Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Beeches Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Sleaford > The Beeches Campsite Reviews

The Beeches Campsite
Byards Leap
Cranwell
Sleaford
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
NG34 8EY
Tel: 07514 014272
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 1 March To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garydebzjessica 6 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site on a gougers sunny Saturday, no one greeted or checked us in, however we knew the owners were away and someone was looking after the place. We found the rally field which is flat and very well mowed and kept. There were only 3 other tents on the field the whole weekend, very friendly people, very accommodating to our 18month old daughter who was constantly wanting to talk and wave and play with the dogs. It was a basic site but the price reflects this and I have to say it is worth every penny, for £8 a night we had a very pleasant and peaceful stay and would return with no problem. I would recommend this site if you are looking to chill or walk.

Facilities are ok as basics go. Childfriendlyness in the field is excellent although fencing into the wooded area would have been nice although a small child like urs wouldn't be left to roam alone anyway.

Id say this site is for quiet times,

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scarfes 1 review from this member

Lovely site with spacious pitches. Clean toilet block with two loos and one shower each plus washing up facilities outside but under cover. Field kept in good condition and a great tree area for the children to play as well as a small play area. We used rally field to play cricket as there was nobody using it. Owners very friendly and accommodating. Nice looking cafe next door which we did not use but we sent the kids round to get themselves a treat and they returned with some discounted muffins as we only gave them £1 each. We would definitely recommend this site to anybody staying in the area as it also has very good road links to the surrounding places of interest.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eddie Boovie 1 review from this member

What a wonderful campsite with very friendly owners. Just come back from a wonderful weekend at the Beeches campsite where we all had a great time the kids went off exploring the play area and wooded area in the middle of the campsite. The facilities at the Beeches where kept very clean and the shower was hot. Forget the traffic noise the bird song is more beautiful which we heard more of. Although this campsite is next door to the A17 we thought it more of a great base to set off from as this road leads to many attractions. Now for my 11 year olds sons review of the Beeches: I thought it was a great campsite with woods to adventure in. If theirs no tents on the rally it provides a great place for sports and has a a small, yet fun, park. I would DEFINITELY recommend this site as its fun for all the family! A big thanks from all the Booths and will see you in the future!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Peach 7 reviews from this member

Booked for 5 nights, stayed one. The road noise was too much. The site is literally joined onto the A17, it felt like we were sleeping in a lay-by.

Shame, as the owners were friendly, clean (coin operated) showers, nice play area and quiet other campers.

The other problem was rabbit poop, was so mush, almost like pea-gravel on the floor, shoes got full of it when walking about.

Very good value at £12 a night, so an ideal stay-over for the night when travelling.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ldubs71 1 review from this member

I left booking till the last minute on Aug bank holiday so was glad to get in anywhere. The location of the site is not bad, close to a main road which was fairly noisy but not too bad. There was also a little play park which was great for the kids and open space for ball games. The showers (1 each) and toilets (2 each) were really clean and cost about 60p for a decent shower. There wasn't anywhere to wash up so you had to fill your bowl from the washbasins in the toilet block but other than this it was fine. My only complaint is the selfish idiots who turned up with 2 large tents and played music really loud until 11.30 then carried on whooping and hollering until 2am. We had 2 small kids with us so that was really fun! The only saving grace was that they only stayed 1 night whilst we were there for 2 otherwise we would have left. We did tell the owner when he came the next day but they had already left he did however ask the other campers to keep the noise down after 11pm. Other than that at £5 no complaints.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note, as of 2010 this site is under new ownership, the previous owners ran a Bubble Car Museum, but this is no longer on site. The new owners have also made improvements to the toilet facilities based on comments made in previous reviews.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mel Taylor 10 reviews from this member

Owner's Note: The campsite is under new management and the Bubble Car Museum is no longer on the site.

This site is known as The Bubble Car museum and/or Byards Leap.

I would suggest visitors do a little research on Byards Leap it is an interesting piece of history.

The lady owner of this site has some interesting history information with reference to the site, what the buildings were used for who owned them etc, initially she does not appear approachable; but she is honestly!

The site owners are friendly the site has reasonably spaced pitches there is also an adjacent field for camping visitors.

The on site Bubble Car museum also hold rallies on this field, there is also a large communal marquee (I suspect is used as beer tent) between the caravan field and camping field.

Anybody 50+ and mechanically inclined I would suggest you visit this site the vehicles are a real time warp (I remember them well).

Also it would appear that some motorcycle clubs use this as a rest point again nice to see the old motorcycles i.E. Villiers, Triumph, BSA, Bitsa’s, Norton etc

The children’s play area is at the main entrance to the site fields

The site is very close to the A17 but is not too noisy on non-bank holiday weekends, there is some air traffic and sometimes there were biplanes flying / training over the weekend.

The facility block is basic but clean, we preferred to us our unit facilities.

The only down-side to this site was that a regular visitor to the site offered to cut the whole of the site grass for the owner, some 4 hours later I did ask him how much longer he was going to be; I could have sat at home and listened to my neighbours lawn cutting

I would also be very aware of traffic speed on the A17 especially when leaving with your unit in tow.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cerberus74 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site over the bank holiday weekend at the end of May. It's a very nice, if somewhat basic site.

The Toilet block is not palatial but is clean and serviceable and the showers (coin operated) were adequate.

There camping field is close to a busy road. I would recommend camping as far down the field and away from the road as possible. There are plenty of electric hook ups on the main camping field. The main field is also quite level and we didn't have any troubles getting our pegs in.

The site is also very close to RAF Cranwell so when the base is in full swing the overhead traffic can be quite heavy and noisy.

The owners are very pleasant and helpful although getting a pitch price agreed beforehand might be advisable.

The Bubble Car museum on the site is very small, it is lovely, but will only take ten minutes to walk around. There are planned extensions to the museum and although small I'd still recommend a visit, it's only a couple of quid! Note: The campsite is under new management and the Bubble Car Museum is no longer on the site.

The only downside of the site was the children's play area, It is situated directly along side the vehicular entrance to the camping field. Whilst in the rest of the site kids are pretty safe to wander and play the most dangerous (in terms of traffic) part of the site is the play area! daft!

All in all we would go back to this site for short stays with groups of friends and as a base for exploring the surrounding area. The owners were very helpful and if you choose a weekend when the RAF base is not 'open' and you don't mind a bit of road noise it's an adequate site.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weatherwatcher 1 review from this member

We booked our pitch a couple of months in advance. But when we got there they had no record of us booking. The site could be very nice if it was tided up a bit. We decided on this site as it was half way home and it sounded very quiet. This went pear shaped when we got there to find that they had a sale of some of their vehicles. It was like Picadilly circus. With cars and camper van and caravans every where. We had to wake up early on the Saturday morning so that we could get away for 6am to make sure we could get out.

The other down side is the kids play area is right by the entrance to the caravan site, which also acts as an overspill to the car park. If they have a rally which is in the next field everyone has to come through the camp site and there is only the one toilet block to serve both sites. It is also by the road that is next to the site and which is used throughout the night.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sleaford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


842 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder