Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fir Tree Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Crook > Fir Tree Caravan Park Reviews

Fir Tree Caravan Park
Greenhead Hotel
Fir Tree
Crook
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL15 8BL
Tel: 01388763143
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 7-8
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vag22rant 2 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site early afternoon and met up with the warden who is also the owner of the hotel. A word of warning though the site is signed at being 50 metres and it is a very sharp left hand turn into it. There was road noise as it is a very busy road during the day. We live in a quiet area but had found we could ignore it by the second day. A very well kept site and the amenities though old were very well maintained and very clean. Easy touring area for the likes of Durham and Hartlepool and everywhere else in between. A really great small and very friendly site site

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ron657 5 reviews from this member

Never had to leave an iffy review in reality.

I don't want in fact to harm anyones business, I was self employed for most of my life

But think it's fair to other motorhome owners to be truthful.

Yes a very nice couple I agree & very helpful

However any solo travellers, note it's also 16 pn, which seems a bit harsh, as most sites give a reduction for one.

Wifi is good, no doubt of that, but in this day it's a part & parcel of life.

What follows was what I experienced, others comments appear different.

Road noise, yes, it's noisy & it did affect my sleep!

I realise there is nothing anyone can do about wood pigeons at first light though

Level, well kind off, I tried, but it simply did not work for me on hard standing

The Toilet block very undated, I looked at shower then decided otherwise, it is maybe clean, but the look put me off. Very depressing

All I can say is, when I use other sites, & yes I visit quite a few, there is a lot of difference

For the same amount charged, personally would of expected a bit more

Hopefully this comment may spur the owners to improve, thereby increasing trade & revenue

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leon copa 3 reviews from this member

Me and wife and 2 cats stayed for weekend. Site nice and tidy friendly couple who run it. Shower and toilet block a bit dated. Road noise ok. Cats loved it as only us there. Crook up the road plenty of shops and pubs and takaways as gas bottle ran out. Idealy placed for walking and biking. We only live half hour away so would go back

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mary tortoise 4 reviews from this member

For us this site is ideal being just 5mins away from family. The site is well kept has electric hook up has an adequate shower to be fair could do with an update and toilets. Sink for pot washing with towels and a couple of pubs in walking distance, what more could one ask. Always a warm welcome from the owners. There is a road running along side the site so expect a little road noise but nothing your average camper cant put up with. Having caravanned for over 40 yrs I well remember sites that only had a stand pipe for water, how far we have come since then thank goodness.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Poppysophie 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting in the area. Very warm welcome by friendly owner.

Level hard standing and electric hook up.

I found the shower a little tricky to get a steady temperature and the shower room generally looks a little tired.

It is close to the main road so access is straight forward and it was quite quiet during the night.

We had our 2 dogs with us and the loo for them is the grass verge alongside the main road.

The Duke of York in nearby Fir Tree is a short drive or 15 minute walk and dogs welcome in the bar where reasonable food is available.

We enjoyed walking the dogs in Hammsterley Forest which has some good way marked walks and well worth a visit. Nice Cafe. BUT follow the brown signs from Hammsterley NOT SatNat which will take you miles out of the way

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mary tortoise 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here 2 nights visiting family in area. Very warm welcome from owner, site is easy to find and very well kept.

Has an added bonus of a shower block although a little dated was clean and very welcome. We have caravanned for 40+ yrs and have stayed on many cl and found this for our purpose was just the job. A big thank you and we will be back.

If anyone wanted negatives there is a road that runs along side of site some might not like the bit of noise but we found it acceptable for the time we were on site

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cwilkinsonfamily 21 reviews from this member

Nice little stopover but no more than that. 2 toilets and one shower which have definitely seen better days. Little bit of road noise but not bad. Road outside the site is quite treacherous though - very little pavement and local traffic treating it like a race track. Braved the road to go up to the Duke of York pub (ignoring the closer Fir Tree - talk about rough!) and it was lovely and very friendly locals - you can even take the dog into the bar.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davercox 9 reviews from this member

We've been coming here for over 20 years, and it never disappoints. Friendly and helpful owner, decent facilities for a five-van site; it is close to the road but traffic noise doesn't bother us at night. May not suit dog owners as there isn't anywhere much to take dogs for a walk. N. B. There don't appear to be any buses here.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rose Fawcett 1 review from this member

Excellent small site, spotlessly clean, the owner Paul is extremely helpful! Beautiful area, lovely countryside and scenery. Handy for coast - visited Seaburn which is a lovely little seaside. Handy for Durham, Darlington and Barnard Castle. Small towns of Crook and Stanhope close by, supermarkets in Bishop Aukland. Further afield is Newcastle and York travelling on A1(M) I'm sure we will be back to this lovely little site, never stayed on a certificated site before but sure this will be the first of many stays.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Fleming 2 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this relatively small site and enjoyed it as much as the first. On both visits we extended our stay because of the helpful owners and the basic and constantly clean facilities they provide.

They now also have excellent free fast wi-fi covering the whole site, which is a superb provision. There are plenty of brochures on local visitor attractions available freely on site.

We're certain to return to visit Paul and his wife

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019