Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Humshaugh > Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse > Reviews

Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse
Greencarts Farm
Humshaugh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 4BW
Tel: 01434 681320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trgib 6 reviews from this member

 Returned for second visit. Had to abandon stay last year due to torrential rain and cold. Faired better this time. Great to be able to have a fire. Very local for us, only half an hour up the road and yet feels like a real break away. Very reasonable at 5 per adult a night, kids under 12 free.

Pubs not really nearby. Site very near to Hadrians wall. Visited Haydon Bridge, Haltwhistle and Carlisle in one day. Although didn't use the showers they seem fine although the floors got very muddy. Site doesn't ever seem crowded. Will use again definitely. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Herald insignia 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this site late afternoon to a friendly welcome from the owner. Plenty of space to choose from and just as well as one of the fields, the one with electric hookups, was occupied by a very large party of adults and children who appeared to be partying hard with loud music, alcohol flowing and riding around on a mini motorbike accompanied by a pitbull style dog. Luckily we were able to set up in a field away from the action - which got worse as the evening went on with mayhem in the washrooms to the extent that my wife was afraid to use the facilities that evening as they were full of drunks shouting and verbally abusing each other. Luckily this party left the next day and our next two nights were peaceful. The owner simply said that they could not tell what clients were going to be like after taking a booking over the internet for a family party, the attitude seemed to be that as long as they paid up then they could do what they liked. The toilet block was then not cleaned at all for the next two days having been left in a filthy state and bins un-emptied, fag ends in an ashtray in the kitchen etc.

Having said all of that the site is in a wonderful position and has superb views, it is also close to Hadrians wall and offers very good value at 5 pppn.  


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dannyboy11 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, I wish I had found this place earlier!

We had the choice of 2 fields. We chose the smaller of the 2 as a large group were expected to arrive a day later.

The site had several picnic tables and water points. There was loads of space for our large tent (Outwell montana 6 with awning). Despite the size of the tent, we did not have to pay any extra.

The cost of camping was 10 per night per tent, no extra charges for cars, dogs etc.

Sandra is very friendly and good to talk to. Fire pits can be borrowed and bags of wood cost 4.

The facilities were well maintained, clean and warm.

We are already planning our next visit, and we will be asking our friends to join us. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geordiebear 1 review from this member

 I have just visited with my wife, son, Daughter in-law and two grand daughters (4 and 6).

There are two entrances to the site ensure you take the first as the second is a very tight track and leads to the farm side of the site.

There are 3 fields to choose from, we stayed in the largest, easily 2 football pitches in size.

There are picnic benches all over, fire pits and barbecues easily accessed, fire wood 4 for a good bag full, disposal for chemical toilet and drinking water tap at the field. There are 3 toilet blocks, male, female and disabled all very clean and in good working order.

You could not beat the welcome and helpfulness of the owners and their dog Bracken was adorable and loved visiting all sites especially if you had food on the go.

We took our little dog and there were several others on the site, we had a brilliant time and will definitely be going again.

The only thing to consider is if it is windy choose the smaller field which is more protected.

The views were undisturbed for as far as you could see in all directions, absolutely stunning as was the sun set and sun rise. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ly61nn 2 reviews from this member

 Yet again we visited this site. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend this is the place to come. The views are beautiful and it is so peaceful.

As ever the owner made us so welcome, as does their dog, to us it is like returning home. The weather was excellent and we had plenty of room. We like the fact that you just pay for who goes camping and no added extras like some sites. The walks in the area are plentiful and there is an excellent pub in Humshaugh where the food is lovely and the prices are good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eric+Tina 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site. Owners very pleasant and helpful too. Their dog 'Bracen' sounds like bracken (no 'k' on the dog tag) is a real character. We were in the smaller of the 2 fields which did tend to be a little hard for the tent pegs, but that aside, flat, well drained, water nearby and of course, the fire pits. Takeaway food available if ordered before 6pm. Free hot showers & clean toilets. Oh. 5. 00/head per night, great value. We will definitely be going back again :-) 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hyoung 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely weekend at Greencarts farm and found other camper's reviews very helpful. It was just what we were looking for and exceeded our expectations. It is in a great spot, close to areas of interest (Hadrian Wall Country) country villages, Corbridge and Hexham. Situated in the middle of beautiful countryside it was perfect for my two dogs and there is a pleasant 2.5 mile walk right on the doorstep. The toilet block and washing facilities were clean and tidy and the owners welcoming, friendly and approachable.

All in all an excellent weekend despite the wet weather! It was also refreshing to have to pay for only people and so my partner joined us with an extra car and with no extra cost. Lovely to not be ripped off by having to pay for doggies. Refreshing. Hope it stays that way! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter+Lorna 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend at Greencarts, Lorna had not been camping for 15yrs and said she was going to sleep in the car, but as soon as the tent was up, BBQ on and a few Fosters later she was all up for a night in the tent.

In the morning our tea in the flask was cold so we asked Sandra if we could make a cuppa, She was so helpful and made our stay so pleasant.

We will be going back in the summer and looking forward to seeing Sandra and her lovely family, not forgetting Braken ( their dog ). 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollynottingham 1 review from this member

 Lovely small site in unspoilt countryside. The site is on a working farm and the owners give a friendly Northumbrian welcome to all. Perfect for exploring Roman Wall country. On the route of the Hadrian's Wall bus (AD122).

You need to come prepared - it is a long drive to the nearest supermarket, restaurant or even pub. Also you may wish to bring a torch to see your way back from the loo at night.

All camp-site basic amenities (water, toilets, showers, waste disposal, dish washing area) provided and all clean and tidy. Parking available on hard-standing or next to your tent. Large flat grassy field, plenty of room for family groups. Wonderful views over the rolling countryside of the Tyne Valley.

Breakfast, packed lunches and evening meals available to order, very reasonably priced too. Or you can order an Indian meal to be delivered.

We had a lovely weekend on this friendly site. The route of the Hadrian's Wall long distance footpath runs through the farm only minutes from the camp-site. Fantastic scenery and heritage (although we were glad of our waterproofs and packed lunches, it IS a remote area). After walking to Housesteads Roman fort we were able to get the AD122 back and the driver cheerfully dropped us at the end of the lane,only 5 minutes walk back to our tents.

I upgraded to the bunk-barn for our second night. The clean, cosy, well-equipped, self-catering kitchen-diner was very welcome after a day in the wind and wet.

So if you like being 'away-from-it-all', camping in proper countryside, drifting off to sleep with the owls hooting, waking up to glorious views and finding warm North-East hospitality I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SAM1CH 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a bank holiday weekend at Green Carts nearish to Hexham. We took our Border Terrier, Roger, and he had a great time running with our son, Samuel, and other dogs and boys. There are two wonderful dog walks along grassy lanes off the main fields.

We took our own toilet as we have a tent for 6, but there are only 3 of us so we have a spare cubicle.

We stayed on the main field at the bottom, so it was a long walk back to the shower block. Brilliant position as no-one walked past.

Most of the tents appeared to be placed to make mini-corales, so we looked like Billy-Nomates.

One group to our right left the following day. The group on our left came over immediately to ask us if we require help. Hubby said NO! Shame as it turned out we were a length of pole missing and ended up with the tent facing the wrong way (Bugger!). Only one prob with those who offered to help, they went to the woods to poo and the cornfield for wees before drying their bums on the fire and were very open about it!

Sandra, the Queen of the Campsite, was lovely, she came out with the personal touch and welcomed us to the site, along with her Labradors: Sid (black & old) and Bracken (red, young and nosey). 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greencarts Campsite And Bunkhouse dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Humshaugh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement