Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Hill Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > The Old Hill Inn > Reviews

The Old Hill Inn
Chapel Le Dale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3AR
Tel: 01524 241256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Grasshoppergirl 4 reviews from this member

 Met a fellow solo traveller here for a meal. Food absolutely amazing. Site fairly level and after a couple of attempts found a EHU that worked.

This site is perfect for a jaunt up Ingleborough or Whernside or both, my only disappointment was the amount of dog dirt - and it was the pub dogs being taken out last thing and early morning not being cleaned up after. (I am a dog owner and managed to clean up after mine) To get back from the pub after the fantastic food was really poop dodging on the path to the campsite, very glad of my head torch!

A good location, but 20. 00 seems steep given no facilities and the pub food is more Michelin star then pub grub - beautiful but not what one expected after a day in the dales.

I have no interest or experience of children hence my score of 1 -the good thing is there is no playground 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davids 2 reviews from this member

 We would have stayed at the Old Hill Inn

(16.50 with ehu) however the pub was closed because the owners still sheiding from Covid-19 which is totally understandable.

Have vowed to return when the pub is open and we can eat & drink there.

Excellent location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Creelo 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a weekend at this lovely little place, Only water, electric, and toilet disposal facilities which we knew before we went, but as we were in a motor home we didn't need anything else, the situation was on a busy road but in an ideal position for views and walkers. Clean campsite and friendly owners.

The pub was very welcoming with friendly, helpful staff a real pleasure, we ate there on two occasions, we have two dogs that were welcomed in the bar, the food was really nice couldn't manage a desert.

Would definitely recommend if you don't expect a lot of facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Timvan 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a beautiful peaceful location. We were the only people the first night and one other the second. The electric hook up was a bonus as we we were not expecting this. You need to be self sufficient during the day as the toilets are only open when the pub is open but we were out during the day anyway. Water available. The food was fantastic and the owners very helpful and friendly. Definitely stay there again. Rural Rustic setting for those that enjoy the quiet side of life. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Derbypub 3 reviews from this member

 Well, what can I say about this site.

Very very very limited services, couldn't for the life in me find the chemical disposal point, water and electric easy to find.

If you don't like walking / rambling then there is nothing here for you except a very very oldie worldie pub which to be honest was fantastic, unfortunately we were in the pub all the time because the weather was atrocious, even the hardened walkers doing the 3 peaks gave up and got taxis from the pub back to there start point.

Only thing I can say wrong is the prices at the bar, maybe they should offer cheaper items rather than a venison burger and chips for 17 the should do sandwiches ect and cater for the walkers, a little gold mine in my eyes if they did 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Claydon59 3 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a cracking weekend at the Old Hill and for once felt I had to leave a review. We were 'the motorhome' that arrived and got a little close, so close that a 4x4 could drive straight between us and still have a 4ft gap! We had actually asked the chap in the morning if it was ok when we returned if it was busy to park near him and he was fine with it.

The site was busy, it was bank holiday and the power did go off, not the pubs fault! In actual fact they did a stirling job under the circumstances, everyone in the pub still got a meal and it was stunning. This was even though they could not take any card payments due to lack of power and were just taking peoples details and ringing them in the week for payment, total trust and service in my book, most places would have shut up for the night.

I did notice the waste point was blocked and did inform the owners who told me they had arranged a man to sort it and apologised profusely, nice to see the last people had just emptied out all over the path though !

My slant would be that it is a cracking old village style pub with award winning food and a warm welcome in amazing surroundings. facilities are not top notch but they are there and everyone, bar one, that I spoke to had no issue and had a cracking weekend, in fact the power cut lead to a brilliant night in the pub.

I would go again tomorrow. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jason.candida 2 reviews from this member

 Very very mixed feelings about Old Hill Inn caravan site. It is in the most beautiful setting and has great potential. It used to be a caravan club cl but has now gone commercial. We arrived early and wondered where to pitch up! By lunchtime there were 7 set ups on the site, and so I assumed it was full as there were no real pitches left. However 3 more motor homes showed up. One considered parking in front of us which would have had them less than 1 foot from our A frame. They reconsidered and parked approx 1 foot from another caravan who had parked side on and stayed hitched up to car. So, the site felt very cramped ! No one came to check the site, greet us or tell us where everything was! We went to use the very rudimentary toilet disposal and it was covered in you know what and blocked. We used it and it then overflowed! On our second night, there was a power cut and all the electric went off! No one came to explain or apologise! I ended up going into the pub and they said it happens all the time! We still had no electric this morning when we packed up and no one had come to apologise/ rebate etc etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RachMickMacyJess 1 review from this member

 This is our 2nd stay at this lovely site in a beautiful location. We are two adults and two dogs in a campervan.

The site has electric hook ups for 10 units but both times we have stayed we have been the only ones there, probably due to being out of season and midweek. When we passed on Sunday morning before we climbed Whernside there was 5 vans. We stayed on the Sunday night.

We live only an hour away so perfect for a nights stay. There are no other amenities apart form the electric hook up and water but that is fine for us as we don't need anything else.

The pub is lovely! The staff and owners are friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The food is excellent! It is more expensive than your 'average pub grub' but the food is well worth the pound or two more! The 'chocolate indulgence' dessert is well worth a try even at the 6. 50 price tag as the owner is an artisan spinner of sugar sculptures. (We never have desserts but this one is too good to miss!)

The location is amazing- nestled between Whernside and Ingleborough, only short drive from Ingleton and White scar caves which is well worth a visit. There are so many walks to choose from in this area the obvious ones being whernside and ingleborough. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brockrose 1 review from this member

 A brilliant little site, what a find. The location is stunning. There is plenty of walking from the site. The pub is lovely, warm, friendly and excellent food.

The pork is home reared and delicious, also the lamb shank is worth trying. The landlady and staff are all very friendly.

There are electric hook ups but no mobile signal and we couldn't get a signal on the tv but that all helped with the ambiance of the site.

The beautiful dales are all around and Ingelton Waterfalls are well worth a visit. We would love to go back if only we lived closer. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Issy1551 3 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location with views of Ingleborough and Whernside and excellent for walking.

However this is no longer a 5 pitch site - it now takes 10 vans and we were parked so close to our neighbours I could read the title of the book they were reading in their lounge. This seems a shame and I bet is was really special before they started cramming people in.

There are electrical hook ups.

The food at the pub was ok but pricey.

Will go back for the views and the walking but not to the pub.

14 a night. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Old Hill Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Hill Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Hill Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement