Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Hill Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > The Old Hill Inn > Reviews

The Old Hill Inn
Chapel Le Dale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3AR
Tel: 01524 241256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stevea 1 review from this member

 Great location for the 3 peaks and the Ribblehead viaduct. Your at the floor of Ingleborough and Wernside, and the viaduct is about a mile up the road.

The site is very simple with a central hardstanding surrounded by grass. As it was February there was only us and 1 other caravan there so lots of space. Electric hook up was available and there was a freshwater tap and elsan point too.

We will definitely be going back again and think this site is great value for money. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caroly 1 review from this member

 Fantastic food,

Grass a bit flooded but was advised to not park on it, so was parked forward of pitch but was ok

Would go again but hopefully not during a storm,

No shower facilities available 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: The bargee 5 reviews from this member

 It was slightly surreal staying on a pub CL with the pub shut and dark (due to covid shielding), especially at New Year, but we had a really good break at this simple but perfectly satisfactory site and we were warned in advance that the pub would be shut.

The weather was extremely wet, and the wind certainly funnels up the valley, but that made things even more cosy once tucked up in the caravan. The site is easily accessible directly off the road but there was no problem with road noise.

The pitches were a little bit muddy, but the weather was really abominably wet so not a criticism. A recycling bin would be good.

We walked the Ingleton Waterfalls, which was outstanding, but you do need to wear good footwear and go very carefully. The uneven steps, slippery rocks and exposed knotted root masses are all quite hazardous. We saw one poor lady with a badly sprained ankle. I suspect that the cave rescue club are kept quite busy rescuing people from theses difficult paths.

The walk is well worth the fee however, but I suspect it becomes intolerably difficult in season going by the size of the car park.

We also enjoyed very scenic covid-safe local drives including Buttertub pass up to Thwaites, and discovered absolutely excellent fish and chips in Hawes (much better than Ingleton chippiie).

We look forward to visiting again, hopefully when the acclaimed pub is open!

Recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Paule5 1 review from this member

 This is a cracking little site at the bottom of Ingleborough. We arrived for one night and fortunately for us we had the place to ourselves.

Site has water, electricity and waste and cost us £16:50 in August 2021 which was a good price for its location and beautiful scenery which we didn't manage to see due to the inclement weather.

Food can be obtained from The Old Hill Inn next door when the pub is open 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Casey5 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely and convenient location, hoping the pub will be open on my next visit 🍺🍺

Great location for walking the three peaks

Nice views of Whernside and Ingleborough

From the site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Casey5 2 reviews from this member

 Iíve rated facilities as a 10

There wasnít lots of facilities on site BUT your are made aware when booking, facilities were fine for me,

I would return and recommend to others 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Grasshoppergirl 2 reviews from this member

 Met a fellow solo traveller here for a meal. Food absolutely amazing. Site fairly level and after a couple of attempts found a EHU that worked.

This site is perfect for a jaunt up Ingleborough or Whernside or both, my only disappointment was the amount of dog dirt - and it was the pub dogs being taken out last thing and early morning not being cleaned up after. (I am a dog owner and managed to clean up after mine) To get back from the pub after the fantastic food was really poop dodging on the path to the campsite, very glad of my head torch!

A good location, but £20. 00 seems steep given no facilities and the pub food is more Michelin star then pub grub - beautiful but not what one expected after a day in the dales.

I have no interest or experience of children hence my score of 1 -the good thing is there is no playground 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davids 2 reviews from this member

 We would have stayed at the Old Hill Inn

(£16.50 with ehu) however the pub was closed because the owners still sheiding from Covid-19 which is totally understandable.

Have vowed to return when the pub is open and we can eat & drink there.

Excellent location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Creelo 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a weekend at this lovely little place, Only water, electric, and toilet disposal facilities which we knew before we went, but as we were in a motor home we didn't need anything else, the situation was on a busy road but in an ideal position for views and walkers. Clean campsite and friendly owners.

The pub was very welcoming with friendly, helpful staff a real pleasure, we ate there on two occasions, we have two dogs that were welcomed in the bar, the food was really nice couldn't manage a desert.

Would definitely recommend if you don't expect a lot of facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Timvan 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a beautiful peaceful location. We were the only people the first night and one other the second. The electric hook up was a bonus as we we were not expecting this. You need to be self sufficient during the day as the toilets are only open when the pub is open but we were out during the day anyway. Water available. The food was fantastic and the owners very helpful and friendly. Definitely stay there again. Rural Rustic setting for those that enjoy the quiet side of life. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Old Hill Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Hill Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Hill Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4275 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement