Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Biggar Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Biggar > Biggar Caravan Park Reviews

Biggar Caravan Park
Broughton Road
Biggar
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)
ML12 6HA
Tel: 01899 220319
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/02/2021 to 14/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rswan1967 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for our first official outing in our new tourer - had a ball!

The one thing to be prepared for with this site - is that it can be quite muddy and boggy - simply due to its location down in the basin of a glen, on top of a low water table that keeps the nearby pond in good condition.

That observation aside - we had a great time. The site is very small and very peaceful. The toilet, showers, and laundry blocks are all fairly recently installed and very clean.

The site is in peaceful countryside - surrounded by hills and fields, nice pond on the site with ducks and swans, a football pitch enclosed by a high fence, a small childs' playground, a small river weaving past the site, and several nice walks (either short - 500m - into the town; or longer - 4m - to the town of Broughton).

Rather than a huge site with expansive services and facilities, this site is small, peaceful, in the countryside, near a small town, and pleasant enough for a relaxing stay that gives the kids some outdoor fun.

We walked into the town of Biggar one day - very nice; interesting museums; shops; and coffee shops and pubs. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ally74 1 review from this member

 We only travelled 20miles to this site after we purchased our first family tent to see if we liked camping. I have to say the site and trip was a huge success.

It has a decent sized area for tent pitches and we found a nice spot under the shade of a few trees. Our pitch faced a nice little pond which had Ducks and Swans and we were visited a few times a day by the ducklings which my 5 & 7 year old loved. There is also a nice little path that goes right around the pond. My wife and I could relax by the tent whilst our kids spent hours a few meters from us with their fishing nets in the pond and they also liked the play park at the opposite side of the path.

The toilet and shower block was at the opposite side of the pond (it's not a huge pond, just a nice size)and were very well maintained. The shower took a 20p and lasted much longer than we needed and was nice and warm with a good pressure.

The town of Biggar is a short walk and is a very nice little place indeed. The nice little pathway through the golf course that took us there went past a good sized co-op for most of our needs. We were all surprised at how good the towns museums were and spent hours visiting them. The town also had a few takeaways and we enjoyed something from the chippy on one evening.

We will all certainly return here for another few nights and weekends at some point after we have ventured further afield. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 Terribly disappointing. We booked 3 nights after reading the positive reviews on here. After arriving, we were pointed in the direction of the non-EHU tent area. This was a small strip of grass bounded by an access road and paths, under some trees, next to both the golf course and an unfenced duck pond. The grass was a bit too long for comfort and we saw three lots of dog mess in our area (there may have been more lurking). Black flies covered the area as well. It took us less than 10 minutes to decide we were better driving on down the road and taking pot luck.

There was no problem being refunded our money, and the park did look nice on the other side of the pond in amongst the caravans. For a family with a toddler in that area though, it was totally unsuitable. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brickiemum 6 reviews from this member

 Has the potential to be a lovely little quiet site but was let down by the huge amount of dog excrement littering the tent area, completely disgusting. Tent ended up covered as all of our shoes were covered. Due to the amount of faeces the site was also infested with flies. From what I can see this site is mainly used by permanent residents of caravans not holiday makers, the caravan areas were much cleaner but no attention is paid to the tent area. Management took no responsibility for the cleanliness of the site and blamed dog walkers. In my opinion if I pay a pitch fee I expect the pitch to be maintained and cleaned.

Good points. Lovely pond with loads of ducks, kids play area, quiet and peaceful

Bad points. Dog and swan faeces, huge fly population, out dated shower facilities which you have to pay for  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigdogsdevon 1 review from this member

 What a lovely place this is. Location is great. Really nice views surrounded by a golf course.

Walking distance to a very nice small town with 'proper' shops, coffee shops, pubs, takeaways etc.

We tried them all but must concur with previous posts. The Crown Pub is truly outstanding. The food is the best I have had with real value for money. There are two chippies, the one opposite the Crown is the better one of the two but nothing to write home about.

Lovely Coffee shop called Aroma where we had some fab Chocolate cake. Ice cream shop is good. One night we had Pizza to take away and can highly recommend again and you guessed it we got it from the Crown!

There are several museums in the town that are worth a visit. Some really good playparks for the kids.

Garage in town if needed and you are only 40 min from Edinburgh.

Really liked this town and worth the 20 minute drive from M74 to stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blair1966 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip we are a family with a three year old. We really enjoyed the visit to the camp site as the location was within walking distance to the very quaint town of Biggar.

The shower and toilet facilities were excellent both areas were spotlessly clean and the hot water was very warm. The site has a small cafe which serves light snacks lunch etc.

Our three year old enjoyed the playpark which was small but enjoyable.

My husband who is a keen golfer was upset he did not bring his clubs as the course was on site 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wynnie69 4 reviews from this member

 We were at this site over the weekend and were very pleased with it. We were based next to the boating pond which had two swans, one which was sitting on eggs on the little island in the middle. There were plenty ducks to feed as well.

The toilets were immaculate and had handwash beside each sink. The showers were miras sport showers and the 20p lasted way longer than any of us, out of the six adults every one of us had to turn off the shower as it had went on so long. The clean up area ie toilet and waste was kept clean, as was the food preperation and dish washing area.

The site had a small play park which had good quality facilities, it was also surrounded by tennis court and golf course. There are numerous dog walks and you can easily tire out the mutts off the lead just outside the site. There is a small cafe and a golf club for drinks and bar lunch, this facility doesn't open till April so cant comment on it.

Biggar itself though small, has plenty to offer. Numerous coffee shops, gift shops, Co-Op, Spar, general store and lovely bakers shop, chippy, Indian so plenty for every taste. There is The Crown which is highly recommended for its bar meals, I can personally recommend it. There is also the other hotel Elphinstone? which has a good reputation also.

The father and daughter on site management couldn't do enough, we were shown to our spot and everything explained. 15.75 per night with awning and dogs a very good price all year round. We will definitely be back and would recommend it 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 612 reviews from this member

 Site well kept and well landscaped. Lake in the middle was very pretty with a footpath to walk around.

Toilets very clean and well kept - portacabin showers were horrendous. 20p for 1 minute and water didn't heat up. Only 2 showers in the portacabin and 1 in the toilets - probably need more for the amount of season caravans on site.

Biggar is lovely - we at e at the Crown Inn - best food we have had for ages and very reasonable. Recommend a meal in there. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cleosmum 1 review from this member

 Nice site, mainly touring seasonal caravans, fairly level grassed site with hookup. No motorhome service point and a fair walk to the toilets. All facilities spotless, 20p required for lovely, hot showers. Waste disposal facilities, washing up area, disabled access to facilities.

Boating lake on site, but no access at present, due to blue-green algae, but lovely for a stroll round. Lots of ducklings and swans with cygnets.

Easy four mile walk along disused railway line, starting on site. Tennis court, play area for children, small shop/cafe at reception.

Reception shared with golf course, where people using the site can get a game of golf. Golf clubhouse

Short (10 minute) walk to Biggar, nice little town with a variety of independent shops, three museums, park, pubs, cafes, galleries.

Within an hour of Edinburgh, about the same to Glasgow. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Biggar Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Biggar Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Biggar Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Biggar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lanarkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement