Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Biggar Park Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Biggar > Biggar Park Caravan And Camping Reviews

Biggar Park Caravan And Camping
Broughton Road
Biggar
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)
ML12 6JS
Tel: 01555 894867
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Celiamae 2 reviews from this member

Very attractive site looking onto small lake with ducks and swans. Well maintained, grass cut and bins emptied.

Toilets and showers clean. 20p for shower gives plenty hot water. Food of the good plain cooking variety available at very reasonable cost in clubhouse.

Well used and many pitches occupied by seasonal bookings. Recommend booking before arriving although we were lucky and got a pitch looking over the wee lake. An easy short walk from site into Biggar where there are plenty shops and cafes.

There is a small play area for children and the site is part of the local golf club.

Good access to hill walks and a short drive to New Lanark and the Falls of the Clyde.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

This our first time on this site. Its really a golf club that cater's for golfer's with caravans. Not a specific caravan site. Only one toilet block/water/waste disposal point. Near golf club house. Good walk if at other end of lake. A lot of the touring caravans are 'static'. For many years. Facilities are OK for £18 a night. Pleasant walk into Biggar. 20mins. Good facilities for children. Use of club house. Nice lake for feeding ducks. Pleasant quite stay. Would return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tartanthistles 4 reviews from this member

Have used this site a lot since June 2014, the toilet block and showers are very clean, there is also laundry facilities on site. The site does have a lot of seasonal pitches but has been cleaned up a lot since the previous reviews were posted, and a lot of the owners are all really friendly and often help people put up their tents etc. The area is an ideal location with a only a 10 min walk through the site till your 'up the street' where all the shops are. Biggar has some lovely unique shops and in the Corn exchange which not only is a coffee shop but it sells lovely art /crafts and there is sometime free classical music concerts. Purves Puppet theatre is near the entrance to the camp site and is well worth a look at, they also have a lovely café and sell lots of gifts as well as finger and hand puppets not too expensive. Although there is a little play park on site there is also a large play park up behind the gas work museum which has an outdoor paddling pool. The golf club house on site does lovely food and an amazing breakfast of Tea/coffee, a bread roll, bacon, sausage, egg, haggis, tomato, beans and black pudding all for £4. 50. The only down side to this site is sometimes it can get a bit windy, especially down the far end of the pond but we still pitch there as its not as busy.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mazzocoll 2 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed an overnight stay here. Easy access and nicely laid out. There's a little children's area and the duck pond etc.

Not gooing to repeat what everyone else has said, I had dinner in the club house and the prices were very reasonable, £5. 50 for a huge plate of macaroni cheese with chips and a lovely salad!

I will definitely be back, hopefully for much longer as it really is a great wee site. £17. 50 for the night which included EHU

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tag 18 20 reviews from this member

The surrounding area has some of the best views in Scotland and Biggar is a historical town that has lots to offer. I stayed at this site for a few days in the caravan. The site is mostly made up of touring caravans that are sited for the season (which houses some of the filthiest caravans and awning that I have ever seen). This leaves little room for short stay guests, then again for £16. 60 a night can I really complain.

There are no hardstanding areas and unfortunately for me it had rained a fair bit before I arrived and continued on my first day. This left the site very boggy and wet, we came back after a few hours out and about to find the power cable lying in water, so had to move it. After the rain the manager did come out to make sure we where ok, very friendly.

The toilets where clean enough but the waste disposal leaves a lot to be desired, unless you remember to take your toilet key (you don't need for the waste cupboard) there is nowhere to wash your hands. We were over the other end of the lake and the it was a fair walk with heavy waste containers.

As mentioned before there are swans and ducks in the pond, the kids all enjoyed out watching and feeding them. The downside is there is lots of poo about including on the paths.

There are no boundaries to pitches, so be prepared for people wandering close by. As I was underneath trees it was difficult to level and to erect an awning. It's the first time I've tried to get pegs into tree roots.

The road into the site is a single track road for part of the way but we never had any problems in or out. There is a good playground on the pitch and you are able to walk from the back of the park alongside the golf course to the town centre. I think that it has the potential to be a great wee site - if the weather is good, but too boggy in the rain.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Stopped here for a couple of days on our tour of Scotland. Well laid out surrounded by the golf course,

Met by friendly and helpful staff that took us to our pitch overlooking the first green and second tee, other half very happy.

Lovely coffee shop on site that did breakfast, lunch and tea, club house was nice and also did food, not quite sure what time as we only called in for a drink

The pitches are mostly round a lake with lots of ducks and when we were there 2 Swans with 6 signets very cute.

Toilets and showers were adequate and had plenty of hot water extra showers in two portable cabin.

Short walk across golf course on a flat footpath into Biggar with plenty of places to eat and drink and shop with a couple of museums.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rswan1967 1 review from this member

Stayed here for our first official outing in our new tourer - had a ball!

The one thing to be prepared for with this site - is that it can be quite muddy and boggy - simply due to its location down in the basin of a glen, on top of a low water table that keeps the nearby pond in good condition.

That observation aside - we had a great time. The site is very small and very peaceful. The toilet, showers, and laundry blocks are all fairly recently installed and very clean.

The site is in peaceful countryside - surrounded by hills and fields, nice pond on the site with ducks and swans, a football pitch enclosed by a high fence, a small childs' playground, a small river weaving past the site, and several nice walks (either short - 500m - into the town; or longer - 4m - to the town of Broughton).

Rather than a huge site with expansive services and facilities, this site is small, peaceful, in the countryside, near a small town, and pleasant enough for a relaxing stay that gives the kids some outdoor fun.

We walked into the town of Biggar one day - very nice; interesting museums; shops; and coffee shops and pubs.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ally74 1 review from this member

We only travelled 20miles to this site after we purchased our first family tent to see if we liked camping. I have to say the site and trip was a huge success.

It has a decent sized area for tent pitches and we found a nice spot under the shade of a few trees. Our pitch faced a nice little pond which had Ducks and Swans and we were visited a few times a day by the ducklings which my 5 & 7 year old loved. There is also a nice little path that goes right around the pond. My wife and I could relax by the tent whilst our kids spent hours a few meters from us with their fishing nets in the pond and they also liked the play park at the opposite side of the path.

The toilet and shower block was at the opposite side of the pond (it's not a huge pond, just a nice size)and were very well maintained. The shower took a 20p and lasted much longer than we needed and was nice and warm with a good pressure.

The town of Biggar is a short walk and is a very nice little place indeed. The nice little pathway through the golf course that took us there went past a good sized co-op for most of our needs. We were all surprised at how good the towns museums were and spent hours visiting them. The town also had a few takeaways and we enjoyed something from the chippy on one evening.

We will all certainly return here for another few nights and weekends at some point after we have ventured further afield.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

Terribly disappointing. We booked 3 nights after reading the positive reviews on here. After arriving, we were pointed in the direction of the non-EHU tent area. This was a small strip of grass bounded by an access road and paths, under some trees, next to both the golf course and an unfenced duck pond. The grass was a bit too long for comfort and we saw three lots of dog mess in our area (there may have been more lurking). Black flies covered the area as well. It took us less than 10 minutes to decide we were better driving on down the road and taking pot luck.

There was no problem being refunded our money, and the park did look nice on the other side of the pond in amongst the caravans. For a family with a toddler in that area though, it was totally unsuitable.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brickiemum 6 reviews from this member

Has the potential to be a lovely little quiet site but was let down by the huge amount of dog excrement littering the tent area, completely disgusting. Tent ended up covered as all of our shoes were covered. Due to the amount of faeces the site was also infested with flies. From what I can see this site is mainly used by permanent residents of caravans not holiday makers, the caravan areas were much cleaner but no attention is paid to the tent area. Management took no responsibility for the cleanliness of the site and blamed dog walkers. In my opinion if I pay a pitch fee I expect the pitch to be maintained and cleaned.

Good points. Lovely pond with loads of ducks, kids play area, quiet and peaceful

Bad points. Dog and swan faeces, huge fly population, out dated shower facilities which you have to pay for

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lanarkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019