Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Humshaugh > Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse > Reviews

Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse
Greencarts Farm
Humshaugh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4BW
Tel: 01434 681320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leegconway 1 review from this member

 Great location for walks on Hadrians wall. Great setting to relax while the kids play.

The site has all the amenities you need and they're maintained.

It's a large flat field, mostly without electric hook up, camp fires are allowed in pits, everyone had one going.

2 goalpost that gets the kids playing together, tree swings that get the kids playing together. Our kids loved it,

We loved the relaxation and are definitely going back, hopefully our friends can join us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Freshair1 20 reviews from this member

 Perfect location as not too far from the Hadrian's Wall walk.

Was busy but I was shown a quiet field which was perfect for me.

Friendly staff and facilities ok considering how many were on site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Willew 1 review from this member

 Nothing to dislike. Reasonable price at £18 /night, hard stand and electric, next to toilets and washrooms.

Very friendly family run farm campsite.

Will go again. 1/4 mile walk to Hadrian's Wall. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Iansp8 1 review from this member

 Returned early my fridge would not work could only put it down to electric pitches being to much on the slope. Tried when i returned home. Works ok

Overall very friendly campsite.

Would return again on a more levelled pitch many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Markk1 1 review from this member

 Site was good for me for the peace and quiet, even though there was a bit of noise late at night due to a family and a hen party having a great time lol,

I really enjoyed my stay and will be going there again in the future, Thank you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paz66 1 review from this member

 Campsite or Rave Field

Set up camp on Friday evening. The campsite had two fields and we were on the larger field furthest away from the farm. Nice views.

The site wasnít too busy with plenty of room. The Friday night was very pleasant with little noise.

Saturday morning a large group of youths who had also pitched up on Friday evening decided to start playing loud music from 9am onwards. This was annoying but as we were leaving for a dayís walking we ignored it.

When we returned to the site at 5pm, the site was now much busier. Not only were the group of youths still playing loud music from their cars, a group of two families who were pitched closer to us decided to blast rave music from their cars.

The noise was unbearable. We tried a couple of times to contact the farm but got no answer. I approached the group of families and asked them to turn the music down. They did for a very short time.

The group of youths and families then decided to have a contest to see who had the loudest car stereo. We tried contacting the farm but got no answer. We later saw the farmer driving round checking vehicle registrations but they didn't seem concerned about the noise.

We had had enough and put our ear plugs in and called it a night.

We left early on the Sunday morning.

When we left we noticed a terrible mess from both the youths site and the families site.

The farmer doesn't seem bothered how the site is run, who he lets on and the mess.

If you enjoy a rave while camping, this site might be for you. Us on the other hand donít. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 641 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, right on Hadrianís Wall. Rural location on a working farm with good views all around, but close to Hexham and Newcastle. Kielder is also within easy driving distance.

Friendly welcome from the owners.

Facilities are basic but more than adequate.

Will certainly use again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 25 reviews from this member

 Found this campsite after trying to find somewhere last minute for the Easter weekend and I have to say it was a good find. The site has a couple of fields, the larger of the 2 being a gently sloping field with electric hookup points along the top. I struggled a little getting the van to the top of the pitch without a 4x4 and I can imagine it being a lot worse in the wet getting in and out however we couldn't have asked for better weather.

The site has a toilet and shower facilities adjacent a bunk house which also seemed popular.

Despite the sites good location for accessing Hadrians wall it wasn't busy at all. There were a few groups using the new glamping tents but all were respectful of others on the site. They allow campfires and have picnic tables dotted around the site.

When called upon the owners were very friendly and helpful.

There is no play areas on site for kids however our's made their own entertainment and weren't bored. The wall path is a short walk away and Vindolanda is only a 15 - 20 minute drive away. The site isn't far from Newcastle or Hexam so you have the best of both worlds, remote enough to get away from the hustle and bustle but also close enough for supply runs or city / town visits.

This is definitely a site we will put on the 'will return to' list 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Littlerobert 1 review from this member

 We loved it. Bracken the dog was really friendly and took us for a walk to Hadrian's wall. The value for money is great, its only £5 FOR 1 tent. I do not like the condition of the toilets because there's flies in them.

Excellent access to Hadrians Wall and Chester's Roman Fort al just a 10-15min walk away.

Nicely tucked away in the country side but just half an an hour from Newcastle makes the location perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janewaypurple 15 reviews from this member

 A real Jekyll and Hyde of a campsite. It is lovely and peaceful during the week but all hell broke out on both of the weekends that we were there. Unfortunately, they accept large groups of people who are there to party on Friday and Saturday nights - cue blaring music from cars, singing, shouting and screaming around camp fires, heavy drinking and teenagers roaming the site and screaming whilst pushing each other on the rope swings. There is a rule that says no noise after midnight but this was not enforced, meaning it went on well into the early hours of the morning! If you are after peace and quiet or have young children, I would avoid it on weekends.

We were on the large field, as we arrived on a Saturday and the site was busy. But the smaller field would be the better option, as mostly people in small tents only there for one night. We decided to cut our holiday short by one day as we'd had enough!

The facilities were fine during the week - 2 toilets and 2 showers in the male and female cubicles plus a disabled toilet and shower and one washing up sink. But they were overstretched on the weekends and hardly seemed to cleaned. You are much better staying our if you are there on a Saturday as the party campers don't leave the site.

The site is in a great location for exploring Hadrian's Wall, close to Chesters Fort. It is also very reasonably priced; we paid £15 per night for a tent with 2 adults and 2 children with no EHU.

There are no pubs or shops within walking distance, so you need to be self-sufficient. There is a Tesco Extra in Hexham and you are allowed to use the freezer in the Bunk House on the campsite for your ice packs.

The site can be very windy - it is in the middle of fields. We really struggled to put our tent up when we arrived. There are also lots of tiny green caterpillars that you find everywhere attempting to eat your tent - I even got one in my ear when I was asleep!

The lady and her husband who run the site are very pleasant but won't do anything if you complain. We loved Bracken, the farm labrador but he is allowed to roam the site and did not always like the other dogs. Also, as he is allowed to roam, many of the campers let their dogs run around the field and did not always pick up after them. We also had feral farm cats in our tent at night looking for food.

One I would recommend for a couple of nights midweek but not for a longer stay or on a weekend. We have never had a site as noisy as this and I will learn from my mistake and always check whether sites accept parties of people in the future. As we live in London, we go on holiday for peace and quiet and to get away from anti-social behaviour. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Humshaugh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2841 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement