ok, hot water and some pressure, but the males in our group reported that the water pressure in the mens/family showers was none existent. Shower curtains were quite grubby, so showering was not a pleasant experience. Never had to queue though.

There is a washing up area in a shed type place, with a dodgy hot water heater and no light, so all washing up must be done before it gets vaguely dark!

Lots of beaches near by, nice pub with decent food very nearby.

We did enjoy our stay, but more because we were with family and had good set ups ourselves.

We thought if the showers could be improved it would make the site better, as its those that would stop me fully recommending to a friend.

But if you are looking for a small site close to nice beaches and showering isn't an issue give it a go! 
Management response: We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, overall. Many thanks for your comments. We would like to address them for you.

Children playing. As stated on our website, we encourage children playing on the farm, and will always suggest an empty field or space for a game of football or cricket. It is then up to the parents to take the children to this area and use it, supervising them. The area changes depending on where the animals are at the time.

Facilities. We have recently changed one of the showers, in the menís block, so hope this will help. All our water is at mains pressure, and they are normal electric showers, not power showers. We cannot provide power showers, as the p. V. Solar cannot generate enough electric for the power hungry power showers. We agree the shower curtains were grubby. This has already been dealt with. We hadnít noticed they had got so bad, so quickly. The washing up area deliberately has no light, so noisy guests washing up do not disturb the people sleeping in the camping barn, who are directly next door.

I am surprised you didnít see any of us here. We are always around, checking stock, morning and evening, feeding various animals and egg collecting, cleaning toilets / showers, selling on the breakfast bar, rubbish collecting, and locking up the poultry. Probably you were busy enjoying the beautiful local beaches and countryside, and didnít notice us.

We always welcome comments and constructive criticism so we were a little disappointed you didnít come to see us when you were staying. We always take them very seriously, and hope to make improvements accordingly, which we have done, in this case. We look forward to you visiting again.


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tellmu 2 reviews from this member

 I recently stayed at this campsite - it was a last minute booking in the week before August Bank Holiday 2011, and it wasn't very busy. The owners seemed very pleasant, but didn't see them after booking in.

The site is very basic. Pitch was not very even - not great for pitching a tent. But it was very peaceful.

The toilet block was fine; seemed to be kept clean, but things like light switches etc were not enticing to touch! The showers on the other had were very poor. The men's/family shower had no water pressure at all. Really bad - I dreaded each morning's shower. They also didn't seemed to be cleaned all week - bright green shower gel remained on the shower wall all week and I decided not to touch the shower curtain.

Apparently the ladies' showers had better pressure, but equally poor cleaning. The site seems more focused on the B & B, caravan storage and the camping barns, neglecting the camping aspect.

Perhaps in a caravan or motorhome you would enjoy the site more, as you wouldn't have to use the facilities. Such a pity, as this place has potential. Would only visit again if I knew they had invested in their facilities. 
Management response: Thank you for your review. To answer your points: I am surprised you didnít notice us, in our yellow t-shirt uniforms, as we were around all day, either, checking stock, morning and evening, feeding various animals and egg collecting, cleaning toilets / showers, selling on the breakfast bar, rubbish collecting, or locking up the poultry.

The site is basic, and the price reflects this. The site has grass field pitches, which are flat in the hook up area.

As answered for the other reviewer, who I think was with you, we have recently changed one of the showers, in the menís block, so hope this will help. All our water is at mains pressure, and they are normal electric showers, not power showers. We cannot provide power showers, as the p. V. Solar cannot generate enough electric for the power hungry power showers. We agree the shower curtains were grubby. This has already been dealt with. We hadnít noticed they had got so bad, so quickly. We are always amazed at the amount of sand, gel, hair dye and soap that is left smeared onto the showers. They are however, cleaned every morning, and will always be done again later in the day if it is necessary.

We always welcome comments and constructive criticism so we were a little disappointed you didnít come to see us when you were staying. We always take them very seriously, and hope to make improvements accordingly, which we have done, in this case. We look forward to you visiting again.


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sjch 1 review from this member

 We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Mullacott farm. Our motorhome is big, to say the least but we were accommodated easily on the large campsite adjoining the farm. The facilities were very good and our hosts were some of the nicest people we encountered on our trip from Land's End to John O'Groats. I highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting the area. We were especially impressed with the free range produce on sale in the farm shop.

Thanks for a most enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Volks 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Mullacott last June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our three dogs. The owners were friendly and the site was well kept toilets and showers were clean and the site was quiet.

Our only problem was some dog fouling where we pitched that I trod in on arrival! Not the site owners fault as it was clear dogs were meant to kept under control and observed.

It would not stop us staying here again as this truly is a great site in a prime position for exploring Ilfracombe/Woolacombe. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Amethystdragon 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Mullacott Farm twice - first briefly overnight back in July 2008 and then again for 4 nights in April this year

The facilities are superb - we stayed in the camping barn - Everything was spotlessly clean and although we had bought everything with us - it wasn't needed as the barn was well stocked with crockery, pans and cutlery

Rooms are simple yet very comfortable

Shower facilities and washing facilities are provided and are very clean and tidy

The site is a working farm and has home produced Bacon, Sausages and eggs from their Free Range chickens to buy with a shop close by near the pub and a plenty of other shops down the hill in Ilfracombe

There are plenty of animals to see and next door are Riding Stables and Quad Biking

You receive a very warm welcome - so much so we will be visiting again this Summer to camp and to explore more of the area with 2 other groups of friends 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cerevisiae 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the non EHU field for one night.

It is a basic site on a working farm, there is also a riding school and a quad biking centre. Other facilities include a camping barn, they also offer B&B. There is no shop in the immediate vicinity, but there is a large pub which looked like it did meals very close by.

The field was deeply rutted and very muddy, not enough to stop us from camping, but we did not risk taking our car into the field. The camping field is flat in places with some shelter, or gently sloping. There was a further camping area with stunning views but far too wet and muddy to camp on. The EHU area was small, and looked like few of the pitches would be suitable for camping due to the sloping / unevenness off the ground.

The toilets and showers were very basic (4 ladies toilets, 1 shower). Although the toilets and sinks were clean, the floors, walls, doors and surrounds were not. Apparently the washing up area was similar according to my husband.  
Management response: We only have one camping field.

We do not have a quad bike centre, or riding school. That is my neighbour, next door, who occasionally offers camping. We offer B&B and a camping barn.
The nearest shop is 300m away from the farm entrance; in fact it is before the pub that I assume is mentioned.

All campsites that I know of were wet, muddy and rutted by the end of the 08 season, and ours was no different. This is not normal though, and since then we have built a new hard track, which drives through the camping field.

The Electric Hook Up area is indeed mainly flat, with only 2 spots that have a slight slope, out of 12. 10 pitches out of 12 is not the few that were mentioned.

I am unsure of the toilets that the camper visited, as we have had a ladies room, a menís room and 4 showers for many years now, and not the numbers described. The camper may well have visited the facilities at the riding stables, as they obviously didnít realise it was 2 separate businesses.

Our facilities are basic, with running hot and cold water that are painted every year, and cleaned daily. The floors were muddier last year, due to the summer weather conditions, and these could only have been improved if a 24 hour toilet attendant cleaned the floor after each persons visit, as opposed to every morning. This is similar to the washing up area.


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 17     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mullacott Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mullacott Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Mullacott Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5591 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement