Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mullacott Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Mullacott Farm Reviews

Mullacott Farm
Mullacott
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NA
Tel: 01271 866877
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Beccaa 1 review from this member

 Positives:

Great location close to Ilfracombe & Woolacombe

Owners left us alone

We camped close to picnic tables & water tap

Free showers (did not use)

Horses, Llamas, ducks etc on the farm

Negatives:

Close to busy road - quite noisy

Very hard ground

Windy

Featureless field with quite a few caravans around 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lyndse 1 review from this member

 Really friendly staff with lovely facilities and plenty to do nearby.

Very clean and well kept.

Looking forward to going back for longer next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sarah Kriv 1 review from this member

 Great traditional farm camping with a nice relaxed feel to it, perfect for our small group. Alison is very friendly.

Clean toilets plenty of toilets rolls, hand wash and hand sanatiser and sanatiser for the sinks. Dogs welcome free of charge. Nice extras available to purchase (eggs, chocolate packs and packed lunches)

Good location to get to various beaches and there is a pub which does food just up the road. If you want a campsite with all the bells and whistles and marked out pitches this is not for you.

We will be staying here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Guzmo 1 review from this member

 We as a family have just returned from a great 10 night stay at Mullacot Farm. There is plenty of pitch space and you can pitch where you like as we do not have electric hook up. We are not members of the Camping and Caravan club but non members are welcome at the site. It is a very friendly site with amazing views when the sun wanted to shine, but as hardened campers a few rainy days with the intermittent storm did not put us off. The showers are basic but with constant hot water with some hotter bits when the toilets in the block are flushed but you learn to step away. For the sake of the amazing views and the peace and tranquility offered you cope with the fact that there is a walk to the toilet. There are lots of free range chickens, ducks and geese but due to a recent fox attack there were in their winter quarters. There are eggs for sale on site too plus a short walk to the riding centre and quad bike centre.

It is a few minutes drive down the hill to Ilfracombe and 10 to 15 minutes to Woolacombe Beach. There are a few smaller supermarkets in Ilfracombe and a larger superstore just outside. There are bus stops a short walk from the site on the main road with a service to both Ilfracombe, Woolacombe and further afield if you want to leave the car.

Dogs are accepted on this site free of charge but must be under control. We will be returning next year hopefully we will have 10 days of sunshine and not just 4. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamanda 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely surroundings with lovely views and walks nearby. Basic but clean and efficient facilities. Lots of space for tents, no set pitches, so you can really get away from the rest of humanity if that's what you like. (though you may be visited by free-range ducks and chickens) The wonderful friendly owners who will ensure you are comfortable and happy. A lovely old fashioned family camp site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CaroleBam 1 review from this member

 We have used this site for a couple of years now and have enjoyed every visit. The weather was with us the last two visits with warm sun every day all day.

I do believe that any site you visit will be ideal for some but disappointing for others.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, friendly, helpful, country feel to your break. Then this is the place for you. Alison and Adrian are always willing to consider and accommodate your requests, even helping when we had problems with our van. The animals are a constant amusement with the daily duck convoy round the site on a par with the changing of the guard.

If you want modern toilet block with under floor heating, landscaped site with ornamental pond, pub with children's club and activities, site shop, full service pitches then this is not the site for you.

It is basic but that is its charm, you can store your van on site and it can be waiting on your pitch when you arrive.

Great views and a two minute drive down to Ilfracombe

The facilities are basic but cleaned regularly, an unavoidable fact is that they will only be as clean as the last person who used them. True with even the most modern site.

We look forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hicki13 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival I will say the site has the wow factor. Beautiful location well set back from the road - you can still hear the road at night. The owners are super friendly and there are always fresh eggs. We had a very large spacious pitch which we needed as we have a large tent. The pitch looked directly onto the field which had sheep, alpacas, ducks, hens and geese in. Brilliant for the kids. The site also has a horse riding establishment on the same site and a quad biking facility. Now the down side. The shower and toilet blocks were grim to say the least. I ended up buying flash and cleaning them for my children to use. My husband said the men's was as bad. They need a really good clean with a jet wash - goodness knows what's smeared on the doors, walls or floors. The showers need the curtains changing. The pot wash area had a previous washer uppers dirt in it for 4 days and there was no hot water. When asked when it would be fixed I was advised to fill up the discarded washing up bowl with hot water from the shower block across the way. In a word grim. If we didn't have so much kit we would have found some where else to stay due to the poor hygiene and the caravan storage which blots the views. We could have stayed down the road with a new shower block and pool for the same price. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Welcome123 3 reviews from this member

 This really was a relaxing break, We had everything we needed, Peace Quite, and the ability to walk to Ilfracombe via the public foot path, the walk down took about 30 Min's and the ride back via the bus about 10 Min's at a cost of £1. 55 per adult and 70p for the dog.

The facilities on site are adequate, Piping hot showers, taps in the field and an electric hook up, all made for an enjoyable time, We have been visiting this campsite for several years now and I always tell people that this is the type of camping we had as children in the 70's,

It is so nice to talk to other campers who clearly like the laid back approach, be assured that help is always at hand, If you require a busy noisy hustle and bustle campsite with expensive shower blocks and shops/bar to frequent, then this is not the place for you, this is a traditional family run campsite with traditional family values, plus a few animals thrown in to look at,

Well done to all at Mullacott Farm. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julies65 1 review from this member

 We have now stayed here 3 times this year, and we all love it.

Mullacott Farm is like a second home. The people who run it are friendly and put themselves out to help you, if at all possible. We had a broken tent pole, when we came in June, and they were able to locate one that would fit, from a local camp shop, nearby.

The farm has loads of animals, for the children to go and see, and they have even been allowed to help feed them. We only had to ask. Alison, Adrian, Caroline or Bryan are always on site, either working in a field, with animals, or in the B&B, or generally around the farm.

I have mainly got to know them when I see them first thing, cleaning the showers and toilets. They are very knowledgeable about the area, and are happy to have a chat.

The showers and toilets are basic, but always clean. I donít understand the other poster, as we were staying during the Easter holidays, as well as over the Jubilee, and apart from the water, or soap foam from the previous user the showers and toilets were clean. There was soap missing for one day, but it was filled again the next day. The showers arenít fast, certainly not a trickle, but they are always hot. They arenít power showers, just regular electric ones.

The main things that keep us coming back, apart from the friendly owners are the fact that there arenít marked pitches, and you wonít get told off for having your guy rope over onto next doors pitch. The children have a lot of freedom to ride their bikes, play cricket / football / rounders and the farm sell delicious sausages, eggs and bacon, which is the basis of our camping breakfasts.

If you want a family friendly holiday, with freedom, and basic facilities then you canít go wrong coming to Mullacott Farm. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VR73 3 reviews from this member

 The site is a basic field with hook up and water facilities. It's quite uneven but that wasn't a problem for us in a caravan. It's quite exposed to the wind so be aware! The downside to the field I thought was the motor home storage which makes you feel like your camping in a car park but It's pleasant enough. It's a working farm with lots of different animals for the children to look at. The owners were helpful and friendly the odd time we saw them. My biggest disappointment was the toilet and shower facilities. They were not the cleanest to say the least. There was no soap in the toilet hand dispensers for the whole week we were there. The showers were hot then cold with no power, often just a dribble. I thought £25 a night was a lot to pay for what you got. I have stayed in much nicer places for less money but that's just my opinion. Ilfracombe is a 5 minute drive away or for the more fit and able an hours walk over fields but on the way back it's VERY hilly and hardwork even if your quite fit, not suitable for everyone. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mullacott Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mullacott Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Mullacott Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement