Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Grove

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Braintree > Golden Grove Reviews

Golden Grove
Piccotts Lane
Great Saling
Braintree
Essex   (Browse area)
CM7 5DW
Tel: 07917 592310
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoJarvis 2 reviews from this member

 We fancied a couple of nights away and didn't want to travel too far so this site fitted the bill. The site was initially full but the owner kindly emailed me to let me know they had received a cancellation. The camping area was lovely with a super view and we ended up with it all to ourselves. The facilities are basic but very nicely done, perfectly clean and obviously cared for. A must is a visit to the local air field which has a bar open to the public and was a perfect spot to enjoy a drink. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Pipley 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely little adults only site. Very basic but that is exactly what we look for in a site - a perfect get-away from crowds of people and unruly children. (I do like kids - honestly; I am a primary school teacher but it's nice to have a break from them 😀)

As others have stated, there aren't any showers and there is only the one toilet. There is also a small laundry room which wasn't used at all in the time we were there. Personally, I think this would be better converted to a shower room as it would be of more use. However, just having a 'wash down' was fine for us for the weekend. They did run out of toilet paper early on the Sunday morning though and there was nobody around to ask for a replacement. Luckily, we had our own!

Each of the 9 large pitches is hard standing and positioned around 2 edges of a central field. The sheep were on the 3rd side of the field. Although there are 9 pitches, it appears that 4 of them are for permanent caravans (one belonging to an employee). When we stayed we literally had the place to ourselves as we only saw the employee once when we arrived (she collects the money and feeds the sheep) and the other 'permanent' caravans weren't actually occupied that weekend. We were quite happy with just sheep for company 😀. We did see the owner on arrival - a bright, cheerful young lady who made sure we were ok but who was obviously busy working and so we didn't see her again. It would have been nice to have a choice of hard-standing or grass as we prefer to sit outside our folding camper and the hard-standing made this uncomfortable. However, we just set up our table and chairs on a grassy patch a short distance away from the pitch so not really a problem. There is also a small, covered deck area that I think is for the use of campers.

Each pitch has its own water supply so no trudging any distance with heavy water containers.

There is a lovely barn complex just 5 minutes down the road (Blake House) which has a wide range of small craft and food units. There is also a lovely restaurant housed in the complex called Timbers which serves the best steak I have ever eaten. Next door to the actual camp site is the Gallery In The Garden which exhibits the work of 'contemporary British artists' and also has a large tea room attached. We didn't visit this but it looked very impressive from the outside.

All-in-all, a lovely, basic get away. A perfect antidote to the stress of everyday life. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helenl2212 2 reviews from this member

 What a great adult only site ! There are no showers but did not bother us in the slightest, there is a toilet and washroom with washing machine that is spotless all the time, it is so peaceful and quiet perfect for a relaxing weekend break, there is a dog walk just outside the site, the 2 sisters that manage the site are very helpful, and willing to answer any questions if you have any. A really nice touch is the 'help yourself to the herbs' garden. Would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lincspara 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at Golden Grove on a number of occasions when working in the area. It is very handy for family that live locally. All the pitches are hard standing and level. Lots of water points and hook ups. The site is lovely and quiet and very relaxed. Louise is very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. Pitches are very generous, with lots of room for an awning and car parking. Lots of local walks for dogs. The site is very dog friendly. We like the location but you will need transport/bike for shops and pubs etc. I would thoroughly recommend the site. If your pitching an awning, make sure you bring your rock pegs! The one off pitch fee makes it very simple. Toilet kept spotless. Local information on site with a small washing machine but no dryer. Overall, great! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nelleke van Schoonh 7 reviews from this member

 Coming from Holland we stayed just 1 night on our way to Wales. A lovely site, not easy to find (we were first at the site just before Golden Grove). No showers, but since we stayed 1 night it was not a problem. Although I can imagine we would not have stayed for a longer term because of the lack of showers.

Nice cosy toilet block, lots of flowers, pick your herbs. Absolutely friendly.

Our only problem: we could not pay with our bankcard. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fudge88 4 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend here at Golden Grove, clean and well kept site.

Rare breed sheep were lovely to watch, grazing the large field within the site.

Nice wash up area with lots of extra touches.

Very clean toilet, recycling area all tidy with clear guidance where to put it all.

Had a walk to Andrewsfield Aerodrome had a drink and watched the small planes land and take off.

Site run well by Louise and sister both helpful, friendly.

Hope to fit in another weekend soon 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karen1357 14 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site, adults only. Very small only 9/10 pitches. Very basic facilities, one toilet, no shower but then I can shower in my caravan so this wasn't an issue for me. There was a washing up facility shed which also has some local attraction information and an honesty box for the odd purchase of very few available items.

My only criticisms of this peaceful site is the grey waste we were told not to use our wastehog just to let the water run out and the gravel driveway, was so deep where we were I was concerned about getting the caravan out at the end of our visit. There does seem to be several caravans on site that look to be permanent, which meant tourers had the less used gravel to traverse. No sheep when we went and not sure about the camping field mentioned in other reviews didn't see these at all. Friendly people though. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liverbird08 13 reviews from this member

 Had a chance to get away and test the new Quechua xxl llll

- star pick this campsite! Very welcoming chat on phone with Louise (manager) and that goes a long way to swaying you when you are trying to pick a site.

Arrived midday, turn off and a long gravel drive surrounded by wheatfields (the Golden?) and then first turn off is a rally field - few people there in a group, very quiet though. Second field splits and to the left turn by the green milk churns is the camping field. The right turn is to the loo and the 5 caravan pitches. Immaculately well maintained site for 10 per night.

Pitched where we wanted after ringing Louise, middle of the tent field and no one else there! fine looking rare breed sheep to the front and nothing else. Bliss. Pitched in no time, went to Mersea Island for stunning scenery (highly recommended for dog walking, shore line scattered with oyster shells, really beautiful place. )

Returned to tent, wine and thunderstorm to end all storms. 10 collected by a really nice guy who is a camper but likes it so much he stays there most of the year!

Not a sound in the night other than rain.

Very clean little bathroom with hand towel soap and nice touches (cartoons in frames. )

For absolute bliss and peace, this is the one - adults only. Cannot wait to go back, will go in late autumn as this is a great site to get out of London.

Very, very impressed. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

 Like everyone else who reviewed this site, is a very nice small plot for 9 caravans only, so very friendly and good fun too. A lot of thought has gone into the facilities, books to borrow or buy, things you might have forgotten like tent pegs or dog food. Even a battery charger to lend! Immaculately kept both loo and washing up facility with easy chairs to sit in whilst perusing all the leaflets on offer.

Great field in front of the pitches with Jacob Sheep safely grazing behind a fence. Lots of birds and other wild life too. Great Saling fete on while we were there and we also had the joy of Picotts Lane being resurfaced at the one end we all entered but it all added to the fun!

Give it a go its different and very enjoyable at only 12 per night. Peter on site was a huge help ans full of local info. Yes it would be useful if it had a shower but for a weekend we didn't need it. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skyra13 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a lovely bank holiday weekend at Golden Grove.

Facilities are basic but always clean only toilet on site no showers but not a problem for a weekend stay.

Separate sink inside for washing up in room next to toilet and things to buy in case you have forgot anything like tent pegs and local maps of the area.

Fresh water facilities along with waste facilities and bin area all good and well maintained.

We were the only people with a tent along with a full site of camper vans/caravans, so we had the whole grass pitch just for us, The grass pitch could benefit from EHU but we enjoyed no electric it did get a little chilly in the night from all the rain, but what do you expect from UK weather.

This was our first camping trip close to home, it is adults only so was nice and quiet. We were not bothered by anyone except a gentleman when we arrived who helps out the owner, to pay and tell us about the area he suggested the local Tea room to visit which used to be the local pub.

We did take the advice on the tea room and visited on the Sunday for a spot of Cream Tea was beautiful and the owner used to own a pub close to by where we lived, he was very helpful and informed us of local attractions. He even brought our dog a bowl of fresh water.

We then went back to the camp site and we took a local walking map and took the dog for a stroll, the walk was in some lovely country side and definitely tired the dog out.

All in all was a good first stay in our tent, booking was easy with emails and a lovely weekend with the dog. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Grove child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Grove?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Golden Grove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Braintree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December