Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Hill Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > The Old Hill Inn > Reviews

The Old Hill Inn
Chapel Le Dale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3AR
Tel: 01524 241256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chime4 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting with great views.

Charming pub, didn't eat there as fully booked.

Nice log fire.

Helpful staff.

Basic amenities but that suited us.

We will return. Thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Peterb 1 review from this member

 Excellent little site, but compromised a bit with no Showers or toilets. However, you are made aware of this before booking, and if you are fully self contained you shouldn’t have a problem.

Site fees do include electric hook up and water, and there is waste disposal freely available.

The Old Hill Inn, is a fabulous place with a warm welcome and exquisite food which is not to be missed.

All in all, a very positive find in a great location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CarolynD 1 review from this member

 Basic but very pleasant site in the valley between 2 hills of the Yorkshire Three Peaks trail.

A level site below the Old Hill Inn. Electric hook up points arranged in a square around a gravelled area with grass pitches. One water point in this area and another up the bank behind the pub.

The elsan disposal toilet was broken which meant it was difficult to empty the cassette into the small waste pipe opening. As I only used this as I was packing up it did not affect my stay.

There is no signal on the site, which suits me fine but there is WiFi in the pub if you need to get online. I preordered a meal for when I finished the 3 peaks walk, and it was amazing!

Not your average bog standard pub grub. 30 min stroll along the road to Ribblehead train to take you toward Leeds or Carlisle, with another pub.

The site and owners were very relaxed but very helpful. I loved my stay, exactly what I needed; on the 3 peaks route, quite and friendly with stunning views. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stepha 1 review from this member

 Not sign posted and drove past twice.

Pub was closed. Basic site with water, Toilet waste and bins.

Need better signage.

Not many on pitch so had most of site to ourselves but not sure how it works if full as not much room between electric posts. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stevea 1 review from this member

 Great location for the 3 peaks and the Ribblehead viaduct. Your at the floor of Ingleborough and Wernside, and the viaduct is about a mile up the road.

The site is very simple with a central hardstanding surrounded by grass. As it was February there was only us and 1 other caravan there so lots of space. Electric hook up was available and there was a freshwater tap and elsan point too.

We will definitely be going back again and think this site is great value for money. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caroly 1 review from this member

 Fantastic food,

Grass a bit flooded but was advised to not park on it, so was parked forward of pitch but was ok

Would go again but hopefully not during a storm,

No shower facilities available 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: The bargee 6 reviews from this member

 It was slightly surreal staying on a pub CL with the pub shut and dark (due to covid shielding), especially at New Year, but we had a really good break at this simple but perfectly satisfactory site and we were warned in advance that the pub would be shut.

The weather was extremely wet, and the wind certainly funnels up the valley, but that made things even more cosy once tucked up in the caravan. The site is easily accessible directly off the road but there was no problem with road noise.

The pitches were a little bit muddy, but the weather was really abominably wet so not a criticism. A recycling bin would be good.

We walked the Ingleton Waterfalls, which was outstanding, but you do need to wear good footwear and go very carefully. The uneven steps, slippery rocks and exposed knotted root masses are all quite hazardous. We saw one poor lady with a badly sprained ankle. I suspect that the cave rescue club are kept quite busy rescuing people from theses difficult paths.

The walk is well worth the fee however, but I suspect it becomes intolerably difficult in season going by the size of the car park.

We also enjoyed very scenic covid-safe local drives including Buttertub pass up to Thwaites, and discovered absolutely excellent fish and chips in Hawes (much better than Ingleton chippiie).

We look forward to visiting again, hopefully when the acclaimed pub is open!

Recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Paule5 1 review from this member

 This is a cracking little site at the bottom of Ingleborough. We arrived for one night and fortunately for us we had the place to ourselves.

Site has water, electricity and waste and cost us £16:50 in August 2021 which was a good price for its location and beautiful scenery which we didn't manage to see due to the inclement weather.

Food can be obtained from The Old Hill Inn next door when the pub is open 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Casey5 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely and convenient location, hoping the pub will be open on my next visit 🍺🍺

Great location for walking the three peaks

Nice views of Whernside and Ingleborough

From the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Casey5 2 reviews from this member

 I’ve rated facilities as a 10

There wasn’t lots of facilities on site BUT your are made aware when booking, facilities were fine for me,

I would return and recommend to others 
via mobile


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Old Hill Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Hill Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Hill Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement