Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fir Tree Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Crook > Fir Tree Caravan Park > Reviews

Fir Tree Caravan Park
Greenhead Hotel
Fir Tree
Crook
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL15 8BL
Tel: 01388763143
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 7-8
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rose Fawcett 1 review from this member

 Excellent small site, spotlessly clean, the owner Paul is extremely helpful! Beautiful area, lovely countryside and scenery. Handy for coast - visited Seaburn which is a lovely little seaside. Handy for Durham, Darlington and Barnard Castle. Small towns of Crook and Stanhope close by, supermarkets in Bishop Aukland. Further afield is Newcastle and York travelling on A1(M) I'm sure we will be back to this lovely little site, never stayed on a certificated site before but sure this will be the first of many stays. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ian Fleming 2 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this relatively small site and enjoyed it as much as the first. On both visits we extended our stay because of the helpful owners and the basic and constantly clean facilities they provide.

They now also have excellent free fast wi-fi covering the whole site, which is a superb provision. There are plenty of brochures on local visitor attractions available freely on site.

We're certain to return to visit Paul and his wife 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Henbane 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really excellent small site. It has electric hookups and is level, with some hardstanding, and free fast wifi connection which was invaluable - this could be copied by many more expensive sites! The facilities block is small but adequate with a good hot shower and indoor washing up sink. The owner was very friendly & extremely helpful - he came out & jump started our van when we got stuck with a failing battery.

There were no proper local grocery shops - essentials could be purchased at the garage - but supermarkets were about 5 miles away in Bishop Auckland. There were plenty of places to visit, beautiful countryside to walk in and a couple of good pubs a few minutes walk back into the village.

We stayed here while taking the van to Devon motor caravans for some work. It was a convenient break point on the trip to the Highlands from the South and we shall certainly stay here again next time we're passing. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonty m 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Fir Tree caravan park and have enjoyed a week-end just relaxing, we will definitely go back again.

The site is well kept and the toilets are spotless. Paul is always on hand usually relaxing on his garden swing with his wife.

There are 2 goods pubs in the village both selling food and only 10 minutes walk.

Crook is only 10 minutes drive, it has take aways and a good shopping centre.

There are loads of other places of interest to visit nearby, Durham, Beamish Museum and of course for shopaholics Gateshead Metro Centre. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taybill42 1 review from this member

 First time out with van this year just to make sure everything was OK and check awning hit lucky with weather and what a great start to the year with an excellent site had everything you want from a small quiet site could not fault a thing. Took the dogs for great walks at hamsterly close to Crook town for shopping or take-away food. Pub short walk down the road good beer and entertainment. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

 Stopped over for 1 night on our way back from Melrose. The site is in the garden of a Bed and Breakfast Guest House.

Electric hook ups and a cabin with 2 toilets, a shower and a wash up sink, all under cover with plenty of hot water.

We stayed one night and walked to the Local pub 15 minutes away, The Fir Tree Hotel, which was closed not sure why, but it was the day after New Year

We walked a further 15 minutes to another pub in Fir Tree, cannot remember name but it was lovely and did very good food and was well patronised.

Did not see any shops. A good site for a stop over and very friendly gentlemen phoned us when we passed the site and directed us back by phone and stood at end of drive to wave us in.

Will use again. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

 This is a certificated location affiliated to the Camping & Caravanning club. Contrary to the sign at the entrance you don't have to be a CCC member to use it, however.

It's basically a small garden beside a small 2-3 star hotel & near to a main road (60mph limit for cars). Traffic noise up to at least 11pm. Karaoke could also unfortunately be heard echoing around the countryside from a pub half a mile away until 1. 30am.

Access extremely difficult for caravans (have a look at google street view before you set off). Warm, friendly welcome from owner.

Very basic facilities, but shower worked well. Area poorly served by public transport, so you'll need your own transport to get around.

Open all year round, but bleak mid winter. Fish & chips in nearby Tow Law. Good TV reception. Not bad value. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vintageman 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from spending 15 nights on this little gem of a site.

Paul and his wife made us very welcome even though we visited at short notice due to a change of plans.

The site is very well maintained by the owners and the toilet and washing facilities are cleaned daily and face towels, tea towels and washing up liquid all provided. The shower was really too hot to stand under while we were there (I think the regulator was broken), but better too hot than freezing, all of this for 15 a night including electric.

The site is situated just off the A68 and is ideally placed for exploring Durham City, the Durham Dales, North Pennines. Beamish Museum, Tanfield Railway, Tyneside and places along the coast, particularly South Shields (fantastic beaches). Visit Hartlepool at your peril. It also provides a good stop over point if you're travelling to or from Scotland.

During the daytime there is a fair amount of traffic passes the site, but come evening you can pull up your own picnic bench and soak up the sound of the wildlife.

There are 2 pubs in the village both serving good food but if you want a good pint and stimulating conversation you would have to look elsewhere.

Bishop Auckland 6 miles away has a wide range of independant shops and 4 supermarkets i. E. Morrisons, Sainsburys, Asda and Aldi, nearer the site is a filling station where you can obtain esentials i. E. Milk, bread, newspapers etc.

We will most certainly visit again.  


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LobeyDosser 5 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent small site, close to the A68 and well served by the local shops in Crook.

Try Peter's Bakery in the town square!

The site itself is well laid out with excellent toilet facilities, CDP and Waste water disposal. I have never seen such a large shower!

There are pubs close by that I am told do excellent meals, but I did not use them.

I will use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jordylass 4 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site 3 times now, it is only about 30 minutes from home for me, so easy to get to when I want to try the van out at the start of the season.

The site is immaculate, it is off a small road so a little tight to get into, but I'm not experienced and don't have any problems.

There is a garage and a pub (with food) about 10 minutes walk into the village. There are many small towns within a few minutes drive with more amenities.

It is a small site with room for maybe 8 van's all with hook up. Although they say no children the first time we went our 15 year old daughter came with us, so I think they mean no small/noisy children. The owners are helpful and friendly, there is a small block with 2 toilets, a shower (free hot water), and a washing up sink. It is a good strong shower and plenty of hot water, although we've never been with the site full.

I'd definitely return. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fir Tree Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fir Tree Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fir Tree Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crook      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement